Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/2/12

It’s obvious I’m obsessed.  I’ve posted both the music videos for “Blue” and “Bad Boy” and I’m back for some more.

In this digital age, having the convenience of carrying a million songs in your pocket makes you less likely to listen to an album from beginning to end.  There’s a whole story, arc and emotions that are lost in an album release because we’re not paying attention to why a certain track was placed in the beginning as opposed to the end.  Big Bang is one of those artists that I love and can easily listen to their entire album.  I even love their Intros tracks.  They’re THAT good.  Kim Gun Mo and Park Jin Young are 2 artists I frequently go back to, although they’ve been on the music scene twice as much longer than Big Bang.

Truth be told, this new mini album isn’t… OH MY GOD, GROUNDBREAKING.  It’s a bunch of lyrical songs that tells a story with a unique point of view and just has that familiar Big Bang sound that I love.  (And wearing crazy outfits just goes with the territory.  Whose idea was it to don the oxygen masks?  **coughG-dragoncough**  Did they raid a medical clinic?  It’s like The Village People meets Rocky Horror Picture Show.)  I love that they can be cheeky and oxymoronic.  This is what they do and they do it well.  So promoting all 6 tracks, while it’ll be difficult, seems like a no-brainer.

Choosing which song to go with was a little like Sophie’s Choice but I decided not to go with “Blue” or “Bad Boy” for the mere reason that other blogs have probably covered these 2 tracks to death by now.  Although I will say that I thought “Bad Boy” would be more upbeat from the title and was pleasantly surprised by the slower beat.  Lyricwise, it makes sense.  That song is about how he doesn’t want the girl to leave him because he’s a punk.  It wasn’t my first instinct to want to dance to this number but upon viewing the music video I could be inspired to do so.

So “사랑먼지 (Love Dust)” it is.  Hmm, I don’t love that title in English.  It sounds much better in Korean because the song is about the remnants of an old relationship and wanting to move on so that both can look forward to a happier future.  Hence, dusting off traces of that ex-boyfriend/girlfriend.  However, dust in Korean is muhn-ji (먼지) and it sounds a little like mohn-ji (뭔지), which indicates the pronoun “what”.  Both words are referenced in the song’s lyrics which show that he’s still trying figure out what love is as he’s trying to move on from the past.

The song is so upbeat that at first glance you don’t realize that it’s a breakup song.  I have to admit that the intro to the song tripped me up a bit.  The “Woo woo” in the beginning ignited a Pavlovian response in me to sing the lyrics to Black Eyed Peas’ “I Gotta Feeling” but then the melody goes in a decidedly different direction.  Eeh, what are you going to do?  All pop music sound alike to a certain extent.  But I think it would be a totally good idea for a mashup.

Big Bang – 사랑먼지 (Love Dust)

빅뱅(Bigbang) – 사랑먼지

사랑먼지

내 친구가 네 얘기를 해
좋아보였단 말에
괜히 화를 내
어쩌면 아직도 나 땜에 네가
힘들어하길 바랬는지 몰라

요즘 가끔 나도 모르게
우리같이 즐겨 듣던 노래를 해
옛 추억에 잠긴 오늘 같은 날
이유없이 보고싶어지는 밤

그땐 내가 너무 어려서
사랑이 어려워서
널 피하려고만 했지
난 부담이 됐고
불만이 됐죠
끝내 너를 울리고

오늘이 지나면
넌 사라질 먼지 사랑이 뭔지
나 슬퍼 보인다면
내 눈물은 연기 춤추는 연기처럼

내일이면 또 아무렇지 않게
하루가 시작돼 널 잊고살겠죠
그저 네가 행복해지길 나는
이곳에서 남아서 웃으며 빌어줄게

혹시 기억하니 우리들 처음 만난 날
순수한 미소 가득히 Sauvignon Blanc
널 향한 이유 없는 순종
때론 거침없던 충돌
이별이 운명이란 현실 앞에
내 마지막 분노

마침 들려오는 라디오에서
공감되는 사연
지금 내 맘과 똑같다며
혹시 네가 아닐까 생각하다 잠이 와
시간은 참 빨리 가 넌 잘 있을까

그땐 내가 너무 어려서
사랑이 어려워서
도망치려고만 했지
결국 부담이 됐고
불만이 됐죠
이젠 늦어버렸지만

오늘이 지나면
넌 사라질 먼지 사랑이 뭔지
나 슬퍼 보인다면
내 눈물은 연기 춤추는 연기처럼

내일이면 또 아무렇지 않게
하루가 시작돼 널 잊고 살겠죠
그저 네가 행복해지길 나는
이곳에서 남아서 웃으며 빌어줄게

언젠가 길을 지나다
우리 다시 만날 그런 날이 온다면
그 언젠가는 서로 다른 사람과
행복한 모습으로 웃을 수 있게 so long

오늘이 지나면
넌 사라질 먼지 사랑이 뭔지
나 슬퍼 보인다면
내 눈물은 연기 춤추는 연기처럼

내일이면 또 아무렇지 않게
하루가 시작돼 널 잊고 살겠죠
그저 네가 행복해지길 나는
이곳에서 남아서 웃으며 빌어줄게

Love Dust

My friend was talking about you
Saying you looked good,
making me mad for no reason
Perhaps because of me you’re still
Guess I hoped you were having a hard time

Lately without me realizing it
I’m singing song we both liked
Lost in our old memories, like today
For no reason, nights where I missed seeing you

I was so young back then,
love was so hard
I just wanted to avoid you
I was difficult
and had lots of complaints
At the end, I made you cry

When today passes,
you’re disappearing dust, what is love
If I appear sad
My tears are misty, like a dancing mist.

Tomorrow, it’ll be like nothing happened
At the start of each day, I’ll live erasing you
I just want you to be happy
If you remain here, smilingly, I’ll pray for you

Do you remember? The first day we met
Innocent smiles, full of Sauvignon Blanc
Unreasonably loyal towards you
Sometimes, our frequent clashes
Facing the real fate of our breakup
My last wrath

Coincidentally, hearing it on the radio
A story I sympathize with
It’s exactly how I feel now
Thinking it could be you, I fall asleep
Time passes quickly, are you well?

I was so young back then,
love was so hard
I just wanted to run away
In the end it was difficult
and had lots of complaints
It’s too late now

When today passes,
you’re disappearing dust, what is love
If I appear sad
My tears are misty, like a dancing mist.

Tomorrow, it’ll be like nothing happened
At the start of each day, I’ll live erasing you
I just want you to be happy
If you remain here, smilingly, I’ll pray for you

One day, if we’re crossing the street
If there’s a day we’ll see each other again
If and when we’re both with different people
I hope we can show that we’re happy, so long

When today passes,
you’re disappearing dust, what is love
If I appear sad
My tears are misty, like a dancing mist.

Tomorrow, it’ll be like nothing happened
At the start of each day, I’ll live erasing you
I just want you to be happy
If you remain here, smilingly, I’ll pray for you

“재미없어 (No Fun)” sounds so cheeky. Their tone is so playful, especially Daesung’s despite it being another breakup song.  It’s like, “Sorry, it didn’t work out.  Oh well, life goes on.”  Paired with this electronic track, it kinda speaks to how flippant youth can be.  Sometimes dramas tend to train us to believe that when you breakup with someone, there’s gotta be crying but… wwwhy so serious?  Just try not to bob your head to this.

Big Bang – 재미없어 (No Fun)

빅뱅(Bigbang) – 재미없어

재미없어

Honestly?
Our chemistry’s not working right now
I can’t help it. I got something to say. Listen.

너란아이 재미없어
솔직히 지쳤어
사실 나 말하자면
예전부터 질렸어
통화를 할 때도 같이
집밥을 먹을 때도
문제는 너의 태도
대화라는걸 잊었어

나는 노력했어 둘 사일위해서
하지만 사람 마음이 애쓴다고 되겠어
네 손을 잡아도 너의 얼굴을 봐도
미안해 이제 내겐 아무런 느낌이 없어

I know you know why 답이 없어
너와 난 어느새 남이였어
I know you know 왜 넌 말이 없어
Oh 처음부터 우린 아니었어

재미없어 재미없어 재미없어 재미없어
넌 끝까지 답답해서
재미없어 재미없어 재미없어 재미없어
뭘 망설이고 서 있어 baby

너란 아이 이대로 떼어지긴 너무 이른데
너란 아이 나도 헤어지긴 너무 싫은데
I just wanna 내가 바라는 건
화를 내던 짜증내던 다른
연인들처럼

뜨뜨미지근해 뭔가 밋밋해
둘 다 칙칙해 어딘가 찝찝해
사랑할 땐 화끈하게 더는 그만 따분하게
내 말이 다 끝날 때면
“girl just show me your love”

I know you know why 답이 없어
너와 난 어느새 남 이였어
I know you know 왜 넌 말이 없어
Oh 처음부터 우린 아니었어

재미없어 재미없어 재미없어 재미없어
넌 끝까지 또 예뻐서
재미없어 재미없어 재미없어 재미없어
뭘 망설이고 서 있어 baby

So what can I do 너도 내 마음 안다면
너를 보여줘 내게 별로 시간 없는걸

도도한 아름다운 왕비와 자비로운 선비
어쩔 수 없다 세월 때문인 걸 느꼈다
이유 없는 집착에
가끔씩 서로를 가두지
내숭 없는 우리 친구 같아 슬픈거야

I know you know why 답이 없어
너와 난 어느새 남이었어
I know you know 왜 넌 말이 없어
Oh 처음부터 우린 아니었어

재미없어 재미없어 재미없어 재미없어
넌 끝까지 답답해서
재미없어 재미없어 재미없어 재미없어
뭘 망설이고 서 있어 baby

재미없어 재미없어 재미없어 재미없어
넌 끝까지 답답해서
재미없어 재미없어 재미없어 재미없어
뭘 망설이고 서 있어 baby

No Fun

Honestly?
Our chemistry’s not working right now
I can’t help it. I got something to say. Listen.

A kid like you is no fun,
Truthfully, I’m tired of you
Actually, so to speak,
I’ve been fed up with you
When I call you up
or when we eat at home together
The problem is your attitude
Did you forget how to have a conversation?

I tried, for the sake of us both
Just because a person tries, does it work out?
When I hold your hand, or look at your face
Sorry, I don’t have any feelings anymore

I know you know why there’s no answer
You and me, all of a sudden, became strangers
I know you know why don’t you say something?
Oh, from the start we weren’t it

No fun, no fun, no fun, no fun
To the end, you were suffocating
No fun, no fun, no fun, no fun
What’s to standstill and think about, baby?

I know it’s harsh separating this way
I know you really don’t want to break up
I just wanna, what I’m looking for
Whether you get mad or annoyed,
like other couples

Hot, hot, cool, it’s a bit lackluster
We’re both drab, missing something
When we love, passionately, no more boringly
By the time I stop talking
“girl just show me your love”

I know you know why there’s no answer
You and me, all of a sudden, became strangers
I know you know why don’t you say something?
Oh, from the start we weren’t it

No fun, no fun, no fun, no fun
To the end, you were beautiful
No fun, no fun, no fun, no fun
What’s to standstill and think about, baby?

So what can I do, if you knew how I felt
Show me yourself, I don’t have much time

A conceited, beautiful queen and benign scholar
There’s no use, it’s because time has passed
Obsessed for no reason,
sometimes we hold each other hostage
No longer flirty, it’s sad that we’re like friends

I know you know why there’s no answer
You and me, all of a sudden, became strangers
I know you know why don’t you say something?
Oh, from the start we weren’t it

No fun, no fun, no fun, no fun
To the end, you were suffocating
No fun, no fun, no fun, no fun
What’s to standstill and think about, baby?

No fun, no fun, no fun, no fun
To the end, you were suffocating
No fun, no fun, no fun, no fun
What’s to standstill and think about, baby?

2 thoughts on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/2/12

  1. Big Bang! Big Bang is my first Kpop love (and currently only one I guess since I’m on a Kpop hiatus)! ❤ Thank you for the translation and the musings you gave. Somehow, I wish I can understand Korean so I can understand the nuances of the lyrics aka the muhn-ji/mohn-ji you talked about.

    Anyway, I love your blog because you write substantive posts and we like similar things! I also love American TV shows! I really really perked up when I saw your review for Suits and dun dun dun, White Collar! Heehee. I'll make this my new hang-out place haha!

    Excited for your future posts! 😀

    Like

    • Thanks! Just spreading the kpop love! And I’m an advocate of good lyric writing so I’m glad you find the explanations useful.

      As for White Collar, I hope to get up a review of this season ender soon. That and Royal Pains. If there is something else you think I should check out, please let me know. Chances are I’ve probably seen it but I’m always for supporting entertaining programming. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

