Mid-Winter TV Report (2012)

NEW YEAR, NEW PREMIERES

Got a whole bunch of new K-Dramas in the new year.  Wed/Thurs. had 3 drama premieres at the same time.  But enough chitchatting.  On to the rundown.

K-Drama

TAKE CARE OF US, CAPTAIN (부탁해요 캡틴)

I just finished watching Episode 4 and I have to say that in a professional capacity, I really hated Han Da Jin (Gu Hye Sun) in this episode.  Out of the Wed/Th. lineup, this drama is K-Drama cliches that you could think of.  Skip the first 36 minutes (Wow, that first part was only 36 minutes long?  I could have sworn it was longer.  It felt longer.) and move on to the present.  The subsequent episodes repeat the incident that happened 7 years ago like a broken record so you won’t miss anything.  The writing is kinda bad and I’m not really sure if I want to stick it out ’til the end but for now I’m staying put because the end of episode 4 finally had some plot movement.  On a different note, Chunderella (aka Lee Chun Hee) is simply delightful.  I wish he was the lead.

THE MOON THAT EMBRACES THE SUN (해를 품은 달)

Kim Soo Hyun, Han Ga In and Jung Il Woo haven’t even made an appearance yet and it looks like they won’t be making an appearance for a little while.  However, the young cast members are captivating.  Wow, looking at their filmographies they’ve done a lot of stuff.  Like a lot of sageuks, there are a lot of characters to get to know, motives to get familiar with so it took awhile to totally be invested in the drama.  Episode 3 probably clinched it for me.  Let the love triangle begin!

WILD ROMANCE (난폭한 로맨스)

Another wacky drama where the two main characters are at each other’s throats.  These characters are bigger than life and I felt that it had a really strong start.  It was really funny and got you right into the heart of the story.  I do worry that the writers might run out of steam mid-drama but hoping they keep up the fresh, vivacious humor alive.

PADAM PADAM (빠담빠담)

It started off strong but right now I feel the story is plateauing a bit.  The drama is still pretty good but compared to dramas that are exploring different ways of storytelling, filming techniques, this is your run-of-the-mill K-Drama, including the angel aspect of it.  I wish the villain was more complex but he’s more of a one-hit wonder.  Really, it’s Jung Woo Sung and Kim Bum that’s driving this drama.

HISTORY OF A SALARYMAN (샐러리맨 초한지)

Hilarious!  I love this whole corporate spy vs. corporate spy thing going on.  Be aware that this drama is at times, laugh-out-loud funny and other times, really, really dark.  If dark slapstick comedy is your thing, then I’d give it a try.  Personally, I’m not a big fan of Jung Ryeo Won but here she just cracks me up.  With Lee Bum Soo, Jung Kyeo Won and Hong Soo Hyun being the other leads, you are in good hands.  The writing is smart and witty.  I’m still not sure if Yoo Bang (Lee Bum Soo) is low on the IQ totem pole or smartly playing dumb.  I switch sides maybe 20 times during the course of a single episode but that’s because Lee Bum Soo is so good at that.  Stay tuned for the credits.  They feature hilarious epilogue scenes which are short videos that can be shown on its own and not related to the plot at large.

WHAT’S UP (왓츠업)

So far, I really like the direction this drama is heading in.  Out of all the musical dramas that I’ve seen last year, I think this is one of the better ones.  Interesting storylines, characters, cinematography and musical numbers.  The musical numbers are more Glee-like making it a good way to further the story or explain a character’s feelings without the exposition.

The American TV season is slowly starting up again this month due to being on hiatus throughout the holidays.  I’ll probably come back and do a Part 2 which will feature those shows.

Leave a Reply

