Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/20/12

What can I say?  I’m kinda of digging the K-indie scene these days. Urban Zakapa debuted in 2009 as a 9 member band, made up of 4 vocalists and 5 instrumentalists.  It started as a labor of love but I would say that today there are 3 main members/vocalists that go by this name.  They are Jo Hyun Ah, Kwon Soon Il and Park Yong In.

They remind of Clazziquai and Humming Urban Stereo in that their music is that indie type of lounge-y pop.  Cho Hyun Ah’s voice reminds me of Clazziquai’s Ho Ran except it’s a bit huskier.  Well, the group is close to Alex from Clazziquai which explains why I can hear his imprint on their songs.  Kwon Soon Il is known for his high falsetto singing and Park Yong In’s voice reminds me of Kim Jo Han-lite.  Park Yong In doesn’t have quite the powerful punch that Kim Jo Han’s voice has but I like that about him.

Although they debuted in 2009, they only debuted with a mini album.  Their first full-length album didn’t come until last year and that’s when I fell in love with them.  Check out below as the trio does a medley mix from the first album.  I think they would sound amazing if heard live, don’t you?

The group was pretty busy late last year.  They did a remake of SES’ “Just a Feeling” for the Tribute 90’s project which had indie artists covering old school 90’s K-pop songs.  It’s also included at the end of the current mini album, “Beautiful Day”. But they had a widely successful digital single around Christmas time called “Snowing”.  The song was used for the Baskin Robbins commercial.

This mini album is great. I  love the title song “Beautiful Day” as the lyrics are simple and the song is sweet.  It sets you in the Springtime weather amongst the falling petals of cherry blossom trees as you begin a new relationship.

BUT then… I saw their music video for the song.  It’s really cute until about… 1:54.  Suddenly, you’re just like, ‘Ummm… what the fuck just happened?’  Lol.  There are no words.  But I still love the song!

Anyways, I also really love their voices in “그댈 안은 목소리 (A Voice to Embrace You)”.  It’s slower ballad number in the style of 90’s R&B music.  The song is beautiful as their charismatic voices is what really makes me swoon about the number.

Urban Zakapa – 그댈 안은 목소리 (A Voice to Embrace You)

어반 자카파 (Urban Zakapa) – 그댈 안은 목소리

그댈 안은 목소리

짙은 어둠 속에
위태로운 그대 모습
많은 사람들 속에
지독히 외로운 날들
그대 뒤 맴돌고 있는
많은 속삭임 속에도
내 손 잡아요

I, I will be there
세상의 높은 벽이
그대 앞을 막아도
I will, I will be there
내 작은 어깨 위에
그대 기대어 쉴 수 있도록

낯선 시간 속에
보이지 않았던 내일은
다시 또 오늘이 되고
늘 같은 일상 속
갈 곳을 잃은 그대 작은 꿈
그대 품에 감싸 안은
수줍은 그 꿈
세상에 비추어 봐요

I, I will be there
세상의 높은 벽이
그대 앞을 막아도
I will, I will be there
내 작은 어깨 위에
그대 기대어 쉴 수 있도록

이젠 두려워 마요
항상 곁에 있을게
그대 환한 미소
밝혀주는 빛이 되어

I, I will be there
세상의 높은 벽이
그대 앞을 막아도
I will, I will be there
내 작은 어깨 위에
그대 기대어 쉴 수 있도록

I, I will be there
세상의 높은 벽이
그대 앞을 막아도
I will, I will be there
내 작은 어깨 위에
그대 기대어 쉴 수 있도록

A Voice to Embrace You

In the blackness of the dark,
your precarious image
Amongst crowds of people
Days feeling incredibly lonesome
Circling behind their backs
Within the many whispers
Hold my hand

I, I will be there
The world’s highest wall
Though it blocks your way
I will, I will be there
Upon my small shoulders
Can I lean on you, so I can breathe

During a strange hour,
the tomorrow I didn’t see
Becomes today again
Always the same everyday life
Lost your way, your small dream
In your arms, within your embrace
That shy dream
Shine it out on the world

I, I will be there
The world’s highest wall
Though it blocks your way
I will, I will be there
Upon my small shoulders
Can I lean on you, so I can breathe

Now, don’t be scared
I’ll always be by your side
That bright smiles of yours
I’ll be the light that reveals it

I, I will be there
The world’s highest wall
Though it blocks your way
I will, I will be there
Upon my small shoulders
Can I lean on you, so I can breathe

I, I will be there
The world’s highest wall
Though it blocks your way
I will, I will be there
Upon my small shoulders
Can I lean on you, so I can breathe

Leave a Reply

