Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/1/13

Recently, Singer/Actor Lee Jung and Indie duo J Rabbit both contributed a song to the Flower Boy Next Door OST.  They are both very different types of songs but they do accurately reflect the characters of this uber cute drama.


I had been wanting to feature J Rabbit for awhile now.  I first heard them on the OST for Operation Proposal and just liked their sugary sweet sound.  Jung Hye Sun is the vocalist while Jung Da Woon composes, arranges and plays the instruments in the band.

“Talkin Bout Love”  song lyrics seem a good fit for a lot of the characters in the Flower Boy Next Door, but it suits the shy and quiet Go Dok Mi (Park Shin Hye) the best of all.  The gentleness of the song describes how sensitive Dok Mi is only she’s just unable to express it.

She’s not like other people and when I saw the first episode of this drama, I didn’t take to her character immediately.  The first scene does show her stalking her neighbor.  It didn’t really turn around for me until Enrique (Yoon Shi Yoon) caught her.  Half-naked, wearing the panda hat, with that expression.  Ha.

But as the drama goes on, you find out why she’s so introverted and that she almost cares too much.  She’s surprising even herself now.  Before she was just this quiet observer of the world around her and she was content with that but now she is learning to come out of her shell through Enrique’s positive encouragement.

J Rabbit – Talkin’ Bout Love

제이레빗(J Rabbit) – Talkin’ Bout Love

Talkin’ Bout Love

참 이상한 일이죠
어쩌다 그대 내게 왔는지
움츠린 내 마음도
새로운 사랑을 다시 꿈꾸죠

참 우스운 일이죠
어쩜 내 맘이리 설레이는지
지난 사랑노래도
왠일인지 나도 모르게 맴돌죠

따뜻한 그대 손길로
또다른 세상이 내게 다가서죠
Yes you’re my love love love
I think I’m in love

How I give you love Just for you
Talkin’ bout love love love
조심스레 그댈 바라보고
미소짓고 이 길을 걷고

Can’t you feel my love it’s for you
Talkin’ bout love love
아무도 모르게 떨리는 내맘
이제야 내게도 사랑이 온거죠

참 놀라운 일이죠
어쩌면 기다린 순간이죠
내게 남은 용기로
한걸음씩 그대에게 다가 갈게요

따뜻한 그대 손길로
또다른 세상이 내게 다가서죠
Yes you’re my love love love
I think I’m in love

How I give you love Just for you
Talkin’ bout love love love
조심스레 그댈 바라보고
미소짓고 이 길을 걷고

Can’t you feel my love it’s for you
Talkin’ bout love love
아무도 모르게 떨리는 내맘
이제야 내게도 사랑이 온거죠

이제야 내게도 사랑이 온거죠

Talkin’ Bout Love

It’s a strange thing,
that somehow you came to me
And my cowering heart
dreams of a new love again

Really, it’s a funny thing,
How my heart flutters like this
And the last love song
Such a surprise, not realizing I’m hovering

Warm, your touch
And a different world approaches me
Yes you’re my love love love
I think I’m in love

How I give you love Just for you
Talkin’ bout love love love
Prudently, I look at you
Holding a smile, walking this path

Can’t you feel my love it’s for you
Talkin’ bout love love
Without anyone knowing, my quivering heart
Only now has love come to me

Really, it’s a shocking thing
Perhaps it’s the moment I’ve been waiting for
With what confidence remains
Step by step, I draw nearer to you

Warm, your touch
And a different world approaches me
Yes you’re my love love love
I think I’m in love

How I give you love Just for you
Talkin’ bout love love love
Prudently, I look at you
Holding a smile, walking this path

Can’t you feel my love it’s for you
Talkin’ bout love love
Without anyone knowing, my quivering heart
Only now has love come to me

Only now has love come to me

It’s kind of weird to hear Lee Jung here and all so serious.  It’s not like I haven’t heard him sing ballads before.  It’s just that Lee Jung the actor is very different from Lee Jung the singer.  As an actor he often takes over-the-top comedic roles and most recently he was in Full House Take 2 and Vampire Idol.  However he’s got a really charismatic voice.

Here, he uses that voice to depict a person loving someone from afar.  In Flower Boy Next Door, that almost describes every character in the drama as they are never really noticed by the person they want to be noticed by.  It’s a nice, traditional ballad that we’re hearing as we are getting into more of the angstier parts of the story.  As I was viewing this weird love pentagon, I couldn’t help but be drawn in more to the drama because this was playing underneath.

Lee Jung – 너였으면 좋겠어 (Wish It Was You)

이정 – 너였으면 좋겠어

너였으면 좋겠어

너였으면 좋겠어 나랑 웃어줄 사람
너였으면 좋겠어 같이 걸어줄 사람
너였으면 좋겠어 늦은 저녁 돌아오는 길
뜨겁게 안아줄 날 위한 한 사람

말하고 나면 다 사라질까 봐
아무도 모르게
늘 감춰왔던 말
꼭 너였으면 좋겠어
넌 이런 내 맘 알고 있는지
나 숨 쉬듯 감출 수 없는 사랑이니까
돌아서는 지금도 널 놓지 못해
아프지만 난 너를 위해 이제 그만 안녕

말하고 나면 다 사라질까 봐
아무도 모르게
늘 감춰왔던 말
꼭 너였으면 좋겠어
넌 이런 내 맘 알고 있는지
나 숨 쉬듯 감출 수 없는 사랑이니까
돌아서는 지금도 널 놓지 못해
아프지만 난 너를 위해 이제 그만 안녕

할말이 또 너무 많은데
말하지도 못하는 난 그리워 또 널 불러
나였으면 좋겠어
지금 너의 곁에 그 사람…

돌아서는 지금도 널 놓지 못해
아프지만 난 너를 위해 이제 그만
널 위해 그만 안녕…

Wish It Was You

Wish it was you, a person to laugh with
Wish it was you, a person to walk with
Wish it was you, late at night the return home
Embracing me warmly, for me that one person

Thought I’d disappear every time we talked
Without anyone knowing,
always holding back my words
Certainly, wish it was you
Are you even aware about how I feel?
Like breathing, it’s a love I can’t hide
With your back turned, even now can’t let you go
Though it hurts, I’ll stop now for you, goodbye

Thought I’d disappear every time we talked
Without anyone knowing,
always holding back my words
Certainly, wish it was you
Are you even aware about how I feel?
Like breathing, it’s a love I can’t hide
With your back turned, even now can’t let you go
Though it hurts, I’ll stop now for you, goodbye

Have so much to say
But unable to say it, I love for and call for you
Wish it was me,
the person who’s beside you now…

With your back turned, even now can’t let you go
Though it hurts, I’ll stop now for you
I’ll stop for you, goodbye…

Leave a Reply

