Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/14/11

Acoustic Collabo is a fairly new group on the scene debuting with some sample tracks late last year and recently releasing their first full album this week, “Unplugged”.  Like Milk Tea, this is another guy/girl k-indie duo.  Ahn Da Eun provides the female vocals, while Kim Seung Jae is the singer/songwriter and guitarist for the group.  I like how their sound resembles Loveholic and it makes me want to rewatch Coffee Prince all over again.

Acoustic Collabo – Love Valentine

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/08-love-valentine.mp3%20

Acoustic Collabo – Love Valentine

Out of the 15 tracks in their album, 8 of the tracks made it to Naver’s Top 100.  Korea holds an annual indie music festival call the “Grand Mint Festival,” which is organized by a company called Mint Paper.  This past year, they were voted as “The Band Netizens Most Wanted to See”.   Singers like Lee Seung Gi, SG Wannabe, Park Jung Hyun, 4men, Vibe even provided their voices as the background chorus throughout the album.

Photo Credit: jaapan.wordpress.com

Today, I’d like to feature their title track called “그대와 나, 설레임 (You and I, A Flutter of Excitement)”.  The lyrics reflects the narrative of a famous Korean novel called “소나기 (Rain Shower)” by Hwang Soon Won.  It’s about the love story of an aristocratic girl whose family is on the brink of ruin.  Here’s the start of the love story when the fear of confessing and being rejected gets in the way of being in love together.  So you just love them from a distance.

Acoustic Collabo – 그대와 나, 설레임 (You and I, A Flutter of Excitement)

Acoustic Collabo – 그대와 나, 설레임

그대와 나, 설레임

나 그대가 너무 좋은데
말하고 싶은데
용기가 안나
나도 그대가 너무 좋은데
말하고 싶은데
용기가 안나

사랑해 말하고 싶은데
이렇게 속만 태우다가
그대가 떠나가 버릴까
늘 바보같이 걱정만 하는 우리

나 오늘은 떨리는 맘으로
그대 바라보며
고백할게요
나도 오늘은 용기낼래요
그대 바라보며
고백할게요

사랑해 말하고 싶은데
이렇게 속만 태우다가
그대가 떠나가 버릴까
늘 바보같이 걱정만 하는 우리

그대 눈길보면 당황해서
나 눈을 돌리고
그대 앞에서면 바보같이
얼굴 붉히고
그대를 사랑한다
수없이 연습하고 연습했는데
말도 못하고

사랑해 말하고 싶은데
이렇게 속만 태우다가
그대가 떠나가 버릴까
늘 바보같이 걱정만 하는 우리

You and I, A Flutter of Excitement

I really like you,
want to talk to you but
I don’t have the courage to do it.
I also really like you,
want to talk to you but
I don’t have the courage to do it.

I want to tell you I love you but
Like this, my insides are burning up
That person may leave
Always worrying like idiots, us

Today, I, with my trembling heart,
I look at him
I’ll confess
Today, I also, gathering courage,
I look at her
I’ll confess

I want to tell you I love you but
my insides are burning up like this
That person may leave
Always worrying like idiots, us

Startled by catching his eye,
I turn away
Only in front of him, like an idiot,
I blush
I love you
I practiced a million times but
I can’t tell them

I want to tell you I love you but
Like this, my insides are burning up
That person may leave
Always worrying like idiots, us

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/14/11

Leave a Reply

