Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/14/12

I guess I must be in the mood for a sweet love song and I have two for you today.  One is by indie singer, Rumble Fish, and the other is the 2nd runner up to K-Pop Star, Baek A Yeon.

I’ve been following Rumble Fish for several years now.  I felt a lot of their recent albums in the last 2 years have just been okay but nothing to write home about.  Since 2010 the other 3 band members (Guitarist Kim Sung Gun, Bassist Kim Ho Il and Drummer Park Chun Hwee) left the group leaving only Vocalist Choi Jin Yi behind.

The sound and harmony just wasn’t the same.  For that reason, I didn’t download their new single until a friend had mentioned it to me recently.  They played “너 그렇게 살지마 (Don’t Live Like That)” at the end of one my variety shows and ended up really liking it.

Rumble Fish – 너 그렇게 살지마 (Don’t Live Like That)

Rumble Fish – 너 그렇게 살지마

However, my favorite album of all time is still “Memory For You”.  It’s the first album where I discovered Rumble Fish and it wholly consists of cover songs.  The remakes of these songs are done very well and I can listen to the entire album straight through.

I’m featuring “소중한 너 (My Precious You)” which was originally a duet sung by Park Sun Joo and Jo Kyu Chan.

Here, Choi Jin Yi sings it with singer Jeon Seung Woo.  I think both Choi Jin Yi and Jeon Seung Woo capture the heart of the original well with their voices while the backing track updates the song.

Rumble Fish – 소중한 너 (feat. 전승우) (My Precious You (feat. Jeon Seung Woo))

Rumble Fish – 소중한 너 (feat. 전승우)

소중한 너

너무나 투명한 너의 하얀 미소에
나는 사랑을 느꼈어.
너의 하얀 뺨에 눈물 흐를 때에
나는 네게 사랑을 주고 싶었어.
너의 모습 그릴 때마다
넌 항상 내게 웃음 주었지.

네마음을 사랑하고 싶은 거야. 워~워
나의 마음 너에게만 주고 싶어.
소중한 널
잊을 수는 없을 거야.
워워워
언제까지나 나의 마음 너만을 그릴 게
내 사랑아.

너무나 가득한 너의 슬픈 향기에
나는 사랑을 느꼈어.
너의 뒷모습이 슬퍼보일 때에
나는 네게 사랑을 주고 싶었어.
너의 향기 그릴 때마다
넌 항상 내게 눈물 주었지.

네마음을 사랑하고 싶은 거야. 워~워
나의 마음 너에게만 주고 싶어.
소중한 널
잊을 수는 없을 거야.
워워워
언제까지나 나의 마음 너만을 그릴 께

소중한 널
잊을 수는 없을 거야,
워워워
언제까지나 나의 마음 너만을 그릴 께
내 사랑아.

My Precious You

Very transparent, your fair smile
I felt love
When tears stream down your fair cheeks
I wanted to give you love
Whenever I longed for a glimpse of you,
you always made me laugh

I want to love your heart. Woah~ woah
I only want to give my heart to you
My Precious You,
I won’t be able to forget you.
Woah, woah, woah
Eternally, my heart draws only towards you
My Love

Overly full, your sad scent
I felt love
Whenever you look sad from behind
I wanted to give you love
Whenever I long for your scent,
you always made me cry

I want to love your heart. Woah~ woah
I only want to give my heart to you
My Precious You,
I won’t be able to forget you.
Woah, woah, woah
Eternally, my heart draws only towards you

My Precious you,
I won’t be able to forget you.
Woah, woah, woah
Eternally, my heart draws only towards you
My Love

_____________________________________________________

Baek A Yeon may have only been the 2nd runner up on K-Pop Star but she can certainly hold her own when it comes to moving you with her voice.

Back when she was on Strong Heart, she confessed that she was often hospitalized as a child because of her illnesses. As a result of all her hardships, JYP gave her the nickname “Strong Iron Heart”.

She’s the first to debut and after listening to this album I can’t wait to hear what Park Ji Min’s debut album will sound like.  They are both represented by JYP Entertainment.

She’s got a slight lisp but I find it charming. Especially in this song where she admits to being in love and the world around her seems to be coming up roses. Because of her youth, she sounds completely fresh and innocent and it sounds as if falling in love is a new experience for her.

Baek A Yeon – Love, Love, Love.

백아연 – Love, Love, Love.

Love, Love, Love.

바람, 하늘, 바다같은 니 목소리
아직까지 깨지 못한 꿈인걸까
투명한 반지
너를 위해 쓴 편지
내겐 모든 게 새로워
혼자 걷는 밤도 차갑지가 않아
부드러운 것 같아

Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
Oh I fell in love love love
with you
Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
이제야 알것같아
가슴 가득한
이 맘이 널 위한 사랑인걸

여름 가을 겨울 오는 소리같이
머물러줘 내 곁에만 지금처럼
너도 조금씩 물들어가길
매일같이 바랬지
꼭 약속한듯이 우리 두 마음이
한 곳에서 만나길

Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
Oh I fell in love love love
with you
Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
이제야 알 것 같아
가슴 가득한
이 맘이 널 위한 사랑인걸

Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
Oh I fell in love love love
with you
Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
이제야 알 것 같아
가슴 가득한
이 맘이 널 위한 사랑인걸

Love, Love, Love.

Like the wind, sky, sea, your voice
Is this a dream I’ve yet to wake up from?
A transparent ring,
a letter written for your sake
Everything’s new to me
Even the nights I walk alone doesn’t feel cold
It feels comfy

Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
Oh I fell in love love
with you
Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
Now I think I know
My heart is full,
this feeling must mean I love you

Like the sounds of summer, fall, winter looming
Stay with me, like you are now
Slowly, you too will be affected
I hoped we’d be together everyday
Surely, like we made a promise, our two hearts
Meeting at the same place

Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
Oh I fell in love love love
with you
Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
Now I think I know
My heart is full,
this feeling must mean I love you

Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
Oh I fell in love love love
with you
Oh I fell in love love love
with you you you
Now I think I know
My heart is full,
this feeling must mean I love you

2 thoughts on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/14/12

Leave a Reply

