Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/10/12

As promised, this week is going to feature Daesung.  I think he’s got the best singing voice out of all the Big Bang members.  (However, best voice overall will probably go to T.O.P.)  Coincidentally, I heard that Big Bang arrived in New York City yesterday to film a music video for their upcoming album.  Daesung decided that blondes have a lot more fun.  😉

Anyhoo, I just finished watching What’s Up last weekend and it had me wishing that they would release more OSTs from the drama.  In What’s Up, he plays Ha Do Sung who secretly moonlights as top pop star, Hades.  His main song as Hades is called “Lunatic” and what I love about this song is the hard rock edge to it that goes with Hades’ persona and the abandoned little boy lyrics that completely explain Do Sung’s backstory in the drama.

What made me choose this song to feature this week was because at the end of the drama series they aired the music video of the song.  The music video is comprised of animated segments and the avant-garde footage of a little boy wandering on railroad tracks by himself.  I was kinda consumed by the beauty and sadness of it all.  Plus, it’s a different genre of song for Daesung too and I think he pulls it off well.

The lyrics are a bit harder to translate exactly as he’s speaking in the abstract but you’ll get the gist.

대성 – Lunatic

Lunatic

달빛에 어둠이 그칠때
그래 난 널 부르고 있네

그래 난 처음부터 혼자였어
그 정도는 난 이미 알고 있어
뭐 괜찮지 그게 누구든지
상관없지 모두 다 마찬가지

하지만 가끔 바라는 맘
내 맘을 봐주는 그 누구 단 한 사람
그게 너였으면 그래 주었으면
그래 난 그래 난 그래 난

차갑게 식어진 두 눈에
오직 너를 꿈꾸는 마리오네트
눈물이 흐르네
뜨겁게

그래 난 첨부터 혼자였어
더욱 더 차갑게
하지만 가끔 바라는 맘
내 맘을 봐주는 그 누구 단 한사람
뜨겁게

그래 난 그래 난 그래
차갑게 식어진 두 눈에
오직 너를 꿈꾸는 마리오네트
눈물이 흐르네

나를 봐 나를 봐 바라봐줘
누구나 누구나 누구라도
외로워 두려워 언제라도
내가 원하던 그대로 바로 너

다가와 다가와 나에게로
이런 날 편히 감싸 안아줘
다가와 다가와 다가와 다가와
나에게

식어진 두눈에
오직 너를 꿈꾸는 마리오네트
눈물이 흐르네

Lunatic

In the moonlight, as the darkness fades
Yeah, I’m calling out to you

Yeah, I was alone from the start
I knew at least that
Huh, I guess it’s alright whoever it may be
Doesn’t matter, it’s all the same

But occasionally my heart longs for
The one person who cares for me
Only if that were you, if you’d do that for me
Yeah I’m, Yeah I’m, Yeah I’m

Two eyes that cooled like ice
You’re only dreaming of a marionette
Tears are streaming down
Passionately

Yeah, I was alone from the start
Increasingly more cold
But occasionally my heart longs for
The one person who cares for me
Passionately

Yeah I’m, Yeah I’m, Yeah I’m
Two eyes that cooled like ice
You’re only dreaming of a marionette
Tears are streaming down

Look at me, look at me, just look at me now
Anyone, anyone, just anyone now
Lonely, terrified, all the time now
The only thing I want is you

Come closer, closer, to me
Comfortably embrace a person like me
Come closer, closer, closer, closer
To me

Two eyes that cooled
You’re only dreaming of a marionette
Tears are streaming down

Leave a Reply

