Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/23/12

Hmmm…  Last week, I was going to write about 2AM before I changed my mind last minute so I pushed it off to this week but… oh well, I guess this is going to be a dual post.

So I discovered Pixie Lott about 2 years ago thanks to watching one of her performances on Graham Norton.  I simply fell in love with this song:

I loved her “Turn It Up” album.  Her voice kinda reminds me of Duffy as it’s not too deep or high but it sounds powerful.  “The Way the World Works” is another song that I play over and over and over again because it’s one of those feel-good songs.  I like how it’s this pop song with this big band feel because of the brass instruments.

Pixie Lott – The Way the World Works

Pixie Lott – The Way The World Works

Then I heard that Pixie Lott was releasing a Japanese Edition of her new album, “Young Foolish Happy” and featuring GD and TOP in “Dancing On My Own”.  Which had me going:

I have listened to the original and it’s pretty much an exact copy of the original except that the original is only featured by a single person, Marty James.  I prefer this version because there’s a contrast between GD’s tenor voice and TOP’s bass.

Pixie Lott – Dancing On My Own (feat. G-Dragon and TOP)

Pixie Lott – Dancing On My Own (feat. G-Dragon & TOP)

Dancing On My Own

GD) You know I’m trying to make it happen for us right now
I got to do what I got to do, for me and you

TOP) Yo, I remember we were living like kings and queens
In the little tiny castle made of hopes and dreams
It was destiny, it was meant to be
We were so complete, the perfect team

GD) And suddenly there’s a glitch in the system
And in between us is a big strip of distance
They say it’s supposed to make the heart grow fonder
For more like I can tell it couldn’t be wronger

PL) A little bit of more goes a long way
TOP) A little bit of right goes the wrong way
PL) I keep giving, you keep taking
GD) I’m trying to make a living, be patient

PL) All dressed up, nowhere to go
So I’m dancing on my own
I’ve been waiting way too long
Dancing on my own

Play one more so-o-o-o-o-ong (Come on)
So-o-o-o-o-ong (I’m coming back)
So-o-o-o-o-ong (I’m coming…)
But you’re not coming (..back)
So-o-o-o-o-ong
So-o-o-o-o-ong
So-o-o-o-o-ong
But you’re not coming home

TOP) Listen,
GD) I don’t want you dancing by yourself
And I don’t want you picturing yourself with someone else
I know I made some promises and honestly I wanted this to work out
I didn’t know the shining star I found was ’bout to burn out
So what now? We go around like a record
I’m feelin’ disconnected and you’re feelin’ disrespected
I don’t know how this gonna wrap up
But till I’m home you should turn that track on

PL) And that’s all I get from you
But I give my all to you
GD) And that’s all I hear from you

PL) All dressed up nowhere to go
So I’m dancing on my own (Come on, girl)
I’ve been waiting way too long (Please listen to me)
Dancing on my own (I don’t want you dancin’ alone)

Play one more so-o-o-o-o-o-ong
So-o-o-o-o-o-ong (Come on)
So-o-o-o-o-o-ong
But you’re not coming (I’m coming home)
So-o-o-o-o-o-ong
So-o-o-o-o-o-ong (I’m coming home)
So-o-o-o-o-o-ong (I told you I’m coming home)
But you’re not coming home

TOP) I always think about her
Try to not overthink about her
I always dream about her
Try not to dream about her
I’m feelin’ so lost without her
Ah, ah, ah, ah, ah, ah
GD & TOP) I try to come home
And it’s so hard being out on my own
It breaks my heart to leave you alone

PL) And that’s all I get from you
But I give my all to you
TOP) And that’s all I hear from you

PL) All dressed up nowhere to go
So I’m dancing on my own (Dancing)
I’ve been waiting way too long (I don’t want you dancin’ alone)
Dancing on my own (Uh-huh)

Play one more so-o-o-o-o-o-ong (Play one more song)
So-o-o-o-o-o-ong (I’ll be home)
So-o-o-o-o-o-ong
But you’re not coming (Yeah)
So-o-o-o-o-o-ong
So-o-o-o-o-o-ong
So-o-o-o-o-o-ong
But you’re not coming home

TOP) I told you I’ll be home
I told you I’ll be back
(Play one more song ’til you go)
GD) I told you I’ll be home
I told you I’ll be back
I told you I’ll be back, girl
I told you I’ll be home

_____________________________________________________

Next up, 2AM finally made a comeback last week.  The title of the new album is “F. Scott Fitzgerald’s Way of Love” which I just love.  It conjures up all these romantical images set in Roaring 20’s.  Most of the song themselves though are your traditional ballads about love and heartbreak.  While the title track is “너도 나처럼 (You, Like Me),” it’s got that classic 2AM sound and I’m kinda bored of it.  (FYI, the title is also translated as “I Wonder If You Hurt Like Me” but in Korean the title is a fragment and translated as thus above.)

I actually prefer “1초만 더 (1 Second More)” as I like the harmony of the quartet here more.  And it does sound like it belongs on a drama, too.  The song is about heartbreak attempting to showcase the maturity of the members and their voices.

2AM – 1초만 더 (1 Second More)

2AM – 1초만 더

1초만 더

1초만 더 줘
10초만 더 줘
딱 하루만 내게 돌려 줘
귀찮게 안해
욕심도 안내
스물네시간만 빌려 줘

구차해도 괜찮아
유치해도 괜찮아
넌 하겠다면
뭐든 하는 사람인 걸 알아
그러니까 거지같은 내 맘
한 번 살려주라
1초만 다시 나를 보여주게
10초만 다시 내 맘 알려주게
제발

눈치만 봤어
네 맘을 몰랐어
혹시 나를 질려할까 봐

돌아오란 말 안할게
유치한 말 안할게
넌 하겠다면
뭐든 하는 사람인 걸 알아
그러니까 거지같은 내 맘
한 번 살려주라
1초만 다시 나를 보여주게
10초만 다시 내 맘 알려주게

사랑을 내가 잘못 배웠어
너에게 항상 이기려 했어
더 사랑하면 뭔가 지는건 줄만 알았어

스물네시간 전부 다
나 잘못했다 빌고
딱 1초만 나 무릎 꿇 수 있게 도와주라
이렇게 나 거지같은 나야
한 번 살려주라
하루만 다시 내게 빌려주라
10초만 다시 내게 빌려주라
제발
1초만 다시 내게 돌려주라
제발

1 Second More

Give me 1 more second
Give me 10 seconds more
Turn back time just one day for me
I won’t bother you
I won’t expect anything
Just lend me 24 hours

It’s okay if you’re lame
It’s okay if you’re childish
If you’re willing,
you’re a person who’ll do it all
So my feeble heart
Save me just once
Show me again for 1 second
Show my heart again for 10 seconds
Please

I just noticed
I didn’t know how you felt
That you might tire of me

I won’t ask you to return to me
I won’t say those immature words
If you’re willing,
you’re a person who’ll do it all
So my feeble heart
Save me just once
Show me again for 1 second
Show my heart again for 10 seconds

I didn’t learn how to love right
I always tried to win against you
Thought always losing was a sign I loved you more

24 hours is everything
I’ll beg for your forgiveness
Just help me for 1 second so I can get on my knees
I’m a bum like this
Save me just one
Lend yourself to me again for one day
Lend yourself to me again for 10 seconds
Please
Lend yourself to me again for 1 second
Please

Truth be told, even on their last album I liked their faster tracks. JYP separated these boys from the 2PM boys to make one a dance group and one more a ballad-y group. They tried the dance route with “잘못했어 (I Did Wrong)” but it didn’t work out so well. And I can definitely understand why.

The weird thing is that these boys can dance but I guess it just doesn’t work with their songs. Oh well. I’ll just continue to like their upbeat songs even though they don’t perform it on the music shows. Plus, I’m not a fan of the face that Jo Kwon makes when he sings a sad ballad. It’s like, ‘Okay, Kwonnie. I get you’re in pain.’ The upbeat tracks, on the otherhand, actually fit their adorable, variety show personalities. “사랑해 사랑해 (Love You, Love You)” is probably gonna end up as my new ringtone as it’s so cute.  It’s this album’s only love song produced by Chang Min about falling in love at first sight.

2AM – 사랑해 사랑해 (Love You, Love You)

2AM – 사랑해 사랑해

사랑해 사랑해

사랑해 사랑해 사랑해
아무리 말해도
그대는 그대는 그대는
내 맘을 몰라요
사랑해

그대를 처음 만났던 날을
난 기억하네요
심장이 고장난 줄만 알았죠
터질 듯 뛰는 가슴이
내게 말을 하네요
그대 내 사랑이라고
좋아한다고 사랑한다고
수 백번씩 연습해도
말이 나오질 않네요

내 사랑 그대여 이젠 말을 할게요
내 사랑 받아주세요

사랑해 사랑해 사랑해
아무리 말해도
그대는 그대는 그대는
내 맘을 몰라요
사랑이니까
그대를 사랑하니까
세상이 다 변한다 해도
널 지켜줄게요
사랑해

그대도 나왁 같은 생각일거라고
그대의 눈을 보고 나는 느꼈죠
분명히 내가 본 그 눈빛이 맞다면
그대의 심장도 고장났을거라고
두 눈을 가리고
두 귀를 막아도
내 가슴이 그대가 있는 곳 찾을 수 있죠

내 사랑 그대여 이젠 말을 할게요
내 사랑 받아주세요

사랑해 사랑해 사랑해
아무리 말해도
그대는 그대는 그대는
내 맘을 몰라요
사랑이니까
그대를 사랑하니까
세상이 다 변한다 해도
널 지켜줄게요
사랑해

모두들 아니라해도
내 눈엔 아름다운 그대죠
영원히 지켜줄게요
나의 그대여
사랑해

사랑해 사랑해 사랑해
아무리 말해도
그대는 그대는 그대는
내 맘을 몰라요
사랑이니까
그대를 사랑하니까
세상이 다 변한다 해도
널 지켜줄게요
사랑해

Love You, Love You

Love you, love you, love you
No matter how I tell you
You are, you are, you are
Don’t know how I feel
I love you

The day you first met me
I remember it
I thought my heart had gone haywire
With my heart about to burst
You speak to me
You are my love
I like you, I love you
Though I practice about a hundred times
Words don’t come out

My love is you, Now I’ll say it
Please accept my love

Love you, love you, love you
No matter how I tell you
You are, you are, you are
Don’t know how I feel
Because you’re my love
Because I love you
Though the whole world changes
I’ll be by your side
I love you

Like to think you also feel the same way
I feel it when I look in your eyes
Clearly, that look I’ve seen is right
That your heart has gone haywire, too
Though you close your eyes
Though you close your ears
My heart can find where you are

My love is you, Now I’ll say it
Please accept my love

Love you, love you, love you
No matter how I tell you
You are, you are, you are
Don’t know how I feel
Because you’re my love
Because I love you
Though the whole world changes
I’ll be by your side
I love you

Though everyone says you aren’t
In my eyes, you are beautiful
I’ll be by your side forever
For me, there’s you
I love you

Love you, love you, love you
No matter how I tell you
You are, you are, you are
Don’t know how I feel
Because you’re my love
Because I love you
Though the whole world changes
I’ll be by your side
I love you

Leave a Reply

