Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/6/12

I was beginning to think that maybe I was biased against girl idol groups but it seems they’ve all been waiting until the summer to release fangirl worthy albums.  This week it’s Sistar.  They’re out with a mini summer album and the title track is “Loving U”.

Before I get to the featured song in this week’s playlist, you should know that most of the songs on the album are remixed versions of Sistar’s past hits.  A lot of the times I prefer the original over the remixed version because I don’t think the remixed versions add a unique auditory element to the track.  But I think the remix job here was done extremely well and it deserves a listen.

Besides “Loving U,” “Holiday” is the only other original track and I really do like the song.  It’s very catchy and most of the song is in English.  I have no problem with that but the lyrics are very repetitive but are also reminiscent of a bunch of other songs, including one of their own.  Some songs that come to mind after reading the lyrics are: Madonna’s “Holiday,” Sistar’s “So Cool” and Miryo’s “Party Rock”.  (Actually, one of the voices kinda sounds like Miryo, too.)  I have no problem when artists take certain elements of another person’s song and remake it into their own but here, the lack of creativity with the lyrics was disappointing and therefore didn’t want to feature the lyrics portion of the track here.  However, the melody is appealing.

Sistar – Holiday

씨스타 – Holiday (홀리데이)

It’s not the first time I was disappointed by their lyrics.  “가식걸 (‘Shady Girl’ or more accurately, ‘Fake Girl’)” is a disappointing lyric read.  Perhaps I was supposed to take the song as ironic but instead my inner-feminism instincts kicked in.  That doesn’t mean that I didn’t love the song as this was the hit that made me like Sistar in the first place.  I just ended up trying to ignore the lyrics.  Aaah, conflicted!  It’s just not a very girl-power inducing song when you read those lyrics backed by a cutesy melodic track.

Back to the positive aspects of Sistar, “Loving U” is fun, sexy and incredibly cute song.  It’s what they do well.

The girls filmed the video in Hawaii and it totally represents the fun in the sun, summer lovin’ aspects of youth.

씨스타 – Loving U (러빙유)

Loving U (러빙유)

Hey 참 이상해 정말 strange
이런 적 없었는데
널 볼때마다 나 두근두근 떨리는게

When I see your face 혼자 막 상상을 해
나 표정 관리 안돼
미칠 것 같아
또 니가 니가 보고 싶어서

I wanna say woo woo woo woo yeh
너 땜에 그래
먼저 말하긴 싫은데
내 입가에 맴돌아

Loving U U 나 어떡해 what should I do?
조절이 안돼 내 맘 고장 나버린 heart
정신 못 차릴 만큼
Boy I’m falling in love with U U
나 어떡해 what should I do?

널 놓치면 난 안돼 사랑한다고
Woo woo woo woo woo
Woo woo woo woo woo woo
Baby I’m in love with you

ok let’s talk about love
모두 휘파람을 불며
어머나 나를 꼬시려고 했던
남자들 이젠 모두 안녕
내 애교석인 목소리는
오빠만 부를래 (오빠야)
어쩌면 좋아 내가 사랑에 빠졌나 봐

Woo woo woo woo yeh
너 땜에 그래
먼저 말하긴 싫은데
내 입가에 맴돌아

Loving U U 나 어떡해 what should I do?
조절이 안돼 내 맘 고장 나버린 heart
정신 못 차릴 만큼
Boy I’m falling in love with U U~
나 어떡해 what should I do?

널 놓치면 난 안돼 사랑한다고
Woo woo woo woo woo
Woo woo woo woo woo woo
Baby I’m in love with you

애타는 내 맘 너무 기나긴 밤
숨겨왔던 너를 향한 말
사랑해

Baby I’m in love with U U
나 어떻게 해 What should I do
조절이 안돼 내 맘 고장 나버린 heart

정신 못 차릴 만큼
Boy I’m falling in love with U
나 어떡해 what should I do?

널 놓치면 난 안돼 사랑한다고
Woo woo woo woo woo
Baby I’m in love with you

Hello Hello 눈이 마주치면
L. O. L. O. V. E 나는 말해
멜로 멜로
우린 L. O. L. O. V. E. L. O. L. O. V. E

I only think about U U

Loving U

Hey, It’s just so strange, really strange
I was never like this before
Whenever I see you, I tremble thump-thump

When I see your face, I just fantasize to myself
Can’t control the expression on my face
I’m about to go insane
Again I want to see you, you

I wanna say woo woo woo woo yeh
It’s because of you,
I didn’t want to be the first one to say it
The corners of my mouth are curling up

Loving U U What am I to do? What should I do?
Can’t regulate my heart, broken down heart
I just can’t think straight
Boy I’m falling in love with U U
What am I to do? What should I do?

I just can’t bear losing you, I love you
Woo woo woo woo woo
Woo woo woo woo woo woo
Baby I’m in love with you

ok let’s talk about love,
everyone’s whistling
Oh! How much you chased me
Now to all the other men, goodbye
My cutesy voice
I just want to sing it for my oppa (Hey, oppa)
What to do? I must have fallen in love

Woo woo woo woo yeh
It’s because of you,
I didn’t want to be the first one to say it
The corners of my mouth are curling up

Loving U U What am I to do? What should I do?
Can’t regulate my heart, broken down heart
To the point where I can’t think straight
Boy I’m falling in love with U U~
What am I to do? What should I do?

I just can’t bear losing you, I love you
Woo woo woo woo woo
Woo woo woo woo woo woo
Baby I’m in love with you

My heart is anxious, the night is way too long
Hidden, the words I want to send your way,
I love you

Baby I’m in love with U U
What am I to do? What should I do
Can’t regulate my heart, broken down heart

To the point where I can’t think straight
Boy I’m falling in love with U
What am I to do? What should I do?

I just can’t bear losing you, I love you
Woo woo woo woo woo
Baby I’m in love with you

Hello Hello, when I meet your eyes
L. O. L. O. V. E is what I say
Melo melo
We are L. O. L. O. V. E. L. O. L. O. V. E

I only think about U U

Leave a Reply

