Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/4/12

Just wanted to wish people a happy early Children’s Day or Cinco de Mayo.  Take your pick because they are one in the same to me.  It usually involves me drinking and running around like I’m a 5 year-old.  On to today’s playlist!

Despite hating the drama Lie to Me, there was one good thing that came out of it.  I discovered Hee Young.

When she first emigrated to the States at 16, she spent some time in Georgia which probably explains the acoustic, folk pop style of music she picked up.  “Are You Still Waiting?” has got that country twang to it and below is the music video for the English version.


Now she’s a Brooklynite but I don’t know if I can call her a fellow New Yorker just yet.  You gotta live here at least 10 years to be called that and I can spot a transplant from a mile away.  However with the release of her 2nd album, it does seem like she’s digested the New York vibe very well because it’s got this bittersweet, nostalgic sound to it.

Don’t let the slow pace of her music fool you.  While the city itself is always busy and bustling, her music reminds me of what the boroughs feel like in the spring and summertime.  The sun hasn’t quite set yet even though it’s 8 o’clock and you’re strolling through street fairs and thrift stores to find antique treasures.  Or you’re having dinner out in the courtyard of some restaurant where you can still hear the din of the city streets.  And yes, we always stroll around Brooklyn strumming our guitars.

The title song of her new album is “4 Luv” and I love the simplicity of the piano and guitar.  The song definitely has that Williamsburg vibe.  I guess that’s sort of the equivalent of Korea’s Hongdae scene.

She tends to release both English and Korean versions of her music and her English version is pretty much a straight translation of the Korean one except with some slight differences made to match the beat of the song.  Here’s hoping you all enjoy it because I think she deserves a wider audience.  Her music is very calming and reflective.

Hee Young – 4 Luv (Korean Ver.)


희영 – 4 Luv (Korean Ver.)

4 Luv (Korean Ver.)

난 모두 간직 할거야
네 사진 하나도
널 보고파지면 꺼내볼 테니까

내가 아무렇지 않게 널 잊을 거라고 한 말
넌 그대로 믿어버린 건 아니니

Hey, how are you
It’s been so long
우리가 달랐다면,
바뀔 수 있었다면
4 Luv

가까이, 그렇게 또 넌 멀리
날 혼자 외롭게 한 걸 알고 있니?
난 견딜 수 없는데

난 늘 모든 걸 진지하게 받아들인다고 한 널
그래, 널 장난처럼 잊을 테니까

Hey, how are you
It’s been so long
우리가 달랐다면,
바뀔 수 있었다면
4 Luv
Was there love?
4 Luv
Was there love?

사라진 모든 것만
잡으려고 하는 넌
Did you know
Can’t you see
My love
How are you
It’s been so long
우리가 달랐다면,
바뀔 수 있었다면
Who are you
It’s been so long
우리가 달랐다면,
바뀔 수 있었다면
4 Luv

4 Luv (Korean Ver.)

I save everything
One of your pictures
I’ll take it out when I’m missing you

When I said I’d forget you like it was nothing
Didn’t you just believe it?

Hey, how are you
It’s been so long
If we were different
If we could have changed
4 Luv

Close, but then again so far away
Do you know how lonely you made me feel?
I can’t bear it

You said that I always take things too seriously
Yeah, like a practical joke, I’ll forget you

Hey, how are you
It’s been so long
If we were different
If we could have changed
4 Luv
Was there love?
4 Luv
Was there love?

For something that’s completely disappeared
You’re trying to hold on
Did you know
Can’t you see
My Love
How are you
It’s been so long
If we were different
If we could have changed
Who are you
It’s been so long
If we were different
If we could have changed
4 Luv

Leave a Reply

