Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/8/12

Last week, I read this post on allkpop. Those who watched Top Band 2 may already be familiar with this band.  Every week, allkpop promotes a segment on Arirang TV’s ‘Pops in Seoul‘ called KPOPULOUS. Each week, KPOPULOUS gathers ten experts in the music industry to give their opinion on their favorite K-Pop artists. The featured artist was Daybreak and I was curious to see what this indie group was all about.  Some of the artists who have praised this group include: Haha, Jung Yeop, and Alex (from Clazziquai).

Afterwards, I had to download their entire discography because I love their loungey, feel-good music. Listening to them is an instant mood booster.  Perhaps, I should alternate listening to their songs with Nell.  It’ll be the equivalent of taking an upper and then a downer.  Happy, sad, happy, sad.  Dilemma, this post is going to be really hard for me. I want to feature so many of their songs but I think I’ll go with the tracks they’re most known for.

They’re a modern rock group and rock is one of those genres of music that’s tricky because of its many subgenres. I think when it comes to rock and k-pop people tend to think of FT Island, CN Blue, OK PUNK!, Jaurim, YB or [insert k-rock band name here]. If I had to compare their style of music with another artist, I’d probably say Clazziquai and at times, 10cm. They also remind me of Sweet Sorrow but I think it’s because they’re another four-person group with that feel-good sound.  But none of these other groups are considered rock.

Their 1st album was released in 2007 but didn’t release a 2nd one until 2010.  The group is made up of four musicians: Lee Won Suk (Leader & Vocalist), Jeong Yu Jong (Guitarist), Kim Sun Il (Bassist), Kim Jang Won (Keyboardist).

The band started to receive recognition for a song that was on a mini album in 2010 called “좋다 (Like It)”.  They say it was written when they first formed the band but they didn’t include it in their first album.  It’s just a feel-good song about appreciating a loved one.  I absolutely love the beginning of the song with the guitar because it reminds me of the start to John Mayer’s “No Such Thing”.  (Remember when he used to be a good musician instead of tabloid fodder?  I tease.  Sidenote: I’m listening to John Mayer’s latest album, “Born and Raised”.  While it doesn’t make me gush, it’s a bit better than “Battle Studies”.  I just don’t love it as much as his earlier albums.)   “좋다 (Like It)” was also used in Mountia commercial, an outdoor apparel store, featuring Joo Won.  I can’t help but laugh at the beginning of this CF.

But it’s worth checking out the full version.

Daybreak – 좋다 (Like It)

데이브레이크(daybreak) – 좋다

좋다

사랑 노래가 너무 많아서
어떤 노래로 고백을 할까
처음 본 순간
I’m fall in love with you
미칠 것 같은데
널 사랑하는데

니가 있어 좋다
사랑해서 좋다
다른 말로 설명할 수 없는 이 기분
너무나도 좋다 너와 함께하는 이 순간
영원히 간직할 이 기분

멋진 말들로 꾸며댈수록
나의 마음을 가릴 것 같아
빼고 또 빼고 줄여갈수록
보석과도 같이 남아있는 이 한마디

좋다
사랑해서 좋다
다른 말로 설명할 수 없는 이 기분
너무나도 좋다 너와 함께하는 이 순간
영원히 간직할 이 기분

왠지 서툴러보이는 작은 두 글자로
나의 마음을 전할께

니가 있어 좋다
사랑해서 좋다
다른 말로 설명할 수 없는 이 기분
너무나도 좋다 너와 함께하는 이 순간
영원히 간직할 이 기분

Like it

There’s a lot of love songs
What song should I sing to confess to you?
The first moment I saw you
I’m fall in love with you
I think I’m going crazy
I’m in love with you

Because you’re here I like it
Because I love you I like it
Can’t explain it in other words, this feeling
Like it so much, sharing it with you, this moment
I’ll cherish it forever, this feeling

With charming words, concocting
Thinking I can hide my feelings
Remove, remove again, cutting it down
Like a gem, what’s left is this one phrase

Like it,
Because I love you I like it
Can’t explain it in other words, this feeling
Like it so much, sharing it with you, this moment
I’ll cherish it forever, this feeling

Somehow feeble looking, short, with two letters
Will my feeling come across

Because you’re here I like it
Because I love you I like it
Can’t explain it in other words, this feeling
Like it so much, sharing it with you, this moment
I’ll cherish it forever, this feeling

“들었다 놨다 (Lifted up and Let go)” is from their 2nd album, “Aurora” and the song is about the rollercoaster ride of emotions one can go through while being in a relationship. The band received criticism from fans because they repeat “lifted up and let go” about 48 times and fans wondered if they put any effort into writing the lyrics. However for Lee Won Suk, he feels that there is a different feeling behind those words each time he sings it.  I like the sounds of the brass instruments in this number as it makes these intimate emotions feel grand.  It’s like how people nitpick about the little things in a relationship and it develops into a big fight later.

Daybreak – 들었다 놨다 (Lifted up and Let go)

데이브레이크(daybreak) – 들었다 놨다

들었다 놨다

처음 너를 본 순간
정신 차릴 수 없어
내 마음을 들킬까봐
조심조심해

어떡하면 네 맘을
답답해진 내 맘을
쫄깃해진 심장이
나 어쩌면 좋아

가까워졌다 점점 멀어져가는
이상해
울다가 웃다
나 좀 내버려둬요 언제나
이랬다 저랬다 헷갈려
그-녀-는- 내 맘을

들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey 내 맘을
들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey 내 맘을
들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey 내 맘을
들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey

다시 너를 본 순간
차갑게 대해보려
애써 관심 없는
듯이 외면 했지만

너의 눈빛 하나에
너의 손짓 하나에
바짝바짝 말라버려 나의 입술은

멀어져갔다 다시 다가와주는
오늘도
울다가 웃다
점점 짜증이나요 언제나
이랬다 저랬다 헷갈려
그-녀-는- 내 맘을

들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey 내 맘을
들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey 내 맘을
들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey 내 맘을
들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey

오 어떡하면
그녀를 내 맘속에 가둬둘 수 있을까

내 맘을 들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey 내 맘을
들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey 내 맘을
들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey 내 맘을
들었다 놨다 들었다 놨다
들었다 놨다 hey

Lifted Up and Let Go

The first time I saw you
I couldn’t concentrate
That you wouldn’t discover my feelings
I was careful, careful

How do I, your heart
Growing impatient, my heart
My heart is being chewed out
What am I to do?

You come closer, then get farther away
It’s strange
You cry and then laugh
Leave me alone for awhile, always
Like this and like that, I’m confused
She—is–, My heart is

Lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go,
lifted up and let go, hey my heart is
Lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go,
lifted up and let go, hey my heart is
Lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go,
lifted up and let go, hey my heart is
Lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go,
lifted up and let go, hey

The next time I see you
I try being cold
Try to appear disinterested
like facing myself away from you

With just one look from you
With just one gesture from you
It becomes all dried up, my lips

You get further away, again draw near
Today
You cry and then laugh
Little by little I get annoyed, always
Like this and like that, I’m confused
She—is–, My heart is

Lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go,
lifted up and let go, hey my heart is
Lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go,
lifted up and let go, hey my heart is
Lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go,
lifted up and let go, hey my heart is
Lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go,
lifted up and let go, hey

Oh what can I do
to hold her in my heart?

My heart is lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go
lifted up and let go, hey my heart is
Lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go,
lifted up and let go, hey my heart is
Lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go,
lifted up and let go, hey my heart is
Lifted up and let go, lifted up and let go,
lifted up and let go, hey

From their latest album, “SPACEenSUM”, there’s the title track “SILLY”. Really, the reason I wanted to feature this song was because of the music video. It’s so cute and creative.

I love how the video plays with the concept of time. If you look carefully, the video reverses time because he’s made a mistake and then goes forward again with a different outcome.  The camera also plays with the focus and uses interesting angles and movement to portray the emotions contained in the lyrics of the song.  It’s about a shy guy who decides to confess his feelings for a girl over text message. Because he doesn’t know how to do it, he goes through several drafts on how to convey his feelings and he also worries that he might press send before he’s done writing it all out. In a lot of ways this song resembles “들었다 놨다 (Lifted up and let go)” but I found the video to be fun and unique and worth sharing.

데이브레이크(daybreak) – SILLY

SILLY

모자란 사랑 고백이라는 걸 알지만
어쩔 수 없이
내 맘을 전하고 싶어
휴대폰을 꺼내 용기를 내요

이미 저장된 그대 이름만 바라봐도
가슴이 떨려
통화버튼을 누르지도 못하고
금세 꺼버리죠

어떻게 해야 할까
한참 망설이다가
결국엔 문자로 보내기로 한
나의 마음은
Oh My Silly Love Messages For You
Messages For You

이미 커질 대로 커져버린
내 사랑을 담아내기엔
손바닥보다도 작은 휴대폰의 창은
좁디 좁아
투박하기 짝이 없는
나의 두 엄지로 꾹꾹 써 내려간
소심하게 누워있는 글자들을 보며
피식 웃음만

썼다가 지웠다가 한숨만 푹 쉬다가
혹시나 실수로 보내질까 봐
덜덜 떨리는
Oh My Silly Love Messages For You

그대 앞에 섰다가
아무 말 못할까 봐
혹시 머릿속이 하얘질까 봐
꾹꾹 써 내려간
Oh My Silly Love Messages For You

지질한 사랑 고백이라는 걸 알지만
지질한 사랑 고백이라는 걸 알지만

썼다가 지웠다가 한숨만 푹 쉬다가
혹시 실수로 보내질까 봐
덜덜 떨리는
Oh My Silly Love Messages For You

그대 앞에 섰다가
아무 말 못할까 봐
혹시 머릿속이 하얘질까 봐
꾹꾹 써 내려간
Oh My Silly Love Messages For You

SILLY

I know it’s a meager love confession
But without me knowing it
I want to tell her my feelings
I take out my cell phone and gather courage

When I see the already saved name
my heart trembles
I can’t even press call button
and immediately end it

How should I do it?
I hesitate for a long time
In the end, I decide to send a text
My feelings are
Oh My Silly Love Messages For You
Message For You

Already grown to the size it could ever grow
my love, but to be bottling it up
Smaller than my palm, the cell phone screen
Is narrow and narrow
Without a rough match
with my two thumbs I firmly type it down
Timidly, looking at the laid out characters
Just a giggle

Type it, then erase it, sighing deeply
By chance, should I send it by mistake
It’s making me tremble
Oh My Silly Love Message For You

If I’m standing in front of her
Just in case I can’t say anything
If my head goes blank
I securely write it down
Oh My Silly Love Message For You

I know it’s a silly love confession
I know it’s a silly love confession

Type it, then erase it, sighing deeply
By chance, should I send it by mistake
It’s making me tremble
Oh My Silly Love Message For You

If I’m standing in front of her
Just in case I can’t say anything
If my head goes blank
I securely write it down
Oh My Silly Love Messages For You

3 thoughts on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/8/12

  1. Certainly, I’m trying to get some response on my poll on my blog also create relationships with some media distributors to show them that an interview would be a good investment of their time. Please support it so then I can bring you some interviews :)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

