Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/17/12

On one hand, Shin Hye Sung is one of the band members from Shinhwa but I also really like his solo stuff.  It’s very ballad-y and really highlights his velvety voice.  He released a mini-album back at the end of December and it’s called “embrace”.  He wanted to give the impression that you’re watching a movie about love.  Putting in all the happy, sad, regretful moments that one experiences when they are in love and what that journey feels like.

“embrace” is a combination of the mainstream with the indie as it brings him together with rockband Mate’s Im Heon Il.  Im Heon Il wrote, composed and produced the entire album right before entering the army.

Today, I’m featuring “사랑해 (I Love You)”.  While the genre of the album is supposed to be pop-rock which is something different for Shin Hye Sung as a solo artist, this song is actually the opposite of that. It fits within Shin Hye Sung’s typical ballad stuff and it feels like it belongs on an OST and should be played at a key climactic point in which the OTP reconciles with each other.  Not that Shin Hye Sung is a stranger to being on OSTs.

The title is simple and yet the concept is complicated which is expressed in the lyrics of the song.  I’ll warn you.  It’s not a happy ballad but rather a little bittersweet.  It’s made up of sweet moments and extreme hardships but ultimately the heart wants what the heart wants.  The song’s lyrics weren’t easy to translate so I have to apologize that not all the lines are a direct translation.

But hopefully this will suffice until Shinhwa makes their comeback later this year.

Shin Hye Sung – 사랑해 (I Love You)

신혜성 – 사랑해

사랑해

가득한 웃음이 나에게 번져와
하고 싶은 그 말은 잠시 멈춰

노력하지 않아도 가만히 있으면
말로 담을 수 없는 맘이 넘쳐나
어떻게 난 이렇게 나는

아무것도 하지 못해 또
다시 난 그대 곁에
지친 맘을 누이고
작은 빛을 비추어
차갑게 시들어가는 꿈
그대로 물들어가면
그저 한걸음 다가가

솔직한 바램은 화려하지 않아
그저 조용히 자릴 지켜내고

비워내려 할수록 마음은 깊어가
끝도 없는 그대 모습을 채워가
어떻게 난 오늘도 나는

아무것도 하지 못해 또
다시 난 그대 곁에
지친 맘을 누이고
작은 빛을 비추어
차갑게 시들어가는 꿈
그대로 물들어가면
한걸음 다가가 그대 손을 잡고
떨리는 내 맘도 느낄 수 있게

그 모든 기쁨과 눈물
수 많은 밤이 지나고
그대 곁에 여전히
머물러 웃으며 하는 말
그댈 사랑해

I Love You

Loaded with smiles, that becomes awashed
What I wanted to say has been paused

Even without trying, staying still
Overwhelmed feelings that can’t be put into words
How can I? Like this, I’m?

I can’t do anything
and again I’m by her
My tired heart rests,
a tiny bit of light shines
Frigidly my dreams are withering,
like that, an imbued mask
Just one step closer

Honestly, my hopes aren’t looking very bright
Just quietly looking after her

After leaving, my feelings just get deeper
Endlessly, I fill up on her image
How can I? And today, I’m?

I can’t do anything
and again I’m by her
My tired heart rests,
a tiny bit of light shines
Frigidly my dreams are withering,
like that, an imbued mask
Just one step closer, I’ll hold her hand
So my trembling heart can feel it

All that happiness and tears,
many nights have passed
Always by her side,
smiling, I tell her
I love you

Leave a Reply

