Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/24/12

I suppose what with Big Bang’s release of “Blue”, it would be assumed that I’d feature them this week.  But I want to wait and see what the rest of the album sounds like before I do.  It’s out next Wednesday.  Leap Day!

I really couldn’t make up my mind this week and so my indecisiveness gets you a twofer.  And these two artists do completely different genres of music.  A new band from the Hongdae indie scene called OK PUNK! and ballad crooner, K.Will.

K. Will.  I love his soft, sweet voice.  You’ve heard him on OSTs, you heard him on his album releases, he claims that he’s one of those “faceless singers” but he does makes his rounds on talk shows, variety shows and music shows more than other “faceless singers” despite not usually being in his own music videos.  But I like his persona outside of his singing because sometimes his songs are sad that it’s hard to imagine a jokester behind that voice.

This new album is called “니가 필요해 (I Need You)” and that’s precisely what the title track is.  K. Will worked with hitmaker, Kim Do Hoon.  While I’m not going to feature this title track, I would like to point out that the music video features Yeo Jin Goo (The Moon that Embraces the Sun) and Kim Bora (Jungle Fish) playing the very cute, younger version of the couple.  Apparently what with the popularity of The Moon that Embraces the Sun, Yeo Jin Goo was very popular on the set of the music video and have to confess to giggling like a little schoolgirl while watching this interview.

And yeah, yeah and Ji Chang Wook and Bora from Sistar are in it, too.  Hehe, I love the math problem that Kim Bora puts up on the chalkboard at around 1:56 and Yeo Jin Goo’s winking at 2:31 which makes me want to say “어쭈!  쬐끔만게!”.  (I’m basically calling him a little rascal but in English it makes me sound like I belong in the 60’s.)

I’m featuring “부른다 (Calling You)” which is a sweet song about a secret crush.  She doesn’t know but he vows to be there for her, no matter what.  I first heard this song on the train on the way to work and it just put me in a good mood.  It’s supposed to be this British Acoustic Ballad, which I’m not really sure what that’s supposed to be except it doesn’t sound like your normal ballad.  Featuring an 8-beat rock element, it’s a song that highlights his falsetto singing voice.

K. Will – 부른다 (Calling You)

K. Will – 부른다 (Calling You)

부른다 (Calling You)

오늘도 내 눈앞을 스친다
매일 이 시간 스쳐 지난다
바보처럼 한 손을 흔든다
잘 가라 하며 뒤에서 흔든다

돌아서는 맘으로 말하지
들리진 않겠지만 내 맘은

사랑하고 싶어 미치도록 그리워
너를 부른다 너를 부른다
너에 귀에 내가 닿게 되는 날까지
너를 부른다 내 맘을 전한다

이보다 더 좋을 수 있을까
너만 있으면 웃고 있는 나
상처받고 아파도 괜찮아
바보처럼 다쳐도 좋은걸

사랑하고 싶어 미치도록 그리워
너를 부른다 너를 부른다
너에 귀에 내가 닿게 되는 날까지
너를 부른다 내 맘을 전한다

바람소리에
내 마음이 들리지 않는다 해도
언젠가 내 옆에 있기를
널 안을 수 있기를
그 마음 하나 알지 못해도

언제라도 너를 향한 채로 있을게
너를 부른다 너를 부른다
내 마음이 모두 타버리는 날까지
너를 부른다 내 맘을 전한다

Calling You

Even today you’re flickering in my eyes
Everyday, at this time, you flicker by
Like an idiot, I wave one hand
Saying farewell, I wave from the back

Like turning back, I say
You can’t hear, but my heart says

I want to love you, missing you like crazy
Calling out to you, calling out to you
Until the day I can reach your ears
Calling out to you, I’m sending my love

Will there ever be a person better than you?
Just having you makes me smile
Though I may get hurt and feel pain, it’s okay
Like an idiot, even if I get hurt it’s good

I want to love you, missing you like crazy
Calling out to you, calling out to you
Until the day I can reach your ears
Calling out to you, I’m sending my love

With the sounds of the wind,
even if you can’t hear my heart
Hoping one day you’ll be by my side
Hoping I can hold you
Though you may not get to know that one heart

Whenever, I head towards wherever you are
Calling out to you, calling out you
Until my heart completely burns out
Calling out to you, calling out to you

_____________________________________________________

Next up, indie punk band OK PUNK!

The vocals are led by Actress Kim Ok Bin.  You know her from movies and dramas like Thirst, Hanoi Bride and most recently as the North Korean sniper in The Front Line.

I’ve always pictured Kim Ok Bin as this serious actress, which she is, but I like that we get to see this different side to her.  She reminds me a little of Im Joo Eun’s Oh Doo Ri from What’s Up.

She teamed up with a bunch of indie band natives from the Hongdae scene and here’s a translation of their band intros:

OK PUNK!의 롹큰롤 싸가지, 보컬! 김옥빈 (여배우)
OK PUNK!’s Rock ‘n Roll Miscreant, Vocal! Kim Ok Bin (Actress)

OK PUNK!의 롹큰롤 광대, 베이시스트! 이태선 (고고스타의 보컬 및 신시사이저)
OK PUNK!’s Rock ‘n Roll Entertainer, Bassist! Lee Tae Sun (Gogo Star’s vocalist and synthesizer)

OK PUNK!의 롹큰롤 멘탈, 기타리스트! 데빈 (전 N.EX.T, 닥터코어911의 기타리스트)
OK PUNK!’s Rock ‘n Roll Mental, Guitarists! Devin (Former N.EX.T, Doctor Core 911’s guitarist)

OK PUNK!의 롹큰롤 마초, 기타리스트! 이현송 (THE KOXX의 보컬)
OK PUNK!’s Rock ‘n Roll Macho, Guitarist! Lee Hyun Song (The KOXX’s vocalist)

OK PUNK!의 롹큰롤 베이비, 드러머! 김슬옹 (TOXIC의 드러머)
OK PUNK!’s Rock ‘n Roll Baby, Drummer! Kim Seul Ong (TOXIC’s drummer)

OK PUNK!의 롹큰롤 뉴페이스, 키보디스트! 김현우 (딕펑스의 키보디스트)
OK PUNK!’s Rock ‘n Roll New Face, Keyboardist! Kim Hyun Woo (DickPunks’ keyboardist)

Two things: They love using exclamation marks and New Face Kim Hyun Woo is originally from a band called DickPunks?  Haha… I know, I’m 5 but I love these guys already.

They came onto the national scene back in December when they did a cover of 2NE1’s “UGLY” but didn’t release their album until this month.

OK PUNK!- UGLY

OK PUNK! – UGLY

The title song on their album is “Not the End”.  The song isn’t bad.  It’s an upbeat, don’t give up hope number composed by Devin and lyrics written by Kim Ok Bin.  But the message is a bit too “after-school special” for me.  The lyrics are somewhat trite and I’m not sure her voice quite packs the punch it needs to fully sell it.  My theory is that since “Not the End” is the title track, they were treading very carefully and therefore has an overproduced quality to it.  Definitely feels like some music exec’s hands were all over this track.

I much prefer “깡통 (Tin Can)”.  Kim Hyun Woo and Kim Ok Bin co-wrote the lyrics and he composed the song.  Kkang Tong does literally mean a tin can but it can also mean dumb or empty-headed like an empty tin can which is what she’s calling the guy in the song.  Without her, he’s just a dumb shell of a man.  The song is witty and the way she sings it’s like she’s taunting the guy.

OK PUNK!- 깡통 (Tin Can)

OK PUNK! – 깡통

깡통

맞지 그렇지
항상 이런 식이지
어제오늘 매일같이 찬밥신세지

아 그렇지
너는 모르고 있지
내가 너의 행운인걸 알 리가 없지

나 좀 쳐다봐
나를 쥐어봐
니가 원하는 것 모두다 이뤄줄게

밥은 먹었니
등은 따시니
니가 뭘 하겠니
나 없는 넌 깡 통

맞네 그렇네
나는 십 원짜리네
아무도 찾지 않는 나는 십 원짜리네

넌 도대체
대체 왜 그러는데
나를 무시하는 너를 참을 수 없네

혹시 그거니
이젠 나를 원하니
이제 와서 생각하니
내가 아쉽니

또 그렇게
나를 무시할거니
그런 생각은 집어치워
Don’t bother me

나 좀 쳐다봐
나 좀 쳐다봐
나를 쥐어봐
니가 원하는 것 모두다 이뤄줄게

밥은 먹었니
등은 따시니
니가 뭘 하겠니
나 없는 넌 깡 통

Tin Can

It’s right, isn’t it?
It’s always like this
Yesterday, today, everyday like leftovers

Ah, that’s right
You don’t know
There’s no way you’ll know I’m your lucky charm

Look at me
Hang on to me
Whatever you want to happen will happen

Have you eaten?
Upgrading your ranking?
What could you do?
Without me you’re a tin can

That’s right, isn’t it?
I’m worth 10 won (penny)
No one’s looking for me, I’m worth 10 won

Why the hell
Why are you doing this?
Can’t stand that you’re brushing me off

Is it that?
Now you want me?
Now that you’re thinking about it
do you feel sorry for me?

Again like that
Are you going to brush me off?
Quit thinking that
Don’t bother me

Look at me
Look at me
Hang on to me
Whatever you want to happen can happen

Have you eaten?
Upgrading your ranking?
What could you do?
Without me you’re a tin can

Leave a Reply

