Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/28/11

I love OSTs.  A lot of times I find that obscure indie artist through a show or a movie (Thank you, Grey’s Anatomy music supervisor).  When I heard about So Ji Sub’s new movie a couple months back… well… I was less than thrilled with the premise of “Only You (오직 그대만).  Hellooo, At First Sight and that was a stinker.  Plus that whole down and out hero who falls for a sunny-shiny, sweet-hearted girl type has been played out, don’t you think?

Here is where the power of music drew me in.  Damn it!  They were smart to get Alex and Horan to sing and make cameo appearances in the movie.  (I have a weakness for Clazziquai, so 2 out of 3 works for me.  Hell, just give me Alex or Horan and I’m in.)

Watching the music video made me want to see it…  …and be envious again of Horan’s voice.  Oh how I wish I could sing like her.  And I just love her voice with Alex’s.  Not only are their voices cute but So Ji Sub and Han Hyo Joo are adorbs together.


The music video only shows a snippet of the song but here is the full version.

Alex & Horan – 꽃이 피네요 (Flowers are Blooming)

꽃이 피네요

꽃이 피네요 내마음에도
당신은 향기로운 봄이군요

꽃잎이 가득 날 이끄네요
그대의 품안으로 빠져가요

당신이군요
내가 기다려온 그사람
나혼자 외로워했는지

꽃이 피네요
항상 겨울같던 내맘에
따뜻한 그대의 마음이 나를 안아 주네요

혼자서 세던 밤하늘 별들
그대의 두눈안에 다 있군요

손가락 걸고 약속해줘요
다시는 혼자 걷지 않겠다고

당신이예요
내가 기다려온 한사람
나혼자 얼마나 쓸쓸했었는지
꽃이 폈네요
항상 겨울같던 내맘에
따뜻한 그대의 손이 나를 잡아주네요

당신이군요
내가 기다려온 그사람
나혼자 외로워했는지
꽃이 피네요
항상 겨울같던 내맘에
따뜻한 그대의 마음이 나를 안아 주네요

Flowers are Blooming

Flowers are blooming, in my heart, too
You are an aromatic spring

The petal leaves, fully drawing me in
Falling for your embrace

It’s you
The person I’ve been waiting for
I was lonely by myself

Flowers are blooming
Constantly in my winter-like heart
Your warm heart embraces me

Counting stars in the night sky all alone
In your two eyes, they’re all there

Pinky swear and promise me
That we won’t walk alone

It’s you
The person I’ve been waiting for
How lonesome I was by myself
Flowers are blooming
Constantly in my winter-like heart
Your warm hand holds onto me

It’s you
The person I’ve been waiting for
I was lonely by myself
Flowers are blooming
Constantly in my winter-like heart
Your warm heart embraces me

_____________________________________________________

To add to my love of soundtracks, I want to share the spotlight with tracks that don’t get as much love as the tracks with singers and lyrics. Instrumental music is key to heightening the emotions without clashing with ongoing dialogue or sound effects. Some of the most meaningful lines have been said with scored track. Some of my favorite composers are Thomas Newman (heck, the whole Newman family is great), Alexandre Desplat, Patrick Doyle and lately I’ve been into Ilan Eshkeri. However, I’d like to highlight instrumental tracks from recent k-dramas.

49 Days (49 일) – 눈물 목걸이 (Tear Necklace); Composed by: Lee Nyum

I love how this track is light and gives ethereal hints of the supernatural.

Greatest/Best Love (최고의 사랑) – Hero (Inst.); Composed by: Jung Sang Hoon

You couldn’t ask for a better track for the drama’s hero, Dok-do-ro-dok-dok Dokko Jin. It’s epic to fit his ego.


City Hunter (시티헌터) – Sad Run; Composed by: Oh Joon Sung

Makes me want to get in my ninja outfit and fight some crime and corruption in the city tonight.  All stealth mode-like.

Heartstrings/You’ve Fallen for Me (넌 내게 반했어) – 싸울 준비 되었나요 (Are you ready to fight?); Composed by: Kim Dong Hyuk

I like the fusion between the modern and traditional making it an awesome rock song.  I like it more than the Carmen song.

Spy Myung Wol (스파이 명월) – 이 느낌 (This Feeling); Composed by: Jun Hae Sung

As Myung Wol began to recognize her blossoming feelings for Kang Woo, this track illustrates their innocence and naiveté of all things involving emotion.

Protect the Boss (보스를 지켜라) – Save My Boss

The superhero-esque start to the track and quirky beat makes me crack up and it reminds me of the crazy antics from the drama.  Also, kind of makes me want to do this…



The Princess’ Man (공주의 남자) – Destino (운명); Composed by: Lee Ji Yong

This track is pretty epic just like the drama.  War is declared, alliances are forged, fates are determined.  And every time the drama played it, I couldn’t help but sing along with operatic humming.

In addition, to these tracks I’d also recommend Yoonhan’s “Love & Sorrow”.  Commissioned by his Japanese record label, Pony Canyon, he did piano covers of popular K-Drama OSTs.  Particularly ones that were popular both in Korea and Japan.  I can literally listen to the whole album from beginning to end.  But here are two of my favorites, probably because I also loved the original tracks which weren’t instrumentals.

Yoonhan – 여우비 (Fox Rain) from My Girlfriend’s a Nine-Tailed Fox (내 여자 친구는 구미호)

Yoonhan – 차잤다 (I Found It) from Sungkyunkwan Scandal (성균관 스캔들)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.