Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/23/12

Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving here in the States yesterday and their fill of turkey.  For a couple of weeks, I’ve been featuring a lot of upbeat and energetic songs and I figured that it was time for a change of pace.  Navi recently released a mini album called “Real Love” but she debuted in 2008.

Since her debut, she’s made her way on the ballad scene with her sweet voice.  She’s tried her hand at the singing and songwriting before and this album is no exception.

I’m featuring “이 거리에 (In This Space)” more for the lyrics rather than the music or melody.  The music itself is like your average slow acoustic rock number but the lyrics make it feel extremely personal as her vulnerabilities are highlighted all over this song.  It’s important to note that her voice and the lyrics that she’s singing are serving two different purposes.  As for the translation of the title, the word 거리 (guh-ri) is mostly used to mean street but can also mean space.  I felt that space made more sense in this case but 거리 is also indicating where she is mentally as well as physically.

Upon listening to the first verse, I thought this was a breakup song but it’s not.  She’s in the relationship but fears a breakup that could happen in the future.  Truthfully, the lyrics are a bit indefinite but I find her uncertainty refreshingly honest.  The lyrics point to her thought process and her uncertainty about where they stand as a couple but her voice is somewhat hopeful that I kinda feel that there will be a light at the end of a dark tunnel.

Navi – 이 거리에 (In This Space)

나비(Navi) – 이 거리에

이 거리에

나 지금 여기 머물러 있어
그대가 없는 또 다른 세상
모두 사라져 버린 걸 알아
난 그게 더 두려워지는 걸

얼마나 흘러왔을까
어디쯤 서 있는 걸까

흔들리는 이 거리에
널 닮은 향기가 날 찾아와
내 맘을 두드려 내 눈물이 흐르네
끝이 없는 이 거리에
내 숨이 가득히 차올라도
그대만 있다면 난 멈추지 않을래

함께 하고픈 막연한 꿈과
잡히지 않는 멀어진 기억
계절이 지나 시간이 가도
그대만은 변하지 말아줘

조금씩 지쳐가나봐
언제쯤 그댈 볼 수 있나

흔들리는 이 거리에
널 닮은 향기가 날 찾아와
내 맘을 두드려 내 눈물이 흐르네
끝이 없는 이 거리에
내 숨이 가득히 차올라도
그대만 있다면 난 멈추지 않을래

자꾸만 슬퍼지잖아
다신 널 느낄 수 없을까

흔들리는 이 거리에
널 닮은 향기가 날 찾아와
내 맘을 두드려 내 눈물이 흐르네
끝이 없는 이 거리에
내 숨이 가득히 차올라도
그대만 있다면 난 멈추지 않을래

멈추지 않을래

In This Space

Right now I’m persisting here
And in another world, without you
I know all has disappeared
That’s what I’ve been most afraid of

How much time has flown away
Where have you gotten to?

Wavering in this space,
your familiar scent finds me
Rapping on my heart, my tears flow out
In this endless space,
Though I completely choke up
If I just had you, I don’t want to stop

Sharing indefinite dreams and
Far removed memories that we can’t capture
Though seasons pass and time goes by
As long as you don’t change

Slowly you must be growing weary
When will be able to see you?

Wavering in this space,
your familiar scent finds me
Rapping on my heart, my tears flow out
In this endless space,
Though I completely choke up
If I just had you, I don’t want to stop

We continue to be sad
Will I be able to feel you again?

Wavering in this space,
your familiar scent finds me
Rapping on my heart, my tears flow out
In this endless space,
Though I completely choke up
If I just had you, I don’t want to stop

I don’t want to stop

Leave a Reply

