Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/3/12

I don’t know if it’s because of Answer Me 1997 but it seems like reminiscing is the It thing these days.  In this week’s playlist, it’s going to be all about reminiscing but in different ways.  One is a new song and the other is an old one.

This one is a sad story.  Singer Seo Ji Won (neé Park Byung Chul) was a ballad singer in the 90’s.  I was reminded of him when they played one of his songs on this week’s broadcast of Answer Me 1997.  (Is it just me or does Jo Kwon from 2AM resemble him?)  He debuted in 1994 when he was 18 years old and received a lot of attention for his voice.  Unfortunately, he couldn’t handle the pressures of fame and committed suicide on New Years in 1996 just shy of the release of his 2nd album.  He was only 19 years old.

I got to know his singing through this 2nd album and my favorite is still “내 눈물 모아 (Pooling My Tears)”.  It’s a lovely song to play on the piano and it was the number one song across all the music programs at that time.  Oooh, I just learned this today.  It looks like the song was composed by Jung Jae Hyung who became a household name recently for appearing on variety shows, most notably Infinity Challenge.  He currently hosts You and I with Lee Hyo Ri.  This was the first time that he was commissioned to compose music for someone else besides for himself and Seo Ji Won personally asked Jung Jae Hyung to compose this song.  His death was so traumatic that he still gets nervous anytime someone commissions him to compose a new song.

To listen to the full song, click here:

Seo Ji Won – 내 눈물 모아

서지원 – 내 눈물 모아

However, I wanted to feature “I Miss You” today.  They played this song towards the end of Answer Me 1997 as Dae Woong, Yoon Jae’s brother, reminisces about his past.  Seo Ji Won’s songs in general always make me a little sad but this was the song that his fans used to name his fanpage.  If you get to the end of the episode, you’ll see why the drama used this song.

Seo Ji Won – I Miss You

서지원 – I Miss You

I Miss You

처음엔 넌 줄 알았지
너와 모든 것이 닮아서
그런 나를 모르고 다가서는 그애를
상처때문에 나는 피했지만
이제는 나도 모르게
그애와 가까워지고
흔들리는 마음을 점점 알수가없어
두려움이 앞선 미안함
문득 너와 같이 있는 착각에
너의 이름을 불렀지
우연히 그애의 옆모습을 볼때면
왜 난 목이 메일까~~
저 하늘에서 긴 잠을 잘 너이기에
I miss you
더욱 그리운데
이런날 안타깝게 보고있다면
내게 길을 가르쳐줘

문득 너와 같이 있는 착각에
너의 이름을 불렀지
우연히 그 애의 옆모습을 볼때면
왜 난 목이 메일까
저 하늘에서 긴잠을 너이기에
I miss you
I miss you
더욱 그리운데
이런 날 안타깝게 보고 잇다면
내게 길을 가르쳐줘

그앨 정말 좋아하나
너를 닮아서 사랑하나
흔들리는 마음은 점점 알수가 없어
두려움이 앞선 미안함
두려움이 앞선 미안함

I Miss You

At first I thought it was you
Everything about her resembled you
Without understanding that, I approached her
But because of hurt feelings, I avoided it
Now without knowing it
I got closer to her
Increasingly not understanding my wavering feelings
Fear foreshadowing my regrets
I suddenly mistakenly thought you were with me
And I called out your name
By chance if I saw her profile
Why did I have a lump in my throat
To you, who is sleeping a long sleep in heaven
I miss you
More and more I long for you
Sadly, if you are watching me on this day
Teach me which path to walk

I suddenly mistakenly thought you were with me
And I called out your name
By chance if I saw her profile
Why do I have a lump in my throat~~
To you, who is sleeping a long sleep in heaven
I miss you
I miss you
More and more I long for you
Sadly, if you are watching me on this day
Teach me which path to walk

Do I really like her?
Because she resembles you, do I love her?
Increasingly not understanding my wavering feelings
Fear foreshadowing my regrets
Fear foreshadowing my regrets

_____________________________________________________

However, I don’t want to end on a sad note so… Psy. I don’t understand it. I just don’t get why Psy is so popular.

Sure, he’s funny but I think he’d be better as a variety show personality or comedian rather than a pop singer. I just don’t get Korea’s fascination with him. He’s not great looking and I think his songs are just okay. But okay I’ll go with it only because he does look like he’s having fun doing… whatever he’s does.

Although, even American starsBritish stars and Gawker are digging Psy’s “Gangnam Style”. I am sorry but there is no way you’ll ever catch me doing this dance.  The lasso?  Really?  Lol.  I have to say the music video is worth watching until the end because Psy and Yoo Jae Suk have a nice little dance battle.  Of course, Yoo Jae Suk has about 5 different dance steps that he recycles.

However, I do think that Psy is feeling a bit nostalgic as well, especially with his fellow 77-line (Born in 1977).  I do like the song and even better I like that he collaborated with Leessang and Kim Jin Pyo (formerly from the duo, Panic). While Gary technically isn’t in the 77-line, he’s allowed to call the other dudes his friends instead of hyung because he was born in early 1978. FYI, the song’s a bit raunchy and makes use of a lot of slang.

Psy – 77학개론 (Feat. 리쌍, 김진표) (An Introduction to ’77 (Feat. Leessang, Kim Jin Pyo))

싸이 – 77학개론 (Feat. 리쌍, 김진표)

77학개론

1977년 12월 31일 박싸이
1977년 12월 24일 길성준
1977년 8월 13일 김진표
1978년 2월 24일 강개리

나이는 어려 보이지 않으려는
노력 오히려
영락없는 고삐리 원하는 건
대삐리 언니와의 하룻밤의 사랑을
찾아 방랑자
맥주에 노가리 야리와 따가리
포카리에 소주 타면
뻑가리 분위기 타면
비디오방 분위기 오방
비디오는 못봐 후루룩 짭짭하다
영화 끝나 무질서한 낙서
젊음을 막 써
이쁜이 손끝만 닿아도
그땐 막서
딱딱하게 말하지마 네가 나를
딱딱하게 만들었잖아
첫 담배는 아찔해
첫키스는 달콤해
첫 섹스는 강렬해
얼떨결에 시작했던
설레었던 것들
이제 익숙한 것들

Do you Remember Do you Remember
그땐 그저 그렇게 모든 게 설레었었네
Do you Remember Do you Remember
이젠 그저 모든 게 다 익숙해졌네 Oh No

흘러가는 시간 속에 속에
나의 모습 찾을 수가 없어 없어
나를 돌아봐줘 그대여 나를 돌아봐
아직 우린 젊기에

이쁜 여자만 보면 모두 내 깔이지
너 쟤랑 잤어
당근 얄짤이지
입만 살아서는 반코 한코
경험은 졸 많고 가리지도 않고
하지만 사실은 새빨간 다 구라
현실은 세운상가서
사온 빨간 마후라
거친 화면에도 우린 탁 탁 탁
그리고 한 가지 더 힙 합 합 합
똥싼 바지 통 큰 바지 골반까지
우린 무리지어 길거린 다 내차지
걷는 폼도
절룩이며 리듬을 타고
문나이트 뻰찌먹고 앉아
야리를 까도
내가 틱탁 하면 Get on stop
내가 라리다리 하면 We like to party
오에오 하면 오에오에오

Do you Remember Do you Remember
그땐 그저 그렇게 모든 게 설레었었네
Do you Remember Do you Remember
이젠 그저 모든 게 다 익숙해졌네 Oh No

흘러가는 시간 속에 속에
나의 모습 찾을 수가 없어 없어
나를 돌아봐줘 그대여 나를 돌아봐
아직 우린 젊기에

말 그대로 어느 날 갑자기
나와 뜬 서태지와 아이들
10대들의 맘을 잡아 끈 음악과 춤
학교가 끝나면
한 손엔 더블테크 들고
놀이터에서
춤을 추는 게 하루의 끝
좀 있는 놈들은 케빈 클라인 아님 게스
없는 놈들은 삥뜯거나 아님 거덜이
말 안 들으면 존나게 팼어
그때는 겁만 주면
뭐든지 다 됐어
디스코 바지
앞이 뾰족한 알라딘 신발을 신고
놀러갔지 일일 찻집
눈 맞으면
다른 동네 깔치와 깔식
야리 한 까치 돌려 피며 하는 올림픽
친구들과 얘기하다 보면 다 서로 동서
그냥 웃어 비 오는 밤에 함께했던
한 소녀와의 첫 키스
그처럼 그리움이 되어버린 모든 것들

Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah
그때 그 시절

Do you Remember Do you Remember
그땐 그저 그렇게 모든게 설레었었네
Do you Remember Do you Remember
이젠 그저 모든 게 다 익숙해졌네 Oh No

흘러가는 시간 속에 속에
나의 모습 찾을 수가 없어 없어
나를 돌아봐줘 그대여 나를 돌아봐
아직 우린 젊기에

An Introduction to ‘77

1977, December 31st, Park Psy
1977, December 24th, Gil Sung Joon
1977, August 13th, Kim Jin Pyo
1978, February 24th, Kang Gary

Looking young for my age
is something I actually try not to do
But the thing a derelict high schooler wants
A one night stand with a college girl
A roaming seeker
Beer with dried pollack, cigs and lighter
Pocari mixed with soju
When we go with the flow,
it’s high with the video room atmosphere
Can’t watch the video, slurping and salty
Movie ends, disorganized scribbling,
I write down my youth
Just by a pretty girl’s fingertips touching,
that’s when I really write
Though I talk harshly, to me you’re the one
That made me harsh
My first cigarette made me dizzy,
My first kiss was sweet
My first sex was intense
Started on impulse,
the things that made me nervous
Now I’m used to it

Do you Remember Do you Remember
Back then everything made me so nervous
Do you Remember Do you Remember
Now I’ve gotten used to everything Oh No

Within the passing time, within
Can’t find myself, can’t
Look back at me please, look back at me
We’re still young

When I see pretty girls, they’re all mine
Did you sleep with her?
Of course, without a doubt
I’m a smooth talker, inching closer
I have tons of experience and I don’t hide it
However truthfully, they’re downright lies
In reality, we went to Seun Arcade
and bought Red Muffler the movie
Even during the wild scenes, we tak, tak, tak
And one more thing, hip-hop, hop, hop
Crapped pants, wide legged pant, down to the hips
Bunched together, we kick everyone off the streets
The way we walk,
it’s a limp and we ride the rhythm
At the Moon Nightclub, we take over the bench
And light up a smoke
When I say tick tock, Get on stop
When I say ladidadi, We like to party
When I say oh yeah, Oh yeah Oh

Do you Remember Do you Remember
Back then everything made me so nervous
Do you Remember Do you Remember
Now I’ve gotten used to everything Oh No

Within the passing time, within
Can’t find myself, can’t
Look back at me please, look back at me
We’re still young

Like you said, suddenly one day
Seotaiji and the Boys debuted and was popular
They captured teen’s hearts with song and dance
When school ended,
I took my boombox with one hand
to the playground
and spent the whole day dancing
The cool guys wore Calvin Klein or Guess
The lame guys either rip you off or break down
If they didn’t listen, I beat the crap out of them
Back then if you just intimidated them,
you could do anything
Disco pants
and wearing pointed Aladdin shoes
Went to the teahouse everyday
If our eyes met,
a girlfriend from another town and my boy
Like a cigarette, rotate her like an Olympic sport
Talking to friends I realize we’re all alike
Just smile, on a rainy night
A first kiss with a girl
Like that, I’ve come to yearn for everything

Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah
Back then, those times

Do you Remember Do you Remember
Back then everything made me so nervous
Do you Remember Do you Remember
Now I’ve gotten used to everything Oh No

Within the passing time, within
Can’t find myself, can’t
Look back at me please, look back at me
We’re still young

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/3/12

Leave a Reply

