Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/5/12

This post will serve two purposes due to the fact that I wasn’t able to post this Monday.  It’ll give me an opportunity to talk about a song I’m currently listening to and talk about a drama that I’m currently watching.  I honestly didn’t expect much out of 착한남자 (Nice Guy).  (Sidenote: Starting from episode 3, the title of the drama changed its spelling back to the correct spelling of 착한(nice) from 차칸after protests from pro-Korean language associations.)

I guess I’m harder on darker dramas as evidenced by my initial uncertainty about The Chaser because sometimes the back and forth nature of the plots in these melodramas can grow so tiring.  Romcoms can make bad plots go by faster with cute and funny scenes but with a lack of that, the writing and the acting is scrutinized even more in melos.

The Chaser was one drama that laid my apprehension to rest and it seems like Nice Guy will be another one.  Both of these dramas have some really great acting which makes the story and characters so compelling.

But that wasn’t the only reason why I was reluctant to watch this drama.  I wasn’t so eager to see this darker side of Song Joong Ki.  I don’t know what it is about him as I have fallen in love with some uberbad, drama villains before.  But even now I shudder whenever Joong Ki gives the camera that cold, dead look in his eyes.

*Brrr*  Aww, pretty puppy.  I won’t ever betray you so can you not look at me that way?  I very much prefer your smiley, Running Man, Sungkyunkwan Scandal personas.  Despite that, I’m pretty amazed to find that Song Joong Ki is like a veteran actor even though he’s only in his twenties and hasn’t even gone off to the army yet.

The drama is shaping up nicely but I never truly got the sense that Maru was nice to begin with.  From the start, he was quiet and very hard to read.  Maru just seemed like a normal guy who had no reason to be cruel or mean.  Isn’t that how we all start out?  Because of the betrayal, he transformed into a vindictive person.

I like that I’m conflicted when I see Maru.  On the one hand, he was wronged.  On the other hand, his motives will cause innocent bystanders to get hurt as well.  I do see him wavering in front of Eun Ki (Moon Chae Won) but I’m terrified of him hurting her feelings.

It’s not like Eun Ki’s a completely nice person either but she’s an innocent and naïve girl.  Maru used be that.  Yes, she’s been hurt by the people who were supposed to love her but her survivor’s response prompted her to close off her heart and go after those who took her for granted.

So in the process, she hasn’t had much experience in the personal relationships category.  Maru’s survivor response is to play and toy with people and their livelihood, so in that respect, he seems much more cruel.  Plus, I’m worried that his action could cause Eun Ki to become vindictive, like he is.

Today’s featured song is from the OST of that album, “사랑은 눈꽃처럼 (Love is Like a Snowflake)”.  There are several ways to translate 눈꽃 (noon got).  It literally means “snow flower” but you could also use it in the sense that the snow is covering something, as in branches or mountains.  Basically the song is saying that love is like when you reach your hand out to catch a snowflake but it just ends up melting in your hand.

JYJ’s Junsu sings the track and his voice is a good representation for Joong Ki’s character, Maru.  Junsu is still pretty young but yet his voice sounds so mature here.  There’s a gravitas in his voice.  Perhaps the immaturity comes from the lyrics because it makes him sound like this sad, little boy trapped in the corner of the room.  At the same time, his deep voice brings a sense of manliness to it expressing the trials and tribulations that comes with life and love.

XIA (Junsu) – 사랑은 눈꽃처럼 (Love is Like a Snowflake)

XIA(준수) – 사랑은 눈꽃처럼

사랑은 눈꽃처럼

웃는다 또 어제처럼 난
숨긴다 아무 일 없는듯
허락없이 그대 맘 살펴 온
그대 맘 가지려한 내 몫인가봐

이젠 갖고 싶어
사랑을 죽을 만큼 한적 있나요
단 한번만 단 한번만 제발 돌아봐요
소리쳐 불러봐도 닿지를 않아
너를 사랑해 널 사랑해
혼자서 되뇌이는 말
널 사랑해

하루씩 잘 살아가 본다
조금씩 버틸 수 있도록
그대 없이는 내일도 없을테니까
희망도 없을테니까
오늘처럼

이젠 갖고 싶어
사랑을 죽을 만큼 한적 있나요
단 한번만 단 한번만 제발 돌아봐요
소리쳐 불러봐도 닿지를 않아
너를 사랑해 널 사랑해
혼자서 되뇌이는 말
널 사랑해

쌓여가는 슬픈 그리움
숨이 멎을 것 같아
희미한 빛을 따라 이젠 나
너에게 간다

사랑은 눈꽃처럼 다가오나봐
손 내밀어 담아보지만
늘 녹아버려
처음 본 순간부터 그대였기에
난 또 한 걸음 또 한 걸음
나에겐 그대여야만 하니까

Love is Like a Snowflake

I’m smiling again like yesterday
Hiding it like nothing ever happened
Without permission, came to seek out her heart
Must be my lot in life to capture her heart

Now I want to have it
Have you ever loved like you were going to die?
Just once, just once, please turn around
Though I yell, it doesn’t reach
I love you, I love you
Alone, telling myself
I love you

Every day, I get through it well
So I can get through it little by little
Without you, there’s no tomorrow
There’s also no hope
Like today

Now I want to have it
Have you ever loved like you were going to die?
Just once, just once, please turn around
Though I yell, it doesn’t reach
I love you, I love you
Alone, telling myself
I love you

Sad longing builds up
Feel like I’ll stop breathing
Following a faint glow, now I
I’m going to you

Love is like the coming snowfall
Reaching out my hand to bottle it up
but it always melts
Ever since I first saw you, I knew you were the one
Again I take a step and another step
To me, it has to be you

Leave a Reply

