Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/6/12

Busker Busker.  I’ve seen them on the charts quite a bit due to them being on Superstar K3.  With a plethora of Hongdae indie rock artists, my interest wasn’t really peaked when I first saw them on the charts.  However, now that I’ve heard their full album I can see why they won 2nd place on Superstar K3.

The story about how their band got together was also pretty interesting.  Vocalist, Guitarist Jang Bum Joon and Bassist Kim Hyung Tae were both in the same animation department at school.  They had a sunbae/hoobae relationship and it wasn’t until they both took the same English class that they hooked up with their English instructor, Drummer Bradley.  They took to the streets and at the same time signed up to be on Superstar K.

I like how with the guitar, bass and drums, their sound is simple and not overproduced.  I do have to keep in mind that Jang Bum Joon was criticized for not being consistent with the singing, especially when hitting high notes.  It’s probably more apparent live than on a recording.  To hear him singing the top notes, lend your ears to “벚꽃 엔딩 (Cherry Blossom Ending)”.

There are so many songs I wanted to feature but I narrowed it to two.  I decided on “여수 밤바다 (Yeosu Night Sea)” for the romantic idealistic sounds of this ballad.  This song feels like it’s stuck in time.  It’s got this Kim Chang Wan-ess of Sanullim.  Most of the song is acoustic until it swells with an orchestra at the end.  Even with the strings and piano, the song doesn’t feel overly crowded with instruments.  It feels reminiscent of the vastness of the sea.

Yeosu is a port city down in the South Jeolla Province of Korea, at the southern edge of the peninsula.  In hanmun, it’s written as 麗水 which literally means “Lovely Water” to indicate the temperate weather and seas they experience there so I suppose that’s the inspiration for this song.  However there are other homonyms for yeosu which mean “to give and receive” and “a melancholy journey”.  Though it doesn’t seem like Bum Joon’s intent to refer to these other words when he wrote the song, they come to my mind as I’m listening to this song.  “To give and receive” yeosu reminds me of the ebb and flow of the water as “a melancholy journey” yeosu brings images of him walking along the beach wanting to be with the loved one he wants to call up in the song.

Busker Busker – 여수 밤바다 (Yeosu Night Sea)

버스커 버스커(Busker Busker) – 여수 밤바다

여수 밤바다

여수 밤바다
이 조명에 담긴
아름다운 얘기가 있어
네게 들려주고파
전활 걸어 뭐하고 있냐고
나는 지금
여수 밤바다 여수 밤바다

아 아 아 아 아 아 아

너와 함께 걷고 싶다
이 바다를 너와 함께 걷고 싶어
이 거리를 너와 함께 걷고 싶다
이 바다를 너와 함께 걷고 싶어

여수 밤바다

여수 밤바다 이 바람에 걸린
알 수 없는 향기가 있어
네게 전해주고파
전활 걸어 뭐하고 있냐고
나는 지금 여수 밤바다
여수 밤바다

아 아 아 아 아 아 아 아

너와 함께 걷고 싶다
이 바다를 너와 함께 걷고 싶어
이 거리를 너와 함께 걷고 싶다
이 바다를 너와 함께 너와 함께 오

바다
이 조명에 담긴
아름다운 얘기가 있어
네게 들려주고파
전활 걸어 뭐하고 있냐고
나는 지금 여수 밤바다
여수 밤바다
아 바다 아아아 하아아아 하아오오
하 아아아 허오 아아아아

뭐하고 있냐고
나는 지금 여수 밤바다

Yeosu Night Sea

Yeosu Night Sea,
filled with this light
there’s a beautiful story
I want to tell it to you
Calling, asking what you’re up to
Right now I’m at the Yeosu Night Sea
Yeosu Night Sea

Ah ah ah ah ah ah ah

I want to walk with you
This sea, I want to walk with you
This space, I want to walk with you
This sea, I want to walk with you

Yeosu Night Sea

Yeosu Night Sea, Hooked on this breeze
There’s an unknown scent in the air
I want to carry it to you
Calling, asking what you’re up to
Right now I’m at the Yeosu Night Sea
Yeosu Night Sea

Ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah

I want to walk with you
This sea, I want to walk with you
This space, I want to walk with you
This sea, with you, with you oh

Sea,
filled with this light
there’s a beautiful story
I want to tell it to you
Calling, asking what you’re up to
Right now I’m at the Yeosu Night Sea
Yeosu Night Sea
Ah sea ahahah haahahah haahohoh
Ha ahahah Huhoh Ahahahah

What’re you up to
Right now I’m at the Yeosu Night Sea

Another song I highly recommend is “외로움증폭장치 (Amplification of Loneliness)”. Notice that this song doesn’t make use of the drums. Sorry, Brad. But again I like the simplicity of the pain in the song despite the cute melody. My favorite part is the chorus as it talks about the hands of the clock and in Korean it literally means “Clock Needle” or “시계바늘(sigye baneul)”. Therefore when it talks about the second hand piercing the heart, it comes from the metaphor of a 바늘(baneul)/needle doing that.

Busker Busker – 외로움증폭장치 (Amplification of Loneliness)

버스커 버스커(Busker Busker) – 외로움증폭장치 (브래드 드럼 한판 쉬기)

외로움증폭장치

내가 미쳤죠
내가 또 왜 날 이렇게
모든 게 다 한심하게
우 살다니

뭐가 그렇게
내가 또 왜 어린 건지
모든 게 다 어려운 건지
우 쉽지가 않네요

시계바늘 위로 올라가
초침으로 심장을 찔러서
톱니바퀴 안으로 들어가
태엽으로 시간을 돌리는

시계바늘 위로 올라가
초침으로 심장을 찔러서
톱니바퀴 안으로 들어가
태엽으로 시간을 돌리는 나

내가 미웠죠
내가 또 무뎌져 가네
모든 게 무너져 가네
우 살다니

모두 그렇게
내가 또 왜 못했는지
모든 게 왜 떠나는지
우 쉽지가 않네요

시계바늘 위로 올라가
초침으로 심장을 찔러서
톱니바퀴 안으로 들어가
태엽으로 시간을 돌리는

시계바늘 위로 올라가
초침으로 심장을 찔러서
톱니바퀴 안으로 들어가
시간을 돌리는 나

Amplification of Loneliness

I must be crazy
Why do I make myself like this again?
Everything’s so pathetic
Woo, trying to live

Why is it
Why am I again so immature?
Why everything’s so hard
Woo, it’s not that easy

The hands of the clock go upwards
The second hand pierces my heart
A serrated clock gear goes inside
With the clockwork, time rewinds

The hands of the clock go upwards
The second hand pierces my heart
A serrated clock gear goes inside
With the clockwork, rewinding time, me

I hated myself
I, again, become calloused
Everything collapses
Woo, trying to live

Everyone like that
Why I couldn’t do it again?
Why does everything leave?
Woo, it’s not that easy

The hands of the clock go upwards
The second hand pierces my heart
A serrated clock gear goes inside
With the clockwork, time rewinds

The hands of the clock go upwards
The second hand pierces my heart
A serrated clock gear goes inside
Rewinding time, me

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/6/12

Leave a Reply

