Just Bananas About: Week of 8/20/12

Ha ha ha hot fire!  2NE1 came to Jersey last Friday for their New Evolution World Tour.  Even though the concert started super late and concertgoers were let in super late, it was a lot of fun and full of club energy.

Here are some of the photos I took.  Just as you would expect of the girls, they had a lot of visual elements working throughout the show.

One of the interesting things about the show was the integration of the video elements with the performances.

The backup dancers also played an important part.  At one point, there was supposed to be 2 Bubble Boys walking down the stage but the stage crew could only inflate one Bubble Boy as they had difficulty with the other guy.

Then the ladies changed into trench coat, ballroom dresses for some of the slower numbers like “아파 (Hurt)” and “Lonely”.

Of course the Jeremy Scott fashion were a key part of the girls’ wardrobes for many of the numbers.  The colors were bright and vibrant.

The show started with “내가 제일 잘 나가 (I am the Best)” and “I Don’t Care” and they decided to bookend the show with a reprisal of both those numbers.

Below are videos of some the performances.  I’ll confess that at times the video quality isn’t too great. We were only allowed to bring in consumer cameras and the lighting on stage would sometimes white out the members’ faces. As for the jumpy sections, umm… Yeah, I just couldn’t help but move to the music. :-p But I hope you enjoy it!

Opening/내가 제일 잘 나가 (I am the Best)

I Don’t Care (Reggae)

Don’t Stop the Music

You & I/날 따라 해봐요 (Follow Me)

Kiss

아파 (Hurt)

Lonely

I Love You

Video Interstitial – I’m realizing now that I should have zoomed in but at the time I felt that you’d miss the effect of seeing the band in the pit.  But the video’s pretty cool with this Charlie’s Angels-esque theme.

Ugly

Let’s Go Party

Hate You

Go Away

Can’t Nobody

I Don’t Care (Reprise)

5 thoughts on “Just Bananas About: Week of 8/20/12

  1. Can I ask something?

    Bom’s live is good?

    Everytime I watch videos or MRs videos I wonder, because I think she is bad at siging live.

    Her voice is shaky and not stable…. no?

    • I think her singing voice is ok but it just doesn’t pack enough power. It’s just not as strong as let’s say CL’s? I did notice that she had the help of a backing track during You & I which is weird because it’s a slower number. Was it shaky? Not really. It does get shaky during faster songs when she has to incorporate dance and singing though. Check out Hate You. It’s towards the end of the concert and you could see that all the ladies’ voices are shaky as they are dancing on the pole but Bom’s voice is shaky and lower.

  2. I was at the concert too! :) I didn’t have any expectations for it, but ended up enjoying myself. It did start very late though. I loved CL’s monster teeth outfit. I would wear that if only it weren’t (most likely) $10384394 lol Their lives were much better than the last time I heard them in Korea. Bom didn’t sound terrible while Minzy sounded great, much more stable. (Minzy’s voice is my favorite of the group) Dara was cute and CL took over every stage lolol I don’t understand why YG always lines them up for dancing in the order of Minzy/Cl then Dara/Bom. The latter two lack stage presence (though they have worked on it) so much in comparison that you sort of only stare at wherever CL/Minzy are. I didn’t really like the makeups for Dara/Bom because they looked older and more tired. However, my favorite part was the backdancers ehehehe huge transparent drum :D

    • Awesome! I wasn’t as big of a fan of CL until I saw her live. She totally dominated the stage. Minzy has always been my favorite too. I love her style, voice and dancing. I had been going back and forth to see if I could do Minzy’s old hairstyle. The grayish/purplish dye with the short cut but I don’t think my day job will allow it. Bom is cute but she often reminds me of one of those Bratz dolls. She does the spaced out look well. Omg, the dancers in the drum. That was awesome. So this is why you should go to a female idol concert. You can ogle the throng of backup dancers. I totally squealed when Minzy was dancing with them and they stripped for her. Hehe. ;) See you in November for BB?

      • I used to find CL’s voice grating back in the day, but she’s improved so much since their debut. I adore her now especially after seeing her life. LOLOL That would be a pretty awesome hair to sport, but it probably wouldn’t be a job employers like. I hope YG gives Minzy more lines in the future since I think she has strong vocals and not just in the lower ranges. However, she does sound best in the lower ranges <3 I understand what you mean about Bom. I personally think she did too much work on her face, and it's hard for me to see her as a real person sometimes. I wanted them to stay topless the whole concert lol I don't know why they bothered to get dressed in mesh and tighttight tops… it's basically the same thing as topless :P I am definitely going to Big Bang! I try to attend as many concerts (in NY and Korea) as I can lolol

Leave a Reply

