Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/12/12

There is literally a plethora of albums and artists I want to write about as I’ve been enjoying quite a few tracks lately.  But today, I decided I wanted to focus on singers who have returned to the public eye after a successful initial appearance.  There’s the debut of the girl duo, 15&, and the release of 10cm’s 2nd full length album.  It’s about duos today!

For me, I have eagerly anticipating the release of Park Ji Min’s debut album after winning K-Pop Star.  She became known worldwide for singing “Rolling in the Deep”  with such passion and maturity.  Currently, I’m listening to Thinhe1 Production’s remix track called “Lonely In the Deep” which is a mashup of 2NE1’s “Lonely” and both Adele’s and Park Ji Min’s versions of “Rolling in the Deep”.  Really, “Lonely” is just being played as the backing track but it works well.

2NE1 Feat. Park Ji Min & Adele – Lonely In the Deep

2NE1 Feat. 박지민 & Adele – Lonely In The Deep

I was surprised that she decided to team up with Baek Ye Rin of Star King fame.  However, I get it.  I guess being a duo will give her more of an opportunity to do non-ballad type of songs.

It seems that solo artists who are extremely talented vocally tend to be known more for their ballad tracks than anything else.  Here, they’ll have the opportunity to play off each other and hopefully in the near future, we’ll get to hear them explore different musical genres that will showcase their voices.

The single that they released is called “I Dream”.  It describes how they both climbed towards the spotlight.  First off, their voices are a powerhouse separately.  Together, I get goose bumps as their harmony works well without trying to outdo one other.  The track starts out soft but crescendos to powerful heights.  I also like that the song’s lyrics are simple, uncomplicated by adult biases.

15& – I Dream

15& – I Dream

I Dream

상상했었어 무대에 오르는 그 순간을
따뜻한 햇살 마이크를 잡은
내 위로 쏟아질 그 빛을
사람들에게 들려주고 싶은
노래가 나는 너무나 많아
내 마음이 닿기를 너를 볼 수 있기를

꿈만 같아
너의 앞에 선 이 순간
너를 웃게 할 이 노래
Oh I dream 내 목소리를 타고
너를 움직일 이 노래 듣고 있니
그 짙은 어둠 속에
혼자 갇히지 않게
영원히 너를 위해 노래할게

이제 시작해 네 맘으로 가는 긴긴 여행
외로워지면 눈물 날 것 같으면
너의 손을 잡을게 워우어

Oh I dream 내 목소리를 타고
너를 움직일 이 노래
지금 너도 듣고 있는지

그 짙은 어둠 속에
혼자 갇히지 않게
영원히 너를 위해 노래할게 워우어

Oh I dream 내 목소리를 타고
너를 웃게 할 이 노래
Oh I dream 말라버린 네 맘에
비처럼 내릴 이 노래
오래 맘을 적실 비처럼
네 맘속의 사랑이 혼자
시들지 않게 언제나 날 지켜준
첨부터 나를 지켜본
네 앞에서 널
그리고 그리며
꿈꾸던 마음 하나로 난
노래할게

I Dream

I dreamt it, the moment when I’d step on stage
Warm sunlight, grabbed the mic
The light pouring down from above
Want to let people listen
I have many songs
That my heart can reach, that I can see you

It’s like a dream,
standing in front of you, this moment
It’ll make you laugh, this song
Oh I dream, taking my voice
To move you, are you listening to this song?
Within the dense darkness,
so I won’t be trapped alone
Eternally for you, I will sing

Now begin, the long, long road to your heart
When you’re lonely, if you’re about to cry
I will grab your hand, woah ooh uh

Oh I dream, taking my voice
To move you, this song
Now are you also listening?

Within the dense darkness,
so I won’t be trapped alone
Eternally for you, I will sing, woah ooh uh

Oh I dream, taking my voice
It’ll make you laugh, this song
Oh I dream, dried up, your heart
Like rain it’ll fall, this song
Like the rain that’ll soak your heart for a long time
Within your heart, love alone
So it won’t wither, like it always stood by me
Like you watched over me since the first time,
in front of you, you
and, like that,
like a unified heart that dreamed, I
will sing

_____________________________________________________

I love 10cm’s first album, “1.0”.  I owe it all to Haha who introduced this yuppie Hongdae duo to me when they appeared on Infinity Challenge last year.  A lot of musicians might deliver all of their best stuff in the debut album but the question is if they can follow up their success in their subsequent albums.

Not only has 10cm accomplished that with “2.0” but I was surprised to discover that upon its release a majority of the tracks hit the top 10.  In fact, “Fine, Thank You and You” was able to dethrone Epik High’s “It’s Cold” (which is also a great song) from the number one spot.  I guess I wasn’t the only one who had been eagerly anticipating this album?  Just like the first one, the album is easy to listen to all the way through.  There are so many songs to love and in this album the duo decided to play with some different genres of music.

“냄새나는 여자 (The Smell of a Woman)” is this latin jazz, bossa nova beat song which reminds me a little of Jobim’s “The Girl from Ipanema”.  Except… the title of the song caught me off guard.  At first I was going to translate 냄새 (naem sae) as “scent” because of the romantic connotations  associated with it.  But actually “smell” is more accurate.  Even the way it’s written, it should be translated as “A Woman Who Smells” but I tried to keep some semblance of romance.

In both Korean and English, 냄새 (naem sae) doesn’t completely have good connotations but here he’s simply stating it’s the smell of the woman that’s drawing him near to her.  He doesn’t know why nor is he trying to actively pursue her but he can’t forget the smell of her.  Therefore he’s not able to get her out of his mind.  Similar with the first album, I love their interesting choice of words as it is indicative of their wittiness and cynicism.  Their aim isn’t to be mean but rather to be matter-of-fact.  That’s just how guys think.

10cm – 냄새나는 여자 (The Smell of a Woman)

10cm – 냄새나는 여자

냄새나는 여자

화장을 지울 때 셔츠를 벗을 때
코끝을 지나는 그대만의 냄새

예쁘지도 않고 못나지도 않은
밋밋한 얼굴의 그대만의 냄새

좋다 하기엔 넌 너무 짜릿해
보고 싶지 않다가도
매일 나는 느끼네

우 나도 몰래 너를 안은 채로
풀썩 쓰러지게 돼

샤워를 마치고 머리를 만질 때
코끝을 맴도는 그대만의 냄새

끌리지도 않고 질리지도 않는
밋밋한 매력의 그대만의 냄새

싫다 하기엔 넌 너무 짜릿해
보고 싶지 않다가도
매일 나는 느끼네

우 나도 몰래 너를 안은 채로
풀썩 쓰러지게 돼
우우 나도 몰래 너를 안은 채로
덥썩 입맞추게 돼

그대만의 냄새 우
그대만의 냄새 우
그대만의 냄새 우
참 좋은 냄새

The Smell of a Woman

When you remove your make or take off your shirt
Smell of just you passing the tip of my nose

Not pretty nor ugly
Bare faced, the smell of just you

Rather than being good, you’re extremely electrifying
Though I go not missing you,
every day I feel it

Woo, secretly I, even before we embrace
I instantly collapse

Finishing my shower and touching up my hair
Smell of just you circling the tip of my nose

Not drawing me in, not growing tired of you
The plain charm of the smell of just you

Rather than hating you, you’re extremely electrifying
Though I go not missing you,
every day I feel it

Woo, secretly I, even before we embrace
I instantly collapse
Woo woo, secretly I, even before we embrace
End up pulling you in for a kiss

The smell of just you, woo
The smell of just you, woo
The smell of just you, woo
A really great smell

Next up, there’s “고추잠자리 (Red Dragonfly)”. While it literally translates as pepper dragonfly as 고추 (go chu) means pepper but here it is indicating the color. It starts off with this simple American country music beat but in comes this mute trombone. Ha, the mute trombone makes me chuckle because all I can think of is this…

I never really heard of the red dragonfly species before this song.  Dragonflies are considered as a symbol of happiness and they are usually seen in Korea around late summer and in the fall.  This particular species starts out as yellow in color but turns red when it matures.  So I suppose it fits the nature of the song as the guy seems to be maturing within his relationship.

10cm – 고추잠자리 (Red Dragonfly)

10cm – 고추잠자리

고추잠자리

어제는 내가 정말 미안해
오늘은 내가 더 잘해볼게
우리는 깊은 대화가 필요해

그러다 문득 고개를 돌려
너의 눈치를 살피다 보면
사실은 맘이 개운하지가 않아

알다가도 모르겠는
너의 마음이 뭔지
표정은 왜 그랬는지도
물어볼라면 (물어보면)
이해하기 힘든 웃음만 (웃음만)
솔직히 얘기를 해줘야 알지
우우우

이렇게 하면 너는 어떤지
저렇게 해야 니가 좋은지
우리는 진한 대화가 필요해

혹시나 아무 말도 없다가
어설픈 시간만 보내다가
갑자기 나를 버릴 것만 같아

알다가도 모르겠는
너의 마음이 뭔지
표정은 왜 그랬는지도
물어볼라면 (물어보면)
알아듣기 힘든 농담만(농담만)
솔직히 얘기를 해줘야 알지

사랑한다는 말이 뭐 지금 그리 대수야
안고 입맞추는 일도

알다가도 모르겠는
너의 마음이
도무지 어떤 맘인지
무슨 말을 하고 싶은지
얘기를 다 해줘야 알지
우우우

Red Dragonfly

I’m really sorry about yesterday
I’ll try to do better today
We need to deeply communicate

Eventually, it’ll make us abruptly turn our heads
Though I check your signals
Truthfully, I don’t feel reinvigorated

Though I learn but I still don’t know
where your heart is
Why your expression is that way
Though I try to ask (when I ask)
A laugh that’s hard to comprehend (the laugh)
Honestly you have to explain it so I know
Woo woo woo

If I do this, how you would feel
If I do that, you would like it
We need to truly communicate

If we go without saying anything
We’ll end up having a bad time
And suddenly you might throw me away

Though I learn but I still don’t know
where your heart is
Why your expression is that way
Though I try to ask (when I ask)
A joke that’s hard to comprehend (a joke)
Honestly you have to explain it so I know

What the big deal about saying I love you?
Even hugging and kissing

Though I learn but I still don’t know
Your heart
Can’t make heads or tails about what you feel
What you want to say
Honestly you have to say it all so I know
Woo woo woo

Finally, here is one of the title songs from the album, “오늘밤에 (Tonight)”. With a 70’s funky beat, the track has this Maroon 5 flair to it. I could totally see Adam Levine’s voice crooning and strutting to this track. I love that 10cm is experimenting with different genres and not solely sticking with folk pop. Kwon Jeong Yeol totally rocks this track with his light staccato touches. And we hear the often silent (other than background vocals) Yoon Chul Jong as he narrates towards the end.

While the song and setting is bluesy in nature, the lyrics are very tongue-in-cheek and I find it amusing. It would be funny if they did a humorous music video where the duo will be featured stumbling around drunk trying to find a girl but fails miserably. Kinda like some of the hilarious Flight of the Conchords videos.

10cm – 오늘밤에 (Tonight)

10cm – 오늘밤에

오늘밤에

고요한 밤 우울한 이 밤에
만나줄 여인 하나 없이
비틀대는 눈부신 거리엔
다 Everybody love tonight

나만 쏙 뺀 사랑
쏙 빠진 로맨스는 잔인해
나의 짝을 찾아
간절한 구애의 춤을 추네

비가 쏟아지는데 우
달이 차오르는데 우
눈물이 흐르는데 우
오늘밤에
땀이 쏟아지는데 우
숨이 차오르는데 우
눈물이 흐르는데 우
오늘밤에 우

외로운 밤 쓸쓸한 이 밤에
놀아줄 여인 하나 없이
삐걱대는 만실 여관방엔
다 Everybody fuck tonight

나만 쏙 뺀 사랑
쏙 빠진 로맨스는 잔인해
나의 짝을 찾아
간절한 구애의 춤을 추네

비가 쏟아지는데 우
달이 차오르는데 우
눈물이 흐르는데 우
오늘밤에
땀이 쏟아지는데 우
숨이 차오르는데 우
눈물이 흐르는데 우
오늘밤에

아아아 우우 오늘밤에
아아아 우우 오늘밤에

내레이션:
미치도록 한적한
스탠드바에 문을 열지만
여전히 웨이터는 날 반기지 않는 군
어차피 누구도 날 반기지 않아
촉촉히 젖은 글라스의 물기를 봐
이것은 한 남자의 눈물이야
우리 과거는 묻지 않기로 해
어차피 우리 남이잖아

비가 쏟아지는데 우
달이 차오르는데 우
눈물이 흐르는데 우
오늘밤에
땀이 쏟아지는데 우
숨이 차오르는데 우
눈물이 흐르는데 우
오늘밤에

아아아 우우 오늘밤에
아아아 우우 오늘밤에
아아아 우우 오늘밤에
아아아 우우 오늘밤에

Tonight

A quiet night, gloomy tonight
There isn’t a single girl who’ll meet me
Staggering on a bright street
All, Everybody love tonight

Just left me out, love,
falling into a romance is cruel
Finding my half,
dancing a true courtship dance

The rain is pouring, woo
The moon is overwhelming, woo
The tears are falling, woo
Tonight
The sweat is pouring, woo
My breath is overwhelming, woo
The tears are falling, woo
Tonight, woo

Lonely night, bereft tonight
There isn’t a single girl who’ll play with me
In the creaky motel room
All, Everybody fuck tonight

Just left me out, love,
falling into a romance is cruel
Finding my half,
dancing a real courtship dance

The rain is pouring, woo
The moon is overwhelming, woo
The tears are falling, woo
Tonight
The sweat is pouring, woo
My breath is overwhelming, woo
The tears are falling, woo
Tonight

Ah ah ah woo woo, tonight
Ah ah ah woo woo, tonight

Narration:
Like a crazy person
I open the door to a tranquil stand bar
And yet, the waiter doesn’t welcome me
Anyhow, no one welcomes me
Looking at the drops on the dripping glasses
These are the tears of one man
We said we wouldn’t ask about our pasts
In any case, we’re strangers

The rain is pouring, woo
The moon is overwhelming, woo
The tears are falling, woo
Tonight
The sweat is pouring, woo
My breath is overwhelming, woo
The tears are falling, woo
Tonight

Ah ah ah woo woo, tonight
Ah ah ah woo woo, tonight
Ah ah ah woo woo, tonight
Ah ah ah woo woo, tonight

Leave a Reply

