Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/30/12

I’m trying to remember when I first started listening to LYn.  I think it was back when my cable tv provider had AZNTV in its lineup.  I remember that they would constantly play the same two music videos back to back in the evening.  One was Rain’s “태양을 피하는 방법 (How to Avoid the Sun)” and the other was LYn’s “…사랑했잖아… (…We Used to Be in Love…)”.  It wasn’t one of those songs that immediately grabbed my attention because it sounded like a traditional ballad.  I just really liked her voice.  Though the music video just made me not want to like it because it was so cheesy.  But since they played it so much I just naturally learned the words to the song and I embraced the cheese.  Now I HAVE to sing it at the noraebang.

The music video features Park Jun Suk and Lee Chung Ah (Flower Boys Ramyun Shop).

I’m pretty sure if you’ve watch a K-Drama, you’ve heard one of LYn’s songs.  Most recently, she did a song for the The Moon that Embraces the Sun‘s OST.  I think because her voice is so great that no matter how times a drama repeats her track you just don’t get tired of her voice.  Or at least I don’t.

I wish she would go on I Am a Singer as a competitor (if they ever come back) because I like the fact that she is adaptable from ballads to more poppy numbers.  And this one is an upbeat, poppy number from her latest album.  Although this song resembles Joss Stone’s “Super Duper Love (Are You Diggin’ On Me?)” to me.

Joss Stone – Super Duper Love (Are You Diggin’ On Me?) Part 1

The photos from the latest album, “Love Fiction,” is kinda cute but also kinda weird as they make her look like a doll as her expression in some of them are blank and far-off.

Anyways, I’m featuring “AB형 여자 (AB Blood Type Woman)” this week and it’s a fun song.  For those that aren’t aware, blood types are kind of like horoscopes in Korea.  They determine personalities, if they’re a good match with somebody and etc.  Here’s some basic broad strokes on the traits.  Blood Type A are perfectionists, considerate and loyal.  Blood Type B is creative but forgetful and selfish.  Blood Type AB is a combination of both A and B which can make them unpredictable and can be considered two-faced.  Blood Type O are ambitious but can be arrogant and ruthless.  Type A’s have a good reputation and are desired greatly in a partner.  Type O’s rank in the middle while Type B’s and Type AB’s have a negative reputation in Korea.

In the song, the girl is apologizing for being an indecisive, unpredictable, drama queen of a woman.  She promises that she’ll try harder to be better in their relationship but really what can she do if her personality is determined by her blood?  She has to live with those traits, too.  But really the guy has fallen for her and though it’s tiring, it’s also a lot of fun.  The rap is by M.I.B.’s 5zic.  I only know M.I.B. because of their one song, “G.D.M.”  It stands for “Girls, Dreams, Money” but when I first heard it I thought they were saying “Girls, Drinks, Money”.  I think you know which I prefer.

I don’t know if I believe in Blood Type personalities or horoscopes.  I do find it interesting though.  Especially as I’m watching Twelve Men in a Year.  Women tend to know what they like in a man and if they could only find a method that narrows down the field then it would help us from wasting our time.

LYn – AB형 여자 (feat. 5Zic of M.I.B) (AB Blood Type Woman (feat. 5Zic of M.I.B.))

LYn – AB형 여자 (feat. 5Zic of M.I.B)

AB형 여자

카멜레온 저리가라
수많은 매력을 갖고 있지 난
너도 이런 내게 끌려
빠져놓고 이제와 딴소리네

AB blood type 여자를 왜 몰라
외로움 정말로 많이 타
노노노노 노노

눈치 빠르고 센스가 엄청나
차가워도 마음은 hot해 나
말해줘도 왜 나를 몰라
AB형 여자를

하루 수 백 번씩 바뀌는 맘
나도 감당 안돼
(너도 그럴 테지)
드라마 같은 사랑 꿈꾸기엔
이제 어른인데
정신 좀 차려야겠지?

요조숙녀 저리가라
며칠에 한번은 여성스러 난
똑똑하고 유니크하지
못하는 게 없어 요리도 잘해

AB blood type 여자를 왜 몰라
많은걸 바라지는 않아
노노노노 노노

Cool한 척해도 은근히 소심해
너 하기에 따라 달라져 난
말해줘도 넌 모를 거야
AB형 여자를
하루 수 백 번씩 바뀌는 맘
나도 감당 안돼
(너도 그럴 테지)
드라마 같은 사랑 꿈꾸기엔
이제 어른인데
정신 좀 차려야겠지?

The One of the blood type is AB
참 재밌어 A와 B 둘 다 가진
야누스 적인 여자
그래서인지 몰라
호기심 많은
내 피가 너를 좋아했는지(하하)
찰떡궁합이란 말은 못해도
한번 맞으면
말 안 해도
What I’m talking about U know?
Shawty 어색한 걸 싫어했던 너 그만큼
나도 노력 많이 했다는 걸 알아줘(에에)
시간이 흐를수록
빈번해지는 다툼과 싸움
아무리 이해하려 해봐도
전혀 모르겠어 너란 여잔
이 정도면 되겠습니까
우유부단하고 소심한 남자의
연애 경험담
AB형 여자인
넌 이미 알았겠지만
guess what 맞춰봐 내 혈액형

웃다가 핑 우는 내가
무섭고 지겨울지 몰라도
사랑으로 날 안아줘
말 안 해도 알아줘
so plz ma baby

A와 B 두 가지 피로 살아야하는 나
(나도 골치 아파)
No way 계속 그럴까
나도 변해야겠지 그래야지
(널 놓치기 싫어 난)

Baby A와 B 두 가지 피로 살아야하는 나
(너무 복잡해 나)
No way 쓸데없는 자존심은 버릴래
나 그럴래
정신 좀 차려야겠지

AB Blood Type Woman

Go away, chameleon
I have tons of magnetism
You too are drawn to someone like me
Now lying after falling for me

AB blood type woman, why don’t you know?
I feel really lonely
No, no, no, no No, No

I’m quick witted and tremendously sensible
Though I’m cold, my heart is hot
Though I tell you, why don’t you know me?
AB blood type woman

Several hundred times a day, my feelings change,
even I can’t keep up
(I bet you do, too)
Rather than dreaming of a drama-esque love
Now I’m an adult
It’s time wake up, right?

Demure woman, get lost
Every couple of days, I’m feminine
Clever and unique
There’s nothing I can’t do, I can also cook

AB blood type woman, why don’t you know?
I don’t expect much
No, no, no, no No, no

Though you act cool, I’m secretly shy
Though to you, I’m different
Though I tell you, you won’t know
AB blood type woman
Several hundred times a day, my feelings change,
even I can’t keep up
(I bet you do, too)
Rather than dreaming of a drama-esque love
Now I’m an adult
It’s time wake up, right?

The One of the blood type is AB
It’s a lot of fun having both A and B
Like a Janus (aka two-faced) woman
I don’t know if its because of that
I’m very curious
If it’s my blood that liked you (Ha ha)
Though I can’t say were made for each other
If I’m hit with it once
Though I don’t say it
What I’m talking about U know?
Shawty As much as you hate awkwardness
Know that I’ve tried very hard (Eh eh)
Over time,
frequently fighting and quarreling
Though I try to understand
I just don’t understand women like you
If it’s this much, would you?
Wishy-washy and timid guy’s
dating experiences
AB blood type woman,
though you already know
Guess what, guess my blood type

Smiling then suddenly wailing tears
I don’t know if you’re scared or tired of me
Hug me out of love
Though I don’t say it, understand me
so plz ma baby

A and B, I have to live with both blood types
(I’m annoyed, too)
No way, will I always be like that?
I have to change, I just have to
(I don’t want to let you go)

Baby, A and B, I have to live with both blood types
(I’m too complicated)
No way, want to throw away my useless pride
I want to
Guess I need to wake up

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/30/12

  1. She really does have a very beautiful voice that you can just listen to all day. I only know her by The Moon Embracing The Sun OST song “Back in time”, but I really really enjoy that particular song. It has that epic love song feel to it. And I don’t usually even like ballads that much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

