Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/30/12

With all the dramatic and dark dramas out there these days, I’m in the mood for something light today.  A little frivolity never hurt anybody.  Today, I’m featuring cutesy idol groups and both of them are relatively new… ish.

Girl’s Day debuted in 2010 and since then there have been quite a few member changes.  Today, the four members are So Jin, Yura, Min Ah and Hye Ri.  Recently, they released the single “나를 잊지마요 (Don’t Forget Me)” and it’s your average k-pop song.  I didn’t even download the song until I saw the music video following the credits of some of my variety show programs.  It was honestly the chorus that caught my ear and it does take listening to it a couple of times for the catchiness to sink in.   While I did hear the chorus and began to sing along to it, I’ll admit that I wasn’t fully hearing the lyrics.

Sitting alone with the lyrics, it felt decidedly stalkerish and obsessive.  Hehe.  And ESPECIALLY the chorus.  Damn, their cute singing which made me not realize what they were saying.  Are you telling me I’ve been going around singing, ‘You’re mine, you’re mine, you’re mine, baby’?  And that part is in English!!  So that’s what all the weird stares have been about.  Or it could have been my bad singing.  Hard to tell.

Despite that, the group does a good job in making the song seem cute.  As the music video shows, it’s about Hye Ri’s first love during her school days.  Though they’ve split up, she hopes that he has not forgotten about her just like she hasn’t forgotten him.  When you put it like that, it’s kinda innocent and meant to be taken as sweet.

걸스데이(Girl’s Day) – 나를 잊지마요

나를 잊지마요

니가 손을 잡아주길 바랬어 난
너의 입술 바라보면 가슴두근
매일 일기장엔 너의 얘기들만
친구와의 낙서엔 너의 이름 이름
이름 이름

잊고 싶지 않은 너의 그 느낌
느낌 너의 눈빛
밤이 되면 꺼내보는 내 맘속
기억들 니 기억들
(I’LL REMEMBER U)

나를 잊지마요 그댄 나의 BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY
다가와서 안아줘요 그댄 나의 BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY

시간이 지나면 잊혀질 거라는
그때 니말을 기억해
하지만 나 아직도 너를 기억하고 있어 나

근사하게 교복 잘 어울리던 너
어딘지 모르게 어른같았던 널
그래서 학교에서 너를 좋아해
아무에게도 말하지 못했던 내 비밀, 비밀

잊고 싶지 않은 너의 그 느낌
느낌 너의 눈빛
밤이 되면 꺼내보는 내 맘속
기억들 니 기억들
(I’ll REMEMBER U)

나를 잊지마요 그댄 나의 BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY
다가와서 안아줘요 그댄 나의 BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY

Uh I miss u, I need u I want u
Uh I miss u, I need u I want u

그때 말하지 못했던 내 맘,
너무 부끄러워 그랬어
나도 너를 갖고 싶어 이제 Ooh uh
너를, 너를

잊고 싶지 않은 너의 그 느낌
느낌 너의 눈빛
밤이 되면 꺼내보는 내 맘속
기억들 니 기억들
(I’ll REMEMBER U)

나를 잊지마요 그댄 나의 BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY
다가와서 안아줘요 그댄 나의 BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY

Don’t Forget Me

I hoped you’d grab my hand
When I look at your lips, my heart beats
Every day in my diary, I talk about you
Doodling with a friend, your name, name,
name, name

Don’t want to forget, that feeling of you
Feeling, your gaze
When night falls, I take out my insides
Memories, memories of you
(I’LL REMEMBER U)

Don’t forget me, you’re my BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY
Come and embrace me, you’re my BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY

When time passes, I’ll gradually forget
Remember you saying that to me
But I still remember you

How great you looked in your school uniform
No matter where, you seemed like an adult
That’s why people like you at school
Couldn’t tell anyone my secret, secret

Don’t want to forget, that feeling of you
Feeling, your gaze
When night falls, I take out my insides
Memories, memories of you
(I’LL REMEMBER U)

Don’t forget me, you’re my BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY
Come and embrace me, you’re my BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY

Uh I miss u, I need u I want u
Uh I miss u, I need u I want u

Couldn’t tell you of my feelings back then
Was too embarrassed
I want to have you now, Ooh uh
You, you

Don’t want to forget, that feeling of you
Feeling, your gaze
When night falls, I take out my insides
Memories, memories of you
(I’LL REMEMBER U)

Don’t forget me, you’re my BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY
Come and embrace me, you’re my BABY
You’re Mine You’re Mine You’re My BABY

_____________________________________________________

Next up, it’s time for the boys to get their cute on.  This one is from Boyfriend’s first full-length album called “야누스 (Yanus)” but this track is a solo from Kim Dong Hyun.  A little background on the group: the group is 6-member group focusing on your typical K-pop tracks.  Despite really disliking the group’s name, I will say that while their songs may not be standout, they’re catchy and cute.

Two of the members, Jo Young Min and Jo Kwang Min, are not only brothers but identical twins, which I didn’t realize until my sister pointed it out to me in their music video.  It’s bad enough that I can’t tell apart the members of the newer idol groups but putting twins into the mix is just messing with my head further.  Having different colored hair does help things a little.

Anyhoo, Kim Dong Hyun is the oldest out of the group and the leader. It’s a sweet and humble song where he’s thankful to his significant other for being by his side.

Boyfriend – Listen (동현 Solo) (Listen (Dong Hyun Solo))

보이프렌드(Boyfriend) – Listen (동현 solo)

Listen (동현 Solo)

oh~~~ listen…
곁에 있어 줘서 고맙고
내게 맞춰줘서 고마워
항상 믿어 주는 너 땜에
얼마나 힘이 나는지 늘

(네가 있어 난) 불가능이 뭔지 모르고
(네가 있어 난) 울적 한 게 뭔지 잊었어
(네가 있어 난) 뭘 해도 될 것 같은
기분에 겁날게 하나 없는걸

남보다 잘난 것도 없고
가진 것도 없고
특별할 것 없는 내게
언제나 넌 만들어줘 someone special
나를 가장 빛나게 해

뭐 하나 해준 것도 없고
잘한 것도 없고
미안하단 말만 남은 나에게
넘칠 만큼 과한 사랑
넘칠 만큼 과한 사람
넌 내가 너보다 더 사랑할게
내 숨이 다할 때까지

힘들 때는 위로 해줬고
(누구보다 넌)
기쁠 때도 같이 웃었어
(누구보다 넌)
내 모든 시간들을 함께한
또 다른 나와 같은걸

남보다 잘난 것도 없고
가진 것도 없고
특별할 것 없는 내게
언제나 넌 만들어줘 someone special
나를 가장 빛나게 해

뭐 하나 해준 것도 없고
잘한 것도 없고
미안하단 말만 남은 나에게
넘칠 만큼 과한 사랑
넘칠 만큼 과한 사람 넌
내가 너보다 더 사랑할게
내 숨이 다할 때까지

끝까지 너와 함께 걸을 거야 오 난..
네가 내게 내준 사랑
조금씩 갚아 가면서 오~

남보다 잘난 것도 없고
가진 것도 없고
특별할 것 없는 내게
언제나 넌 만들어줘 someone special
나를 가장 빛나게 해

이제는 내가 다해줄게
내가 지켜줄게
지금까지 주기만한 너에게
내 모든걸 다 바쳐서
oh~ 내 자신을 다 던져서
oh~ 세상 누구보다 행복하게

넌 그냥 나만 보면 돼

Listen (Dong Hyun Solo)

oh~~~ listen…
Because you stayed with me, I’m thankful
Because you accommodated me, thank you
Because of you, who always believes in me
How much I gain strength from it, always

(With you, I) don’t know what’s impossible
(With you, I) forget what’s been making me blue
(With you, I) feel like I could anything
Feel like there isn’t a thing that could scare me

Compared to others I’m not as remarkable
Don’t have anything
Not all that special
As always, you make someone special
You make me shine the brightest

There’s not a single thing I did for you
Don’t have anything I’m good at
Nothing for me to say but I’m sorry
Overflowing with boundless love
Overflowing with boundless love
I love you more than you love me
Until my last breath

During hard times, you comforted me
(More than anyone else, you)
laughed with me when you were also happy
(More than anyone else, you)
spent all my time with me
And another person that’s like me

Compared to others I’m not as remarkable
Don’t have anything
Not all that special
As always, you make someone special
You make me shine the brightest

There’s not a single thing I did for you
Don’t have anything I’m good at
Nothing for me to say but I’m sorry
Overflowing with boundless love
Overflowing with boundless love
I love you more than you love me
Until my last breath

Will walk with you until the end, oh I’m..
The love you’ve given me,
will slowly pay it back, oh~

Compared to others I’m not as remarkable
Don’t have anything
Not all that special
As always, you make someone special
You make me shine the brightest

Now I’ll do it all for you
I’ll protect you
Up until now, you’ve been giving
I’ll offer all of me to you
oh~ Throwing all of me to you
oh~ Living happier than everyone else

All you have to do look at me

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/30/12

  1. Hmm, I had to seriously listen hard to the Girls Day chorus before I could recognize “You-‘re mine” broken up into 3 syllables, so I don’t think that was just you 😉

    You know, I know there are twins in Boyfriend, but I still can’t pick them out from the other guys! I feel dumb. Do I need better glasses, or is it just that hard??

    Like

Leave a Reply

