[Review] I Do, I Do – 아이두 아이두

Hello peoples!  Chunkeemonkeeato here.  There’s a new reviewer on the block.  Say hello to Mok who will be giving her impressions on Kim Sun Ah’s latest drama, I Do, I Do.  Read, comment, fangirl.  Since I have also seen this drama, I’ll be giving some of my impressions at the bottom but I’ll keep it short.  You know how I tend to go on.  Enjoy!

YES, I DO!

It’s good that I came into the series with pretty low expectations, with nothing but adoration for Kim Sun Ah fueling my desire to watch it. I readily dismissed it as a breezy rom-com about a one night stand gone wrong, but found it to be quite a rewarding and a thought-provoking watch.

I Do, I Do tells the story of an alpha female, Hwang Ji An (Kim Sun Ah), who gets more than what she bargained for from a beta male, Park Tae Kang (Lee Jang Woo) after a drinking session leaves them both dead drunk which they punctuated with a steamy, one night stand.

The Upsides

The main couple is endearing. The chemistry is sizzling; bickering but not annoying.

I know that Kim Sun Ah has this uncanny ability of forging convincing chemistry with any of her onscreen partners (I won’t be surprised if she still sizzles even when paired with a tree stump), but Lee Jang Woo was able to hold his own against Sun Ah’s acting chops.

I am also pleased that the drama touched on some sensitive issues, abortion and single motherhood, knowing how South Korea could be so conservative a society. It’s not everyday that we come across a drama that tackles these issues, and handled them quite deftly at that.

I don’t know about other people, but I find the relationship between Tae-Kang and his dad so adorable. Tae Kang’s earnestness is just soooo swoon-worthy and at times reminiscent of another very earnest character, Eun Shi Kyung in The King 2 Hearts. Too bad the real world isn’t that heavily populated with men like them.

The Downsides

Ji An and Eun Sung’s (Park Gun Hyung) chemistry was kinda cute in the first three or so episodes. In fact, I was teetering over the edge of second-lead syndrome. Then, Episode 7 happened and he started to become creepier by each episode. His creepiness is just so infuriating that I want to hurl the remote control at the TV every time he’s onscreen. I’m still confused on how his character transformed from creepy doctor to creepy best friend doctor *shivers*.

I also felt that the evil second leads, Eun Sung and Yeom Na Ri (Im Soo Hyang) to be quite poorly written and lacking in depth. I’m sure that the story could have fleshed out a tad more story from each of them.

All the business hullaballoo dragged the series for several episodes. The drama could have done so much better without these and instead could have just focused on Ji An’s and Tae Kang’s road to parenthood and self-actualization.

All in all, the good definitely outweighs the bad in I Do, I Do. I almost dropped it midway through, but I have no regrets sticking with it. What I like about I Do, I Do is that more than being a drama on unwanted pregnancy and bickering, would-be parents, it is a drama which inspires one to live out her dreams and live life to the fullest.

Boring company machinations aside, I Do, I Do is a wonderful drama that is far from being a worthless piece of fluff. More than dealing with questions like whether or not the main couple will end up together and decide to become a family after all, I Do I Do asks questions that are universal, questions that each one of us might have pondered on at least once in our lives: Which road shall I take? Am I doing the right thing or not? Should I go on with this, or just give it up?

I’m glad I Do, I Do steered clear from Usual Rom Com Avenue and instead took the path less trodden, giving us in the process, a heartwarming drama that inspires and provokes insight. Here’s to hoping we get more dramas from this mold!

Rating

A Scoop of Chunkeemonkeeato

I have a fondness for Kim Sun Ah but after My Name is Kim Sam Soon, I found her dramas to be stagnant.  It’s always the same.  A poor woman gets taken advantage of in the beginning until she stands up for herself.  Yawn!  (My New Year’s Resolution was to finish the last two episode of City Hall.  And it’s August and I haven’t touched them.  I still have 5 more months!)  However, she’s so refreshing to watch here.  I thoroughly enjoyed her no nonsense character.  Instead crying over how the people at work were gossiping and trying to push her out, she kept a cool head in front of people and dealt with it logically.  That’s professionalism folks.  Seriously, I don’t know how some of these K-Drama characters keep their jobs with all the drama they bring into the office.

Additionally, I love the ebb and flow of the relationship between her parents.  We’ve established that her father was strict and would be least likely to support Ji An but just because you’ve known them all your life, they can be the most supportive in the most unexpected ways.

It’s my first Lee Jang Woo drama and while I don’t love him and Eunjung on We Got Married, he’s a great actor.  I laughed, I cried and I look forward to see more of his acting.

However, I did have second-lead syndrome from the beginning to the end.  I didn’t find Eun Sung “creepy” as Mok did but instead I found him endearing that he still cared after she moved on.  Im Soo Hyang, I like her.  From her immaturity in Paradise Ranch to her maturity in New Tales of Gisaeng; and here, I found Yeom Na Ri to be a mix of those two characters.  She’s a girl who is coming of age and figuring out who she is over a looming, jealous stepmother.  It seems to be the trend these days when the second leads aren’t these vicious enemies.  On the one hand, I think it’s more in tuned with how people are in the real world.  On the other hand, it lacks that dramatic element.  A good writer needs to balance the two.

Finally, I love that this drama tackled the hard issue of being a single mother in a modern day world.  I think the drama as a whole did great in dealing with the rollercoaster of emotions that women may face.  From the pro-choice to pro-life debate to the issue of a woman marrying a man just because he’s the baby daddy to the issue of being pushed out of work due to being pregnant.  While that last issue is illegal even in Korea, it does happen on the downlow every single day.  So in that respect, I like the continuous problems that Ji An had to face.

The drama doesn’t break any molds but it was an enjoyable ride.

Chunkeemonkeeato’s Rating

One thought on “[Review] I Do, I Do – 아이두 아이두

Leave a Reply

