Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/10/12

Neon Bunny is a new indie artist for me.  She’s a singer-songwriter whose real name is Lim Yoo Jin.  She debuted last year with “Seoulight” and does this electro-pop type of music.  Her music does resemble Humming Urban Stereo for me because of the delicateness to her voice.  But unlike Lee Jin Hwa’s cuteness, Lim Yoo Jin’s voice has this ethereal, distant quality.

I went back and downloaded “Seoulight” so I could get a sense of how her music has changed over the course of the year.  Personally, I like “Seoulight” better with its more frothy tone.

This album also won earlier this year for 2011’s Best Pop Album at the Korean Music Awards.  My favorite track so far is “Can’t Stop Thinking About You”.  Mind you, I’ve only had this album for about 24 hours now.  It’s got a sweet repetitive melody combined with her reflective tone.

Neon Bunny – Can’t Stop Thinking About You

야광토끼 – Can’t Stop Thinking About You

Her recent album is called “Happy Ending”.  There is definitely more of a European electro-pop influence here and a decidedly sarcastic tone.  Goldfrapp and Helicopter Girl come to mind when I listen to it.  I guess the reason why I immediately took to her debut album and it took some time for me to warm up to “Happy Ending” is that this 2nd album sounds more produced.  For music aficionados or more specifically the electro-pop aficionados, they probably look for that tightly produced sound.  But I kind of like the innocent, raw quality of “Seoulight”.  I don’t dislike “Happy Ending”, I just have to be in a certain mood.

But I decided to feature two tracks from her latest album today since I know it better.  First up, “왕자님 (Prince)”.  Don’t be fooled by the title as it’s about her rejecting a guy who is exaggerating his importance in the world.  She’s just not that into him.  With the strong beat and voice filter similar to that 80’s era electro-pop style, it’s effective in making her sound cold.  The lyrics are pretty funny with its polite but firm ‘I’m rejecting you’ attitude.

Neon Bunny – 왕자님 (Prince)

야광토끼 – 왕자님

왕자님

니가 어떤 대학을 나왔는지
어떤 집안인지도 관심이 없어
오 그렇게 자랑스러우면
얼굴에 문신으로 새기지 그래

오오오오 왕자님
혹시 석유 재벌 이신가요?
오오오오 왕자님
아님 한국말 부터 다시 배워요

오 오 어느별에서 오셨는지
오 오 보이지도 않아요
오 오 먼길 오신건 고맙지만
니네 별로 돌아가 주세요

니가 어떤 여자를 만났었는지
왜 헤어졌는지도 관심이 없어
오 그렇게 잘났는데
왜 여지것 결혼도 못하셨나요

오오오오 왕자님
내가 노래를 만들건 말건
오오오오 왕자님
돈을 벌건 쓰건
무슨 상관이야

오 오 어느별에서 오셨는지
오 오 보이지도 않아요
오 오 먼길 오신건 고맙지만
니네 별로 돌아가 주세요

알고 싶지도 않은 말들은
제발 그만 좀 해요
난 그냥 니가 싫어 제발
내삶에서 꺼져줘요

오 오 어느별에서 오셨는지
오 오 보이지도 않아요
오 오 먼길 오신건 고맙지만
니네 별로 돌아가 주세요

오 오 어느별에서 오셨는지
오 오 보이지도 않아요
오 오 먼길 오신건 고맙지만
니네 별로 돌아가 주세요

Prince

Whatever college you graduated from
Have no interest in what household you’re from
Oh, if you’re so proud of that
Why don’t you tattoo that on your face?

Oh oh oh oh Prince
By chance are you an oil chaebol?
Oh oh oh oh Prince
If not, then relearn the Korean language

Oh oh Which planet did you come from?
Oh oh I can’t even see it
Oh oh I appreciate that you’ve come so far
But please return to your planet

Whatever types of girls you’ve met
Why you broke up, I don’t care
Oh if you’re so distinguished
Why haven’t you gotten married yet?

Oh oh oh oh Prince
If I write songs or not
Oh oh oh oh Prince
If I make money or spend it
What’s it to you?

Oh oh Which planet did you come from?
Oh oh I can’t even see it
Oh oh I appreciate that you’ve come so far
But please return to your planet

Don’t care to know what you have to say
Please, just stop it
I just don’t like you, please
Get the fuck out of my life

Oh oh Which planet did you come from?
Oh oh I can’t even see it
Oh oh I appreciate that you’ve come so far
But please return to your planet

Oh oh Which planet did you come from?
Oh oh I can’t even see it
Oh oh I appreciate that you’ve come so far
But please return to your planet

I also really like “첫사랑 (First Love)”. You have to look past the banal title as it did turn me off at first. However, it’s got an energetic start and seems upbeat but then you hear her voice and realize it’s got a unsympathetic quality. Upon listening to the lyrics, I realized that she’s singing about her first love and he doesn’t quite *ahem* measure up. It’s a little spiteful but it also kinda makes me smile at the same time.  Does that make me mean?  Oh well, out with the old, in with the new.

Neon Bunny – 첫사랑 (First Love)

야광토끼 – 첫사랑

첫사랑

넌 차도 없고 집도 없으면
눈치라도 좀 있어야
우리 사이에 남은거라곤
잊고 싶은 과거 뿐이야

우 사랑에 유효기간은
그리 길지가 않아요
우 엄마가 그러셨죠
남자는 능력인 거라고

내가 이 미모에 이 학벌에
너 같은건 옛정으로 만나지
화장을 고치고 머리띄를 하고
널 위해서 이러는건 아니야

구질구질한 첫사랑
너 같은건 아무것도 아니야
잘난 남자를 만나서
너와나는 다르단걸 보여줄께

넌 백도 없고 줄도 없으면
머리라도 좀 좋아야지
내 순정 받쳐 사랑했는데
돌아 오는건 후회 뿐이야

우 착한척은 다하고
나만 나쁜년 만들지
우 이러는날 욕하지는마
니가 한 짓을 봐

내가 이 미모에 이 학벌에
너 같은건 옛정으로 만나지
화장을 고치고 머리띄를 하고
널 위해서 이러는건 아니야

구질구질한 첫사랑
너 같은건 아무것도 아니야
잘난 남자를 만나서
너와나는 다르단걸 보여줄께

미안하다고 말하지는 마
난 나를 떠나줘 난 니가 지겨워

미안하다고 말하지는 마
난 나를 떠나줘 난 니가 지겨워

내가 이 미모에 이 학벌에
너 같은건 옛정으로 만나지
화장을 고치고 머리띄를 하고
널 위해서 이러는건 아니야

구질구질한 첫사랑
너 같은건 아무것도 아니야
잘난 남자를 만나서
너와나는 다르단걸 보여줄께

내가 이 미모에 이 학벌에
너 같은건 옛정으로 만나지
화장을 고치고 머리띄를 하고
널 위해서 이러는건 아니야

구질구질한 첫사랑
너 같은건 아무것도 아니야
잘난 남자를 만나서
너와나는 다르단걸 보여줄께

First Love

You don’t have a car, don’t have a home
You’re also tactless
What’s left between us
Is a past I want to forget

Ooh, the expiration date on love
Isn’t that far away
Ooh, my mom had said once
Power is what makes a man

Me, with these good looks and education
Meet with the likes of you out of old affection
Fix my makeup and put a headband on
I’m not doing this for you

My frumpy first love
People like you are nothing
I’ll meet a great guy
I’ll show you how different we are

You don’t have a backer, or even connections
So you should at least be smart
I loved you with all the love I could give
Just regretting coming back

Ooh, you pretend to be all nice
Making me the bitch
Ooh, don’t curse me out on a day like this
Look at what you’ve done

Me, with these good looks and education
Meet with the likes of you out of old affection
Fix my makeup and put a headband on
I’m not doing this for you

My frumpy first love
People like you are nothing
I’ll meet a great guy
I’ll show you how different we are

Don’t tell me you’re sorry
I’ll let you leave me, I’m tired of you

Don’t tell me you’re sorry
I’ll let you leave me, I’m tired of you

Me, with these good looks and education
Meet with the likes of you out of old affection
Fix my makeup and put a headband on
I’m not doing this for you

My frumpy first love
People like you are nothing
I’ll meet a great guy
I’ll show you how different we are

Me, with these good looks and education
Meet with the likes of you out of old affection
Fix my makeup and put a headband on
I’m not doing this for you

My frumpy first love
People like you are nothing
I’ll meet a great guy
I’ll show you how different we are

Leave a Reply

