Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/15/12

Today, I’m in the mood for some singer-songwriters. Both Kim Ji Soo and Juniel got their initial recognition from being on singing competition programs.

While Juniel won Niji Iro Supernova, Kim Ji Soo only made it into the top 6 of Superstar K2.  He was eliminated during the Michael Jackson competition.  Perhaps it’s because he sang “Ben”?  I’m sorry but that love song for a mouse just creeps me out.  Eeeeh, no.  But don’t feel bad for him because he’s been busy, what with Dream High 2 and releasing his 2nd mini album.  Although Kim Ji Soo released his album at the end of May and Juniel released hers the first week of June, I really wanted to take my time listening to the tracks several times.

I first got wind of Kim Ji Soo through Unsung Byul’s post about the title song, “Vintage Man”.  The video is hilariously funny and I admit that I didn’t recognize him at first.  I always felt that he looked incredibly old amongst the other actors in Dream High 2 but he’s actually the same age as Kang Sora.

Today, I’m featuring Kim Ji Soo’s “고백 (Confession)”.  The song is about a guy that wants to confess to a girl he knows and he’s patiently waiting to hear her answer but that wait is agonizing.  I love that the acoustic song completely suits his soft, higher-pitched voice.  It’s very tender and you could hear how he delicately he approaches this confession.  Then when you get to the chorus, his voice sounds a little hurried.  Whereas there was this calm reflection before the confession, when he reaches this moment it’s awkward and clumsy and he wants to get it over with quickly like ripping off a band-aid.

Aww, can’t you just picture Hong Joo (Kim Ji Soo) singing this to Nana (Hyorin)?

Kim Ji Soo – 고백 (Confession)

김지수 – 고백

고백

사랑이란 한 걸음씩
조급하지 않게
때로는 과감하게
고백할 땐 두 걸음씩
조금 조급하게
때로는 창피하게

꽃냄새를 맡으며 머리를 넘기는
그대의 환상적인 옆모습은
부드럽거나 사랑스럽다
이 정도에 그치지 않고
고백을 하고 싶게 만들어

아주 조심스레 사랑을 말하고
그대 입술을 쳐다보며
나도 라고 말하는 그대 모습을 바란다

너와 나 사이가 너무나 어색해
빨리 대답 좀 해줬으면
생각 좀 해보겠다는 그대가 너무 얄밉다

온종일 기다리다 시곌 쳐다보는
초라하게 짝이 없는 내 모습은
불쌍하거나 많이 떨린다
이 정도에 그치지 않고
너에게 전활 걸게 만들어

아주 조심스레 사랑을 말하고
그대 입술을 쳐다보며
나도 라고 말하는 그대 모습을 바란다

너와 나 사이가 너무나 어색해
빨리 대답 좀 해줬으면
생각 좀 해보겠다는 그대가 너무 얄밉다

Please Tell me your mind
아프게는 하지 않아줬으면
Please Tell me your mind
미소 지으며 곱게 받아줬으면

아주 조심스레 사랑을 말하고
그대 입술을 쳐다보며
나도 라고 말하는 그대 모습을 바란다

너와 나 사이가 너무나 어색해
빨리 대답 좀 해줬으면
생각 좀 해보겠다는 그대가 너무 얄밉다

Confession

Love’s like one step at a time,
unhurried
At times, decisively
When you confess, it’s two steps at a time,
a little bit hurried
At times, embarrassingly

Smelling flowers, flipping your hair
Your dreamy side profile
Tenderly, lovingly
It doesn’t end at this point
You make me want to confess

Very carefully, I talk about my love
As I look at your lips
Hoping for the look that says you do too

It’s very awkward between you and I
If you could hurry up and respond
But it’s spiteful that you want to think a little about it

Waiting all day, looking at the clock
Abashedly single, I look
Either pitiful or extremely nervous
It doesn’t end at this point
You make me want to call you

Very carefully, I talk about my love
As I look at your lips
Hoping for the look that says you do too

It’s very awkward between you and I
If you could hurry up and respond
But it’s spiteful that you want to think a little about it

Please Tell me your mind
If you could please not hurt me
Please Tell me your mind
Smilingly, can you graciously accept me?

Very carefully, I talk about my love
As I look at your lips
Hoping for the look that says you do too

It’s very awkward between you and I
If you could hurry up and respond
But it’s spiteful that you want to think a little about it

On the flip side of confessing to someone you like, there’s the breakup song. “Everlasting Sunset” is more about the woulda, coulda, shoulda’s of the end of a relationship.  Her voice is reminiscent of IU as it’s high and sweet.  However, I’m surprised at the depth of her lyrics because it seems like there’s an old soul there.

The song reminds of looking at an overwhelmingly beautiful landscape portrait but instead of feeling happy it’s bittersweet.

Juniel – Everlasting Sunset

JUNIEL(주니엘) – Everlasting Sunset

Everlasting Sunset

니가 그려진 노을 진 길을 한참 바라보면
그리운 시간 속의
따뜻한 니가
내게 다가와
닿을 듯 하다 사라져가

흐려진 시간 짙어진 눈물과
떨어져 내리는 나뭇잎들 사이로
아득하게 넌 더 멀어져가
바보처럼 난 보고만 서 있어

그 때 만약에 난
그 손을 놓치지 않았다면 너와 나
지금 우리 모습 참 많이도 달라졌을 텐데

노랗게 번진 이 길을 걷다 보면
내게 남겨진 니 모습
지워질까
늘 너와 같이 손잡고
걷던 이 거리 속엔
and Everlasting sunset.

저물어가는 가을하늘이
너의 그림자를 조금씩 감싸 안아
희미하게 넌 또 사라져가
아무 말도 난 해줄 수 가 없어

그 때 만약 내가 솔직하게
널 붙잡았다면 다시 한번
다정한 니 모습 만날 수 있지 않았을까

노을이 번져가는 저 하늘 속에
눈물에 번진 내 마음 전해질까
아직도 너와 같이 걷고 있는 것만 같아
and Everlasting sunset

니가 사라진 그때 조용히
나의 눈앞에
남겨진 작은 추억 조각들
멈춰버린 시간에 희미하게 귓가엔
그대 Melody

노랗게 번진 이 길을 걷다 보면
내게 남겨진 니 모습
지워질까
언제나 같이 손잡고
걷던 이 거리 속엔
and Everlasting sunset

Everlasting Sunset

Taking a long look at the sunset road you’ve drawn
Lost inside that time I long for,
The warmhearted you
comes towards me
but disappears as you’re about to reach me

Those hazy times, streaming tears and
In between the falling leaves
The distant you gets farther away
Like an idiot I just stand and watch

What if then I
didn’t let go of your hand, you and I
We would have looked very different now

Walking on this road that’s turned yellow
The image of you that’s stayed with me,
will it be erased?
Eternally holding hands with you
on this path we walked
and Everlasting sunset

The fall sky that’s coming to a close
Slowly embracing the shadows of you
Unnoticeably, you disappear again
You don’t even say anything to me

What if then I honestly
held onto you, once again
could I’ve been able to see your friendly face?

The spreading sunset over the sky
Will it convey the feelings of my flowing tears
Still feel like I’m walking with you
and Everlasting sunset

You quietly vanished then
In my sights,
remains of small fragments of memories
Frozen in time, faintly by my ears
Your Melody

Walking on this road that’s turned yellow
The image of you that’s stayed with me,
will it be erased?
Always holding hands with you
on this path we walked
and Everlasting sunset

Leave a Reply

