[Review] To the Beautiful You – 아름다운 그대에게

THANK YOU, TO THE BEAUTIFUL YOU!!

After watching a track and field competition one day on TV, Gu Jae Hee (Choi Sulli) comes to idolize one of the high jump atheletes, Kang Tae Joon (Choi Min Ho).  Tae Joon suffers an accident which could potentially end his career and Jae Hee transfer into the school.  However, it happens to be an all-boys high school and Jae Hee must disguise herself as a boy to enter.

Unlike most of you whose peg are the Japanese versions of Hana Kimi, I came into the show out of pure, unconditional love for the Taiwanese spinoff. Unlike most of you, I’m not really a big fan of idols, I’m more into K-Dramas and K-movies. Basically, I decided to watch To the Beautiful You just to see whether it’s going to be better (or not) than the Taiwanese Hana Kimi, which gave us solid performances from Ella Chen and Jiro Wang, and NOT because of the idol group boys.

I had very little expectations, having heard that both Choi Min Ho’s and Choi Sulli’s acting to be way below acceptable levels and comparable to that of a dead tree trunk. I hardly know any of the cast and I have that feeling that this is going to be a 16-episode SM Entertainment promotional campaign wrapped in stunning HD camera.

Instead of confirming my worst fears, To the Beautiful You did just the opposite. I never expected to fall headfirst for this drama, but boy did I. I giggled at the romantic moments between Kang Tae Joon and Gu Jae Hee, cried my heart out with Cha Eun Gyul (Lee Hyun Woo), and laughed my butt off as Ha Seung Ri (Suh Joon Young) woos Seol Han Na (Kim Ji Won). The drama makes me want to enroll in Genie High right this very second.

Acting-wise, Lee Hyun Woo was hands down the best actor of the bunch. His acting is so earnest, so heart-tugging, I could empathize with him with minimal effort. Kang Ha Neul is a close second. My heart bled for them when they cried and laughed myself silly when they shared bromantic moments. Quite surprisingly, Choi Min Ho and Choi Sulli gave decent performances given how incongruous their (most especially Sulli’s) characters were.

Most notable, however, is the beautiful cinematography which was consistent from start to end. Editing, though, felt choppy and even discordant at times. I felt that the production focused more on capturing gorgeous shots of the characters rather than giving the story a smooth flow from one event to another.

Overall, To the Beautiful You was a fun ride. It gave us a lot of moments that are not just pretty to look at but heartwarming and heartfelt as well. The OST’s rockin’, too. But just like its predecessors, one needs to check his brain cells at the door and throw logic out the window in order to fully appreciate the story. The good outweighs the bad in this wonderful high school drama about love, friendship, and everything else in between. I know that I will rewatch it again a few months from now, and rewatch it with a huge smile on my face.

And in case you’re wondering, I never though it possible, but yes, I loved it more than the one made in Taiwan. So I say, thank you, To the Beautiful You for being one of my favorite dramas of the season, perhaps, even of the year.

Rating

2 thoughts on “[Review] To the Beautiful You – 아름다운 그대에게

  1. I probably one of the few who love this drama. It’s inexplicable (even to me) why I love it. Seen the japanese series before and loves its wacky interpretation too. guess i just love it, in any version.

    Like

Leave a Reply

