Just Bananas About: Week of 9/3/12

Despite my mediocre review of the first episode, I kinda knew Copper would eventually build up steam.  It took me a little while to catch up to the 2nd episode but I finally did and saw how the character development and story plot has moved forward by tenfold.  I want to talk about some of the plot points that I find interesting in the story so far.

The mystery behind Kevin Corcoran’s (Tom Weston-Jones) family thickens.  While Prostitute Molly has found the locket Corky is looking for all around town, Eva (Franka Potente) claims it. I’m not sure why she’s reluctant to tell him about it.  Perhaps it’s because although she’s a madam of a brothel, she has feelings for Corky.

She’s growing a bit jealous of Elizabeth Haverford (Anastasia Griffith).  Does Eva want Corky to make an honest woman out of her?

I guess I was very unsettled after the first episode to see that Winfred Haverford got away with killing young Kate and taking advantage of her corpse just because he was rich.  Sure, Elizabeth made Corky promise that Winfred paid for what he did but I was worried that the drama would drag out that story and he would be this looming dark figure over them all. Especially young Annie (Kiara Glasco) since he had sent out officials and the Pinkertons to find her for him.  But as soon as the show did away with him, I felt it opened the door for a lot of the characters.  I quite impressed that this young actress, Kiara Glasco, can play such a mature role yet it kinda freaks me out at the same time that she’s exposed to these stories.

It seems that Eva isn’t the only who’s jealous of Corky’s relationship with Elizabeth even though Elizabeth took her in.

After Annie had gotten her revenge for the death of her sister and how he took advantage of her, she throws herself at Corky.

While he only sees her as a kid, it’s sad to see that she’s confused about the concept of love because she had been sexually abused.  I’m worried to see how things develop between her and Elizabeth.  It’s obvious that Annie had to grow up fast and she might prove to be more than Elizabeth can handle.

I think despite the fact that Irish immigrants were considered as 2nd class white citizens by other white people, the Irish mob felt they needed to establish their strength by terrorizing African-Americans.

Matthew Freeman’s (Ato Essandoh) wife, Sara (Tessa Thompson) is often paralyzed with fear whenever she sees anyone who is white because her brothers were lynched in front of her home by some Irish men.  Despite Matthew telling Sara that Corky is a good guy, she’s still unwilling to let her guard down.  I completely understand her fear but I also hope she grows to trust Corky as much as Matthew does.

Finally, I see that Robert Morehouse (Kyle Schmid) is trying to establish himself as an opponent figure for his father who is trying to buy up all of Five Points.  However, I’m not sure what to make of Morehouse.  He seems to want change but he also seems to have a dark side as well that he haven’t fully seen yet.  I’m curious to see how he’s going to be of help to Corky.

It seem each episode deals with a case of Corky’s and yet the personal stories of the characters are either affected by the case or there is a side story that helps move their story along.  The writers balance between the two things very well.  So far, I’m really liking the format of the show and can’t wait to see what happens next week.

Leave a Reply

