Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/20/12

I think it’s time to take another trip down old school lane.  Jinusean sings one of my most favorite K-pop songs of all time.  But more on that in a moment.

Jinusean is a hip-hop duo from the YG Family.  The name comes from the names of the members: Kim Jinu and Sean Noh.  They first debuted in 1998 with “Gasoline” but that track sounds decidedly like a Seotaiji and the Boys song.  I can feel Yang Hyun Suk’s fingerprints all over it.  Well, more like his entire DNA imprint is in it.

I think “말해죠 (Tell Me)” featuring Uhm Jung Hwa started to define some of their own style more.  It features their fast rapping and blends a great hook with it.  All in all, it’s a fun, catchy song.  Oh god, now that I’m watching the video I remember totally doing the dance too.

On their 3rd album in 1999, they did a remake of the Bee Gee’s “How Deep is Your Love”.  This is one of my favorite K-Pop songs of all time.  Hmm, I suppose it’s not fair to just call it a K-Pop song as it’s a hybrid of an American classic with a K-Pop hip-hop track.  However, it’s timeless because no matter how much time goes by, I can still play it and it still sounds fresh to me.  I had even gotten some friends into K-Pop music because of it.  As “How Deep is Your Love” is a medium slow track, the rap instantly adds a youthful, energetic vibe to the song.

Oooh, I was going to show the music video but I changed my mind.  The music video totally ages the song and not in a good way.  If you’re really that curious, click here. Though some of these pictures will give an indication of what you can expect.  Sorry Sean, but that bob-lengthed hair of yours makes me cringe!

Jinusean – How Deep is Your Love

지누션 (Jinusean) – How Deep Is Your Love

How Deep is Your Love

(UH! UH!)
그토록 해맑았던 너의 그 미소
까만 먹구름에 쌓인 내게로
살며시 내게 다가온 그대와의 노래로
우린 하나라는 느낌을 느끼고
사랑은 언제나 내 맘속에 (영원한)
그저 태지 말대로 너와 (함께 한)
시간들 속에서 포근해 지는 것
everyday to the J and I keeps it hot
can you get with that
소중한 넌 나의 ticket
힘들던 나의 삶에 고통을 잊게
(slow down sean)
세상에서 무엇보다도
내가 너를 좋아하게 된 이유
너무나 긴 방황의 길
그곳으로 내게 손을 내민
너의 손길
그대 왜 내게 이렇게 늦게 다가왔나
사랑해요 my love

I know your eyes in the morning sun
I feel you touch me in the pouring rain
and the moment that you wandered
far from me
I wanna feel you in my arms again
how deep is your love

너만을 간직한
내 가슴만큼 커다란 슬픔
영원한 것이 될까 너의 마음
변하진 않았을까 얼마나 많은
사랑이 남아있나 불안한 지금
이 모든 게 쓸데없는 고민들
이젠 믿음만이 내 모든 아픔을
다 지워졌나 언제나 그건 반드시
절대로 변치 않듯이
널 지켜줄게
너의 두 눈 속에서 살아갈게
언제나 같이 할게 (WHAT WHAT)
너와 하나 맞나
내 인생에서 사는 이유하나 (UH!)
빛이 돼 나를 밝혀 줘
또 부셔 줘 너를 위해서
혹시 다른 곳 다시 태어난대도
오직 내겐 너 하나

And you come to me on a summer breeze
keep me warm in your love
then you softly leave
and it’s me you need to show
how deep is your love

how deep is your love
how deep is your love
I really need to learn
cause we’re living in a world of fools
breaking us down
when they all should let us be
we belong to you and me

Uh! you hold me the key to my heart
uh! yo! and we can never be apart
boo we’ll ride, ride, dip and dive
take you to a place as I’m by your side
uh! two hearts falling deep inside
uh! from start let me make you glide
cause you got me open wide

And you may not think I care for you
when you know down inside
that I really do
and it’s me you need to show
how deep is your love

how deep is your love
how deep is your love
I really need to know
(how deep is your love, how deep)
cause we’re living in a world of fools
breaking us down
when they all should let us be
we belong to you and me
I believe in you

How Deep is Your Love

(UH! UH!)
Always the brightest, your smile
Shadowed by dark clouds towards me
Slowly approaching me with her song
Feeling the feeling that we’re one
Love is always in my heart (forever)
Like Taiji had said, with you (together)
All those times, we’d been cozy
everyday to the J and I keeps it hot
can you get with that
You’re important, my ticket
Through all the hard times, forgotten my pain
(slow down sean)
More than anything in this world
It’s the reason why I liked you
So long, that wandering road
The place where I put out my hand
Your helping hand
Why’d it take you so long to approach me like this?
I love you, my love

I know your eyes in the morning sun
I feel you touch me in the pouring rain
and the moment that you wandered
far from me
I wanna feel you in my arms again
how deep is your love

Treasuring no one else but you
The great sadness that’s as big as my heart
Will it last forever? Your feelings
Won’t it change? How much
love is left? Ill-at-ease now
All of this is pointless worry
Now it’s just faith, all of my pain
has it been erased, always without fail
as it’ll never, ever change
I’ll stand by you
I live on through your eyes
Always I’ll be with you (WHAT WHAT)
Meeting someone like you
is one of the reasons for me living my life (UH!)
Be a light and light my way
and humble me for your sake
If you were born again in a different place
To me, always, you’re my one and only

And you come to me on a summer breeze
keep me warm in your love
then you softly leave
and it’s me you need to show
how deep is your love

how deep is your love
how deep is your love
I really need to learn
cause we’re living in a world of fools
breaking us down
when they all should let us be
we belong to you and me

Uh! you hold me the key to my heart
uh! yo! and we can never be apart
boo, we’ll ride, ride, dip and dive
take you to a place as I’m by your side
uh! two hearts falling deep inside
uh! from start let me make you glide
cause you got me open wide

And you may not thing I care for you
when you know down inside
that I really do
and it’s me you need to show
how deep is your love

how deep is your love
how deep is your love
I really need to know
(how deep is your love, how deep)
cause we’re living in a world of fools
breaking us down
when they all should let us be
we belong to you and me
I believe in you

Leave a Reply

