Monkey Poo: A Block-B-uster of a Disaster

I’m a month late to this news but honestly I have no idea who Block B is other than that they are an idol group.  I don’t even know any of their songs or who the members are.  But I’ve been noticing a lot of headlines about them popping up on the entertainment news-scape for about a month now but didn’t care to click on them until last night.

So they did this entire interview in Thailand and pissed a lot of people off.  The facts are that there are some people who have been mistranslating the interview and reediting it to make it look worse than it really is.  I haven’t seen those reedits or wrongly subtitled videos but I did watch the original interview.  I think they really fucked up and looked like a total ass doing it.  To say that boys will be boys and they are immature is really a slap on the wrist.

HOWEVER, they did do a genuinely apologetic video and I do believe that they do want to make amends.  Koreans can be very harsh and very conservative but when I compare them with American celebrities, sometimes I wish there was a harsher judging panel for the Lindsay Lohans and the Chris Browns of the world.  That being said, petitioning for their suicides?  What the hell is wrong with some people?

Now SBS, KBS and MBC are restricting the group’s appearance on the music shows.  I guess the fans aren’t very happy about this especially since the stress of the situation has caused one of the members to become hospitalized.  But I say laying low is not a bad idea for now.  Reflect, recuperate, refresh and return.  I don’t think taking a month or two off is a big deal and hopefully they’ll come back wiser and more humble.

Leave a Reply

