Just Bananas About: Week of 4/23/12

So I started watching The Marriage Plot a couple of weeks ago.

I have to admit that the trailer got to me with it’s Mr. & Mrs. Smith vibe to it.  However, be forewarned that it’s not a spy vs. spy type of drama.  It’s more of opposites attract romance.

Yoo Gun Hee (Kang Hye Jung) works for a Kimchi conglomerate and despises her co-worker, Lee Kang Jae (Lee Kyu Han).

Kang Jae is the son to president of the company while Gun Hee’s mom owns a Kimchi gourmet business that is at risk of losing her company to bankruptcy.  She can save her business if she enlists the help of Kang Jae’s dad but their past history is preventing her from budging.  It’s like Fox Books meets Shop Around the Corner.

Gun Hee’s mom comes up with a new business venture, a boarding house.  She takes on a couple of bachelors in hopes that her four daughters will meet someone and get married.  One of which, ends up being Kang Jae in hopes of getting closer to the family so that he could convince the mother to bring the kimchi business to his father’s company.

I’ll admit that the writing here isn’t top notch.  I simply don’t care about the family business or what’s going on between Gun Hee’s mom and Kang Jae’s dad.  Also, the way Kang Jae ended up living with the family was a little too contrived for my taste.

What’s fabulous about the drama are the two leads and their bickering and squabbling.

Oh yes, and more importantly they ooze chemistry.  I’m not sure that the chemistry alone is going to take me to the end of the drama but I’ll be optimistic.  After all, the writer also wrote Vampire Prosecutor.  They just need to figure out how to make the family drama stuff entertaining as the other stuff.  At least we’ve got the romantic developments as I am also enjoying what’s going on with the other sisters.

But I’m totally obsessed about Gun Hee and Kang Jae.

Especially, Kang Jae.  My mom commented how long Lee Kyu Han’s lashes are and I can’t stop staring at them.  Every time he’s on screen, I keep staring at them.  Check out this scene where it’s raining.  The rain is literally hanging on his lashes.

Anyhoooo, he’s also hilarious in the comedy arena as I love his over-the-top reactions.

I know people are waiting for the subs and I’d say that so far, it’s worth checking out.  Right now, the drama is heading towards romance as Gun Hee and Kang Jae are becoming more aware of their feelings for each other.

Eee!  But expect some hilarious speed bumps on the road to romance.

From this week’s upcoming episode, it looks like Kang Jae will propose that they start dating.  It ignites this reaction from Gun Hee. However, Kang Jae doesn’t stop there as he responds with a wink and some weird tongue action. Hehe. And just why is he wearing a Hawaiian shirt? We’ll have to wait to find out!

Watch this battle of the sexes on Monday and Tuesday nights.

5 thoughts on “Just Bananas About: Week of 4/23/12

  1. I’ve been relying on recaps because there are no subs yet. Oh well. I am enjoying this show but I enjoy Queen In Hyun’s Man more! Are you watching it? I really recommend it. 😀

    Like

    • I’ve reached that point this week with Ep. 10 where the lack of substance with the family drama made the storyline plateau. It’s too bad because the chemistry between Lee Kyu Han and Kang Hye Jung is great.

      I’ve limiting my drama intake recently because of my recaps with 12 Men but I’m almost done so Queen In Hyun is next on my list. And a couple of other new ones.

      Like

      • Yeah, I’ve been so excited about Marriage Plot because I adore Lee Kyu Han to bits but when I actually read recaps since subs were not available, I was slightly disappointed that it wasn’t as funny and wacky as I thought it would be. It’s a pity that the drama has not focused on boardinghouse hijinks which I think they really should.

        Anyway, as with Queen In Hyun’s Man, I wasn’t looking forward to it and now I’m loving it. I would love to hear your thoughts on it. Heehee. Enjoy! And let’s hope to be less busy! 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

