Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/11/12

I know I’m bad at representing female idol groups equally from the male idol groups in this post.  There have been song I liked but then I’d read the lyrics and it’d just be let down by them.  I don’t expect poetry every time I hear a song and read it’s lyrics but I’d like something to say about them if I’m going to commit to translating them.  But I’m happy to be representing a girl group this week, even if it’s the subgroup.  It’s SNSD’s TaeTiSeo.  It’s surprising that I find most of the album catchy as well.

So if you couldn’t guess from the name, TaeTiSeo consists of Tae Yeon, Tiffany and Seo Hyun.

There are just 3 members from the original 9 member group.

Speaking of which, who knew there was a major SNSD fan in my neighborhood.  I totally did a double take to make sure I wasn’t reading the license plate wrong.

I believe SNSD is new to this subgroup thing.  I’ve seen their fellow company artists, Super Junior, do the subunit thing but I have yet to see it from this group.

I’m not surprised that big groups like this do it though.  When you make a living from appearances and royalty fees and you have split those profits with your fellow members, it really doesn’t amount to much.  A lot of idol groups makes less money than an entry-level office worker.  So they make up for that by acting, doing commercials, OST tracks and these subgroups.

I really liked “안녕 (Good-bye, Hello)” on this album.  There’s a very retro feel to the music.  This song is advertised as having a shuffle rhythm.  Oookay.  Maybe but the beat kinda reminded me of Frank Sinatra’s “New York, New York” as I wanted to pull out my best Rockette move.  Their singing also reminded me a little of The Supremes and I could totally picture them doing coordinated moves behind some vintage mics.

Ahnyoung means both Hello and Good-bye in Korean.  It’s kind of like Aloha.  The song itself is about the day after a breakup and they’re beginning to realize the events of the night before.  They just aren’t ready to end things yet and believe that there’s enough there to resume the relationship.  Hence the dual meaning of Ahnyoung.

TaeTiSeo – 안녕 (Good-bye, Hello)

소녀시대-태티서 – 안녕 (Good-bye, Hello)

안녕 (Good-bye, Hello)

눈을 떠 아침이 노크해
잔뜩 흐린 어젯밤은 마치 없던 것처럼
say hello 있잖아
아직 남은 말이 너무 많은데
멍하게 니 사진만 보네

꼭 잡은 손 절대 놓지마
꼭 감은 눈 키스해줄래
다시 다시 태어나도 우리 만나서

영원히 함께 하자던 말
그 입술로 내게 말하던
마지막 안녕 이라는 말
우리에게 그런 안녕은 없어
(oh~ no never say good-bye hello)

이상해 잠이 오지 않고
제일 좋아하던 커피는 쓰고 달기만 한걸
괜찮아 괜찮아 한번쯤 누구나 겪는 일이야
자꾸만 혼잣말만 하네

둘이 함께 걷던 이 거리
오늘 따라 쓸쓸해 보여
같이 마치 영화 속의 주인공처럼
웃고 울던 어제로 시계를 돌려놔

안녕 hello 그 말만 해줘
안녕 good-bye 그 말은 하지마
우리에겐 그런 안녕은 없어

참 이상해
왜 더 사랑하는 사람이
왜 더 아파야 하는지
사랑이 나쁜거니
why, 니가 아닌 나인지
미안 내 어리석은 사랑을
why no never say good-bye hello

꼭 잡은 손 절대 놓지마
꼭 감은 눈 키스해줄래
다시 다시 태어나도 우리 만나서
영원히 함께 하자던 말

안녕 hello 그 말만 해줘
안녕 good-bye 그 말은 하지마
우리에겐 그런 안녕은 없어

hello
hello never say good-bye
hello

Good-bye/Hello

Open my eyes, the morning knocks
Super cloudy last night, it’s like it didn’t happen
Say hello, you know
We have a lot to say
Absentmindedly I just look at your photo

Don’t let go of the hand being held tight
Can you kiss my eyes that are closed tight?
Born again again, if we met

Saying let’s be together forever
With those lips you said to me
The words of our last good-bye
There’s no good-bye like that for us
(oh~ no never say good-bye hello)

It’s strange, I can’t fall asleep
The coffee I loved is bitter, used to be sweet
It’s okay, okay everyone experiences this once
I keep talking to myself

This street we use to walk together alone
Today of all days, it looks sad
Like being the main character in a movie
Laughing, crying, turn back the clock to yesterday

Hello, hello, just say those words to me
Good-bye, good-bye, don’t say those words to me
There’s no good-bye like that for us

It’s really strange
Why isn’t there someone who loves me more
Why do I have to hurt more?
Is love a bad thing?
Why, it’s not you, it’s me
Sorry, my silly love for you
Why no never say good-bye hello

Don’t let go of the hand being held tight
Can you kiss my eyes that are closed tight?
Born again again, if we met
Saying let’s be together forever

Hello, hello, just say those words to me
Good-bye, good-bye, don’t say those words to me
There’s no good-bye like that for us

hello
hello never say good-bye
hello

2 thoughts on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/11/12

  1. Haha! Totally agree with your assessment of the song. It’s a pretty easy to listen to and bob-your-head along with type of song. I actually visualize this as an accompanying song to a commercial for detergent or soap. This is totally based upon the melody of the song, as opposed to the lyrics.

    I do find personalized license plates interesting. So, when this person is 50 years old, his/her license will still read SNSD 9? LOL! That would be akin to my 16-yr old self asking for a personalized license plate showing my adoration for Duran Duran and still having that license plate today No, I’m not 50!. I would never hear the end of that from my family or friends!

    Like

  2. Thanks for introducing this song, I’m loving it. And I think SNSD did it right with setting up this subgroup, now we can actually hear their voices in full glory.

    Like

Leave a Reply

