Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/27/12

I’ve been listening to ALi’s first album for a couple months now and she was going to make into one my playlist posts but the timing just never worked out.  I like her husky voice and she kind of reminds me of a young Gummy.  Her voice packs quite the punch.

I enjoy “SOUL-RI : 영혼이 있는 마을 (SOUL-RI: A Village with a Hero)”, for the most part.  I simply love the song “촌스럽게 굴지마 (feat. 용준형) (Don’t Be Tacky (feat. Yong Jun Hyung of B2ST))”.  It’s got this great R&B color to it.

When the controversy with the song “나영이 (Na Young)” came out, I tried to listen to it with an open mind.  ALi wrote and composed the song herself in order to offer some encouragement to a young girl that was violently raped and assaulted in 2008.  The girl’s pseudonym is Na Young. The melody has this early 90’s R&B vibe to it and it pulls you in but with lyrics like “You threw away your youth, selling your body, selling your soul, your entire helpless life has been stolen from you”, even I couldn’t help but feel that it sounded insensitive.  ALi apologized to Na Young’s parents and even admitted to being a victim of rape herself but ultimately, the song was removed from the album.

Honestly, reading a snippet like that makes the lyrics sound reprehensible but you have to listen/read the whole thing to judge it.  In my opinion, I get why people misunderstood her meaning and I think that’s just attributed to her inexperience with being an artist and writing lyrics to be viewed by a wide audience.  On the other hand, knowing about her personal tragedy, I think she was talking a little bit about herself and the negative thoughts that could have been going through the victim’s head as she was experiencing this tragedy.

She’s moved on from that scandal and she’s been making her variety rounds on Immortal Song 2.  Now her vocals are drawing me in again for Rooftop Prince’s OST.  She sings the sad ballad track called “상처 (Hurt)”.  I like it because it’s different from Baek Ji Young’s ballad (which is also fabulous).  Baek Ji Young’s track belongs in your usual romance K-Drama while this one feels like it belongs in an epic sageuk.  It’s a bit unusual to hear the songs back to back.  This song seems like it’s stuck in time and it accurately represents what’s going on in the drama.

You’ve got our main character, Lee Gak (Park Yoo Chun), who is having a hard time finding his place in the present and our heroine, Park Ha (Han Ji Min), is pining for him.  Right now, he’s fighting his attraction to her because he doesn’t want to mess with the time-space continuum.  He thinks because he married Hwa Yong (Jung Yoo Mi) in the Joseon era, he’s meant to marry Hong Sena, Hwa Yong’s present day doppelganger.  Really, what’s the worst that could happen?  The universe explodes?  Where is Doctor Who when you need him?  She died in the past because you were always meant to be with Bu Yong, Park Ha’s Joseon doppelganger.

Aahhh, now I want to veer off into discussing the drama a bit.  I was really frustrated with Episode 11 and it didn’t help that the drama steered towards the makjang side.  The scenes between Lee Gak and Tae Moo were bad enough… But warehouse fire?  Really, drama?  Really?  You’re wasting time and I don’t care that it was a plot device for Lee Gak to make the connection between Park Ha and Bu Yong.   (Although, the drama made up for its lapse in judgement with Episode 12.  Dammit, I’m such a sucker for romance confessions.)  There are so many directions for this drama to go in but there’s not much time.  The drama has to reveal the secret of Tae Yong’s disappearance in the present and the mystery behind Princess Hwa Yong’s death in the past.  We don’t know much about Bu Yong but Park Ha’s personality seems livelier than hers and I’d be bummed if Park Ha didn’t end up with Lee Gak.  The question is whether Lee Gak belongs in the present or Park Ha belongs in the past.  I have my theories and it’s all about whether or not we’ve met ALL the doppelgangers from the Joseon era and just exactly what Park Ha read in that history book about Joseon princes.


ALi – 상처 (Hurt)

알리(Ali) – 상처

상처

살아 가는 이유가 그대 이기에
내 맘을 담아서
하나 둘씩 남은 아련한 기억들이 전해지기를
내가 걸은 이길
그 끝에서 만나
허락된 이 길에
다만 널 사랑하고
더 사랑한 나 밖에 남지 않았는데
내 사랑이 다 타고 남은 건
기다리다 지친 상처 뿐인데
너란 사람 잊지 못하는 나잖아
눈물만 흐르잖아

내 사랑이 다 식어 버리면
어느 새 그리운 상처만 남아서
잘 지내라는 말 아직 남아서
잊지 못해 그대
하늘 하늘 지는 꽃잎을 따라가
그대를 만나면
이젠 다 말할텐데
또 그리워 그리워 잊지 못했다고
내 사랑이 다 타고 남은 건
기다리다 지친 상처 뿐인데
너란 사람 잊지 못하는 나잖아
눈물만 흐르잖아

내 사랑이 다 식어 버리면
어느 새 그리운 상처만 남아서
잘 지내라는 말 아직 남아서
잊지 못해 그대
라 라 라라 라라라 라라라
라라라 라라 라라라라
라 라 라라 라라라 라라라
라라라라 라라 라라라라

Hurt

The reason why I’m living is because of you
I’m pouring my heart for you
Passing on one or two fainting memories
This path I’ve walked
Let’s meet at the end there,
this road you allowed
I love only you
There’s no one else but me left to love you
What’s left after all my love burns up
Waiting has just left me tired and hurt
I’m the one who can’t forget a person like you
It’s just left me crying

If my love cools completely
Before I know it, left with this yearning hurt
The words wishing me to be well still remains
I can’t forget you
Following the lightly falling flower petals
If I meet you
Now I will tell you everything
Again I long, I pine for, I’ve not forgotten you
What’s left after all my love burns up
Waiting has just left me tired and hurt
I’m the one who can’t forget a person like you
It’s just left me crying

If my love cools completely
Before I know it, left with this yearning hurt
The words wishing me to be well still remains
I can’t forget you
La la lala lalala lalala
Lalala lala lalalala
La la lala lalala lalala
Lalala lala lalalala

Leave a Reply

