Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/13/12

Nell is back!!  It’s been four years since their last release and I am definitely one of those people who have been anticipating the comeback.

They are mostly known for their slow, angsty rock and “Slip Away” does not stray from their typical style.  It reminds me a little of Damien Rice as it’s got that haunting, loneliness quality to it.  Adding to the haunting ambiance, you should also note that they typically have repetitive lyrics in their songs which have this echo-y effect as they reiterate the same sentiment over and over again.  I don’t think a lot of people are going to love their music as it’s slow and at times dark.  But that’s really what I love about them.

Usually, I like to stay away from the title track as they get the most press from other bloggers and reviewers.  However, I found that I didn’t love a lot of the songs on this album.  I liked some of them but I really loved “그리고, 남겨진 것들 (The Day Before)”.  From the song itself down to the music video, I love this song.

“The Day Before” is the English title that’s given to the song but it’s not a translation of the Korean title.  It’s actually saying, “And, Those [People] Left Behind”.  I actually like the Korean title better than the English one, especially since it’s a little vague about the subject.

The orchestral accompaniment on this track is heartbreaking almost in the same level in Damien Rice’s “Amie”.  Since the song is about love and heartbreak, it resembles taking the bottled up emotions and releasing it over time.  As the strings play, it lets it build up until it’s overflowing.  Combined with the fact that they repeat the same notes on the violin and the lyric, “This is all that I can say”.  It’s such a frustrating line but immediately you can comprehend the emotions of this separation.

I love that Lee Min Ki (Shut Up: Flower Boy Band/Chilling Romance) and Song Jae Rim (The Moon That Embraces the Sun) are in the music video.  Although it’s sad, the video is quite beautiful.  I love all the little touches in it.  The way I interpret it is that they’re lovers and Min Ki’s the one doing the leaving.  I love how Min Ki’s expression gradually changes from indifference, to cold and dead and then to this insulting sarcasm.

Song Jae Rim’s eyes are super sad as he comes to realize what’s happening.

There really isn’t a clear shot of Min Ki’s face in the beginning.

But there’s a medium closeup of Jae Rim watching him.

Or when Jae Rim drops the elephant ornament as an indication that he’s accepted the so-called “elephant in the room” and come to terms with his murder.  (Well if you break Jae Rim’s heart, that’s what ya gonna get.  Although, I am surprised by the choice of casting Jae Rim since murder by poison is statistically done more by women.  Anyhoo… I digress.)

Or when he closes up his camera to hang on to the last image of Min Ki.  It’s creepy and eerie but also comforting.  I can’t explain the comforting part.  It just is.

넬 – 그리고, 남겨진 것들

그리고, 남겨진 것들

처음엔 많이도 힘들었지
인정할 수 없어 괴로웠지
하지만 받아들이고 나니,
이젠 그게 너무 슬픈 거지
사실은 그래 흩어지는데
붙잡아 뭐해
마음만 더 아프게
근데 이렇게 살아지는 게
어떤 의미가 있는 건가 싶긴해
처음엔 원망도 많이 했지
울기도 참 많이 울었었지
근데 계속 그렇게 있다 보니
뭐하는 짓인가 싶은 거지
사실은 그래 흩어지는데
붙잡아 뭐해
마음만 더 아프게

근데 이렇게 살아지는 게
또 어떤 의미가 있는 건가 싶긴해
가끔씩은 같은 기억 속에 서있는지
너의 시간
역시 때론 멈춰버리는지
이별은 어때 견뎌질 만해
준비한 만큼
어떤 아픔도 덜 해?
사랑은 어때 다시 할 만해
사실 난 그래 그저 두렵기만 해
This is all that I can say
This is all that I can say

혼자 되뇌어보는
널 보내는 그 말
This is all that I can say
This is all that I can say

너에겐 닿지 않을
널 보내는 그 말
This is all that I can say
This is all that I can say

The Day Before

It was really hard when we first met
I can’t accept it, it was painful
But after I accepted it
Now that was the saddest thing
Honestly, it’s crumbling apart
What’s the use of holding on?
It’ll just hurt more
But then just vanishing like this
What’s the meaning of this?
At first, I blamed you a lot
I cried a lot of tears, too
But then after being like that for awhile
Then I thought, ‘What’s the point of all this?’
Honestly, it’s crumbling apart
What’s the use of holding on?
It’ll just hurt more

But then just vanishing like this
Again, what’s the meaning of this?
Sometimes I stop at the same memories
Time with you,
of course, sometimes I pause on it
How will I endure the breakup?
Depending on how much I prepare myself,
will it lessen the hurt?
What about love? Can you do it again?
Honestly, I’m like that, I just dread it
This is all that I can say
This is all that I can say

Alone thinking about it over and over again
Words that were said when I sent you away
This is all that I can say
This is all that I can say

Just not within your reach
Words that were said when I sent you away
This is all that I can say
This is all that I can say

Leave a Reply

