Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/13/12

Happy Friday the 13th!  Today I’m featuring two tracks that inspired me from current dramas.  One’s on the OST, the other one isn’t.  Both have got that acoustic-y sound to it.

I heard “I Won’t Give Up” several months ago… I think it was on TV somewhere.  Immediately I thought, ‘Great!  Damien Rice came out with a new album.’  I looked online to see that he didn’t.  Womp, womp.  Recently, I was online searching for American music and this Jason Mraz album was recommended for me so I clicked on “I Won’t Give Up” and lo and behold, it was him.

It was surprising because I’m so used to him being this singer-songwriter that isn’t really somber.  With tracks like “The Remedy,” “Lucky” and “I’m Yours,” I just didn’t expect this sound from him.  I like those other songs but there is something about Damien Rice’s music and this track that makes you reflect.  I originally wasn’t going to feature this song as the album came out several months ago but I heard it this Wednesday in Episode 13 of I Do, I Do.  It was just meant to be.  Don’t you love it when universes collide?

The melody is haunting but it’s not meant to bring your spirits down completely.  It’s about a 2nd chance and I love how simple the song starts off.  A little strumming on the guitar and Jason Mraz’s soft voice singing about the beauty that surrounds him.  A piano chimes in and the song begins to crescendo until it swells, indicating that he’s not going to give up.  His argument is convincing.

Jason Mraz – I Won’t Give Up

Jason Mraz – I Won’t Give Up

I Won’t Give Up

When I look into your eyes
It’s like watching the night sky
Or a beautiful sunrise
There’s so much they hold
And just like them old stars
I see that you’ve come so far
To be right where you are
How old is your soul?

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up

And when you’re needing your space
To do some navigating
I’ll be here patiently waiting
To see what you find

‘Cause even the stars they burn
Some even fall to the earth
We’ve got a lot to learn
God knows we’re worth it
No, I won’t give up

I don’t wanna be someone who walks away so easily
I’m here to stay and make the difference that I can make
Our differences they do a lot to teach us how to use
The tools and gifts we got yeah, we got a lot at stake
And in the end, you’re still my friend at least we did intend
For us to work we didn’t break, we didn’t burn
We had to learn how to bend without the world caving in
I had to learn what I’ve got, and what I’m not
And who I am

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up
Still looking up.

I won’t give up on us (no I’m not giving up)
God knows I’m tough enough (I am tough, I am loved)
We’ve got a lot to learn (we’re alive, we are loved)
God knows we’re worth it (and we’re worth it)

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up

_____________________________________________________


Next up, is Lee Jong Hyun from CN Blue who is currently in the drama A Gentleman’s Dignity.

I have to confess as to not really recognizing Lee Jong Hyun.  He looked familiar but I didn’t put two and two together until Jung Yong Hwa appeared in Episode 13 this past weekend.

I originally only knew of Jung Yong Hwa and the Avatar kid.  (Jung Shin!  See, I even had to google his name.  His nickname is Avatar.)  Min Hyuk, I got to know because of You’ve Fallen for Me and I guess Jong Hyun now rounds out the group.

Lee Jong Hyun sings “내 사랑아 (My Love)” for the OST and he sung it in last weekend’s episode of the drama.  It’s an interesting song for his character since Colin has been in search of his biological father.  My, my, he sounds so mature in this song.

It’s kinda funny that the first song he sings in Hongdae is the theme song to Dooly.  And he follows it up with this song which is so incredibly deep.  It’s another song about holding on to love.  Though he may not physically hang on to the person, they’ll remain in his heart.  The song is kinda sad and then when he hits the chorus, you feel as if there’s a light at the end of the tunnel.  Even without really paying attention to the words, he characterizes it with his voice.

Below is the full version:

Lee Jong Hyun – 내 사랑아 (My Love)

이종현 [CNBLUE] – 내 사랑아

내 사랑아

창밖에 비가 내리면
감춰둔 기억이 내 맘을 적시고

잊은 줄 알았던 사람
오히려 선명히 또 다시 떠올라

내 사랑아 사랑아 그리운 나의 사랑아
목놓아 불러보지만
듣지도 못하는 사랑

내 사랑아 사랑아 보고픈 나의 사랑아
그대 이름만으로도 베인 듯
아픈 사랑아 내 사랑아

창가에 어둠이 오면
숨겨 논 추억이 내 맘을 밝히네

내 사랑아 사랑아 그리운 나의 사랑아
목놓아 불러보지만
듣지도 못하는 사랑

내 사랑아 사랑아 보고픈 나의 사랑아
그대 이름만으로도 베인 듯
아픈 사랑아 내 사랑아

우리 함께 웃음 지었던 순간
우리 함께 눈물 흘렸던 순간
이제 그만 보내지만

내 사랑아 사랑아 고마운 나의 사랑아
내 전부 다 지운대도
가슴에 남겨질 사랑

내 사랑아 사랑아 소중한 나의 사랑아
내 숨이 다 할 때까지 간직할
나의 사랑아 내 사랑아

My Love

As the rain fall outside the window
The concealed recollections drench my heart

A person I thought was forgotten
Definitively, I’m reminded again

My love, my love, longing for my love
Calling out with all my strength,
a love that can’t hear me

My love, my love, missing my love
Just your name alone cuts me
Hurt love, my love

When the window grows dark
The hidden memories reveals my heart

My love, my love, longing for my love
Calling out with all my strength,
a love that can’t hear me

My love, my love, missing my love
Just your name alone cuts me
Hurt love, my love

The moments when we both smiled together
The moments when we both cried together
Now stop, I let it go but

My love, my love, thankful for my love
Though my all is erased,
a love that remains in my heart

My love, love my precious love
Until my last breath, I’ll treasure you
My love, my love

2 thoughts on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/13/12

  1. I was in Hongdae the whole day when they filmed the scene with Lee Jong Hyun singing… I can’t believe I missed an opportunity to see a drama filming -_- Anyways, I adore Jong Hyun’s voice just as much as Yong Hwa’s. I’ve always found his voice to be softer and smoother, but still just as awesome 🙂 I love that the drama made use of his talents (since acting is clearly not one of his lol).

    Like

    • Haha, it’s okay. He’s cute and he’s not the lead or even one of the main supportings so he gets by with his looks. Hehe. It’s funny but I think he can act better when he’s singing but he looks awkward in all the other scenes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

