Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/19/12

I suppose you could consider this as a post which is a continuation from last week.  There are just so many new songs, artists and albums that I’m grooving to lately.  The problem is finding a common denominator across all the tracks.  So despite it being flimsy comparison, I guess today’s playlist will be about artists who are rocking to their own beat.

I went on a long, long (long, long, long) search for this track.  From his first twirl of the finger by his head, I just loved Crazyno’s… well, craziness.  (His real name is Zyno Kim.  I’d be curious to hear how his parents came up with the spelling for that.)  People seem to dubbing him as the “Psy Kid” (aka the younger version of Psy) or “Psydol” (aka Idol version of Psy), which had netizens wondering if he released this song first would he have gotten popular in America instead.  Woah, woah, woah.  Let’s not get ahead of ourselves, shall we?  He just debuted and Americans tend like their male idol singers be your average joe rather than all made up.  There is a reason why J-Pop doesn’t have an enormous following here.  Rather than making comparisons to Psy, I think Crazyno reminds me of G-Dragon more.

Crazyno was born in Australia and although I’m not sure how long he grew up there, he mentioned the difficulties he faced when it came down to adjusting to the language and cultural differences.  So that’s what “MUSICHE (무식해)” is about.  It’s interesting to note that Crazyno has an extensive background in music.  He’s been composing drama music for 3 years now but the genre has been acoustic and orchestra jazz music.  This time he’s trying his hand in the K-Pop scene with this electronic dance sound.  The word music in phonetically spelled 뮤직 (myoo-zic) in Korean so the first syllable is just one vowel off from 무식 (moo-shic) or ignorance.  Also within the lyrics, he basically repeating the same lyric twice and for the most part, translating the song for you.

During the promotion of the release of his debut album, he dressed up as Marilyn Monroe and Heath Ledger’s Joker for the album cover images.  Sure enough, craziness abounds.

And of course, no music video is complete without a crazy dance.  This one’s called the “crane dance”.

크레이지노(Crazyno) – MUSICHE (무식해)

MUSICHE (무식해)

YEH! ANOTHER MUSIC BY CRAZYNO EVERYBODY
(예! 크레이지노의
또 다른 음악이 나왔습니다 여러분)
IT IS A MASTERPIECE (LISTEN UP)
이건 정말 대박이에요 (들어보세요)

SHOULD BE SICK OF LUNATICS
GET OVER WITH THEM LUNATICS
(루나틱이 지겨우셨죠?
루나틱은 이제 잊어버리세요)
CAUSE HERE I AM ABOUT TO
(왜냐하면 지금부터 제가 보여드릴것은!)

I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(나는 음악해 나는 나는 음악해 예)
난 무식해 난 난 난 무식해
I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(나는 음악해 나는 나는 음악해 예)
난 무식해 BABE 난 나 나 난 무식해
(그대)
너 무식해서 용감하니
난 무식해서 용감하지
있어봐라 좀 가만히
내가 말하고 있잖니
우리 엄마는 MUSIC해
우리 아빠 너무 시크해
(음악)
그래서 나도 MUSIC해
무식해도 나 MUSIC해
(음악) (음악)
또 주식해 말아먹네
우리 집 물에 밥 말아먹네
주말에는 외식할래
마트가서 시식하네
좌절금지
일만하는 일개미도
노래하는 배짱이도
도레미파 솔라시도
EVERYBODY WELCOME TO THE SHOW
(모두 쇼를 보러 오십시오)

I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(나는 음악해 나는 나는 음악해)
난 무식해 난 난 난 무식해
I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(나는 음악해 나는 나는 음악해)
난 무식해 BABE 난 나 나 난 무식해
(그대)
EH EH EH EH EH BABE
LOVE EH EH EH EH
ORIGINAL BEAT
(에 에 에 에 에 그대사랑
에 에 에 에 정통 박자)
EH EH EH EH EH BABE
LOVE EH EH EH EH
DROP THAT BEAT
(에 에 에 에 에 그대사랑
에 에 에 에 떨어진 비트)

모두 같은 꿈을 꾸고
노래하고 춤을 추고
음악에 심장이 뛰고
미치고 팔짝 뛰고

I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(나는 음악해 나는 나는 음악해)
난 무식해 난 난 난 무식해
I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(나는 음악해 나는 나는 음악해)
난 무식해 BABE 난 나 나 난 무식해
(그대)

EH EH EH EH EH BABE
EH EH EH EH EH BABE
(에 에 에 에 에 그대
에 에 에 에 에 그대)
EH EH EH EH EH BABE
EH EH EH EH EH EH EH
(에 에 에 에 에 그대
에 에 에 에 에 에 에)
CANT BE OVER ALREADY SERIOUSLY AW
(벌써 끝난건 아니겠지 진짜로 아)

MUSICHE (Ignorant)

YEH! ANOTHER MUSIC BY CRAZYNO
EVERYBODY
(Yeh! Crazyno’s
Changed music has come out, everybody)
IT IS A MASTERPIECE (LISTEN UP)
This is really daebak (Listen Up)

SHOULD BE SICK OF LUNATICS
GET OVER WITH THEM LUNATICS
(Are you sick of lunatics?
Forget them lunatics.)
CAUSE HERE I AM ABOUT TO
(Because the thing I have to show you now.)

I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(I do music I I do music, yeh)
I’m ignorant, I’m, I’m, I’m ignorant
I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(I do music I I do music, yeh)
I’m ignorant, BABE, I’m, I, I, I’m ignorant
(You)
Are you brave because you’re ignorant?
I’m brave because I’m ignorant
Just stay still
I’m talking right now
My mom does music
My dad is very chic
(Music)
So that’s why I do music
Though I’m ignorant, I do music
(Music) (Music)
Again dry up all your stocks
In our house, I eat rice mixed with water
On the weekends, I want to eat out
At the mart, I sample food
Banned from being discouraged
A work ant that only works,
a singer being brave
Do re mi fa sol la ti do
EVERYBODY WELCOME TO THE SHOW
(Everybody, come see the show)

I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(I do music I I do music)
I’m ignorant, I’m, I’m, I’m ignorant
I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(I do music I I do music)
I’m ignorant, BABE, I’m, I, I, I’m ignorant
(You)
EH EH EH EH EH BABE
LOVE EH EH EH EH
ORIGINAL BEAT
(Eh eh eh eh eh Your Love
Eh eh eh eh Authentic Beat)
EH EH EH EH EH BABE
LOVE EH EH EH EH
DROP THAT BEAT
(Eh eh eh eh eh Your Love
Eh eh eh eh Losing the beat)

Every dreams the same dream
Singing and dancing
Heart beats to the music
Go crazy and jump around

I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(I do music I I do music)
I’m ignorant, I’m, I’m, I’m ignorant
I DO MUSIC I I DO MUSIC YEH
(I do music I I do music)
I’m ignorant, BABE, I’m, I, I, I’m ignorant
(You)

EH EH EH EH EH BABE
EH EH EH EH EH BABE
(Eh eh eh eh eh You
Eh eh eh eh eh You)
EH EH EH EH EH BABE
EH EH EH EH EH EH EH
(Eh eh eh eh eh You
Eh eh eh eh eh eh eh)
CANT BE OVER ALREADY SERIOUSLY
AW
(Can’t be over already seriously, Ah)

_____________________________________________________

These ladies are back.  Miss A’s new album is titled “Independent Women Pt. III” which I guess is invoking Destiny’s Child.  You’d think I’d be all into the girl-power sounding “남자 없이 잘 살아 (Living Well Without a Man)” but I thought it was just okay.  The backing track sounded interesting enough and the harmony was okay but I much preferred the energy-inducing “Time’s Up”.  There’s a totally Euro Club feel to it and the beat is quite addictive.  While the melody isn’t complicated and can be considered monotone, it fits the track because the protagonist is straight up expressing that she doesn’t have time for the guy’s bullshit anymore so it’s time to move along.  It’s sounds cold but the lyrics indicate that she’s just being matter-of-fact.  Maybe that makes it seem even colder than being angry.

miss A – Time’s Up

미쓰 에이(miss A) – Time’s Up

Time’s Up

아쉬울 것 없어 이럴 시간 없어
이젠 난 괜찮아 귀찮았어 (귀찮았어)
솔직해져도 돼 이럴 시간 없어
정말 난 괜찮아 지겨웠어 (지겨웠어)

니가 내 욕을 해도 괜찮아 이게 내 rule
더 이상은 널 위해 쓸 시간 아까워
관심 없어 이게 내 rule
널 위해 쓸 시간 없어

아쉬운 듯 내게 변명 안 해도 돼
넌 이제 out out no no (Woo)
신경 쓸 것 없어
난 난 내 맘대로 어차피
Out out (Woo woo woo woo)

없던 일처럼
널 지우고 널 지우고
없던 일처럼
널 밀어내 또 밀어내
없던 일처럼
널 비우고 널 비우고
없던 일처럼
내일이면 괜찮을 거야

Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
ah, ah, ah, ah)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo)
내일이면 괜찮을 거야

Oh oh oh oh Bye bye bye bye
Oh oh oh oh Yeah yeah

Oh oh oh oh Bye bye bye bye
Oh oh oh oh

달라질 것 없어 이럴 필요 없어
그래 난 괜찮아 귀찮았어 (귀찮았어)
솔직해져도 돼 이럴 시간 없어
정말 난 괜찮아 지겨웠어 (지겨웠어)

니가 내 욕을 해도 괜찮아 이게 내 rule
더 이상은 널 위해 쓸 시간 아까워
관심 없어 이게 내 rule
널 위해 쓸 시간 없어

아쉬운 듯 내게 변명 안 해도 돼
넌 이제 out out no no (Woo)
신경 쓸 것 없어
난 난 내 맘대로 어차피
Out out (Woo woo woo woo)

없던 일처럼
널 지우고 널 지우고
없던 일처럼
널 밀어내 또 밀어내
없던 일처럼
널 비우고 널 비우고
없던 일처럼
내일이면 괜찮을 거야

Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
ah, ah, ah, ah)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo)
내일이면 괜찮을 거야

Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
ah, ah, ah, ah)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo)
내일이면 괜찮을 거야

Oh oh oh oh Bye bye bye bye
Oh oh oh oh Yeah yeah

Oh oh oh oh Bye bye bye bye
Oh oh oh oh

Time’s Up

Nothing to regret, there’s no time for this
Now I’m okay, I was annoyed (annoyed)
You can be honest, there’s no time for this
I’m really okay, I was bored (bored)

Though you curse me, that’s okay, it’s my rule
No longer am I going to waste time on you
Not interested, it’s my rule
I’m not going to waste time on you

Feeling sorry, you don’t have to make excuses
You’re now out out no no (Woo)
Nothing to concern yourself
I, I, anyhow it’s what I want
Out out (Woo woo woo woo)

Like nothing happened,
I’ll erase you, I’ll erase you
Like nothing happened,
I’ll push you out, again push you out
Like nothing happened,
I’ll leave you, I’ll leave you
Like nothing happened,
it’ll all be okay tomorrow

Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
ah, ah, ah, ah)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo)
it’ll all be okay tomorrow

Oh oh oh oh Bye bye bye bye
Oh oh oh oh Yeah yeah

Oh oh oh oh Bye bye bye bye
Oh oh oh oh

Don’t need to change, don’t need to do this
Yeah, I’m alright, I was annoyed (annoyed)
You can be honest, there’s no time for this
I’m really okay, I was bored (bored)

Though you curse me, that’s okay, it’s my rule
No longer am I going to waste time on you
Not interested, it’s my rule
I’m not going to waste time on you

Feeling sorry, you don’t have to make excuses
You’re now out out no no (Woo)
Nothing to concern yourself
I, I, anyhow it’s what I want
Out out (Woo woo woo woo)

Like nothing happened,
I’ll erase you, I’ll erase you
Like nothing happened,
I’ll push you out, again push you out
Like nothing happened,
I’ll leave you, I’ll leave you
Like nothing happened,
it’ll all be okay tomorrow

Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
ah, ah, ah, ah)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo)
it’ll all be okay tomorrow

Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
ah, ah, ah, ah)
Time’s up (woo woo woo woo
woo woo woo woo)
Time’s up (woo)
it’ll all be okay tomorrow

Oh oh oh oh Bye bye bye bye
Oh oh oh oh Yeah yeah

Oh oh oh oh Bye bye bye bye
Oh oh oh oh

_____________________________________________________

Invoking their own brand of girl-power, there is a fairly new, 8 member girl group/band called AOA (Ace of Angels).  They debuted this summer and they’re out with a new album called “Wanna Be”.

The title track, “Get Out,” caught my eye (or ears, rather).  First, because of the synthesizer band sound to it.  Not all the members play instruments so it feels like they’re being marketed as part girl band, part girl group.  It’s an interesting concept, I guess.  You get a bit of both worlds.  Here, only a little more than half the members are promoting the title track and they’re also known as “AOA Black”.  Ehh, I’m not sure how I feel about that.  You’re still pretty new and people don’t know you or your members yet.  Splitting them up and creating subgroups might be a little premature for now.

에이오에이(AOA) – Get Out

Despite that, I’m going to choose to feature “My Song” today.  Just when you assign the track to be your average acoustic pop rock song, the rap part weaves slowly with the harmony until it takes it over.  AOA’s leader, Ji Min, wrote the rap and incorporated into the track.  The track has a nice but shifting flow to it that keeps it interesting.  On the other hand, the lyrics do leave something to be desired but it does get its point across.  The song is about not only realizing their dream but making it tangible.  With the support system they’ve got, they are going to make it big.

AOA – My Song

에이오에이(AOA) – My Song

My Song

Can you hear? Can you hear?
Can you hear my music?

시작 해보는 거야 이게 꿈은 아니야
느껴지는 대로만
두려움 따윈 없어 이제 달라질거야
마음 가는 대로만
(1 2 3 4)

Everybody up 나를 바라봐
두 손을 흔들며 Everybody say yeah

Hold me hold me 넌 모르지
I get up get up 날 지켜봐줘
Hold me hold me 내 모습은
이게 다가 아니야
I’ll let you know

Can you hear? Can you hear?
Can you hear my music?

나는 숨겨 왔었어 조금 두려웠나 봐
나를 보는 시선들
눈을 뜨면
찾아 온 아픈 상처는
이제 더는 내 것이 아니야
(1 2 3 4)

Everybody up (Everyone) 나를 바라봐
두 손을 흔들며 Everybody say yeah

Hold me hold me 넌 모르지
I get up get up 날 지켜봐줘
Hold me hold me 내 모습은
이게 다가 아니야
I’ll let you know

I’ll let me go
달라져가는 나를 지켜봐줘
I’ll let you know
네 옆에 지금 나를 바라봐줘
uh 나를 보는 시선 따위
더는 신경 안 써
아픈 상처 따위 내게 더는 상관없어
달라질 나의 미래 오직 너를 위해
부를 나의 노래 이제 시작할게

지금 이 노래 들리니
널 위해 부르는 나의 노래

Hold me hold me 보여줄게
두고 봐 난 자신 있으니까
이 세상 어떤 누구도
날 대신 할 순 없어
I’ll let you know

Hold me hold me 날 믿어줘
I get up get up 날 지켜봐줘
Hold me hold me 들려줄게
오직 하나뿐인 너
너만을 위해 um uh yeah

My Song

Can you hear? Can you hear?
Can you hear my music?

I’m going to give it a try, this isn’t a dream
Just going with how I feel
Nothing to fear, now it’s all going to change
Just going where my heart goes
(1 2 3 4)

Everybody up, look at me
Shaking both your hands, Everybody say yeah

Hold me hold me, you don’t know
I get up get up, watch me
Hold me hold me, the way I appear
This isn’t everything
I’ll let you know

Can you hear? Can you hear?
Can you hear my music?

I hid it, must have been a little scared
Of the eyes fixated on me
Opening my eyes,
the painful scars that found me
Now, no longer is it mine
(1 2 3 4)

Everybody up (Everyone), look at me
Shaking both your hands, Everybody say yeah

Hold me hold me, you don’t know
I get up get up, watch me
Hold me hold me, the way I appear
This isn’t everything
I’ll let you know

I’ll let me go
Watch how I change
I’ll let you know
Now look at me beside you
uh the eyes fixated on me
No longer am I concerned
I don’t care about the painful scars
My changing future, just for you
Starting to sing my song

Now can you hear this song?
Singing my song for you

Hold me hold me, I’ll show you
You watch, I’ve got the confidence to do it
No one else in this world
Can do it besides me
I’ll let you know

Hold me hold me, believe me
I get up get, watch me
Hold me hold me, I’ll let you hear it
The one and only you
For you, um uh yeah

Leave a Reply

