Just Bananas About: Week of 12/10/12

There are two songs I’m grooving to lately.  One’s a mainstream K-pop song and the other is an indie track.  Both are very, very different from each other but I suppose there’s gotta be a reason why I’m into both them.  Or is there?

I like Beast or B2ST or however you want to write it and interested to see how Yang Yo Seob’s solo album would fare on the market.  His title track is called “Caffeine” and it’s about breaking up with a girl and how he compares the aftermath to caffeine.  He can’t sleep at night because he’s constantly thinking about her.

I can’t quite understand why I like the song.  It’s just your average K-pop track.  There’s nothing unique about it.  Plus, he’s kinda dissing caffeine which is my lifeblood.  Right now as I’m typing this, I’m drinking my morning cappuccino.  I could so see my coffee giving me the stink eye saying, ‘Traitor.’  Not to mention that the line, ‘you’re bad to me, so bad to me,’ is… so… bad to me.  (Sorry, I totally went there.)  It makes me cringe for its poor use of English and horrible accent.

And yet, I still hummed along to this on the train to work this morning.  Aaah, dilemma.

양요섭 [비스트] – 카페인 (feat. 용준형 Of Beast)

And then there’s an indie band called the Peppertones.  They are a new band for me and the band is mainly made up of two members, Shin Jae Pyung on guitar and Lee Jang Won on Bass.  However for this album, they decided to add some more members so that the album would have a fuller sound.

I can’t say that I’m entirely in love with their whole album but I do love their title song.  It’s called “노래는 불빛처럼 다린다 (Music runs like the speed of light)” and it’s such an energy booster.  It’s worth a listen if you can’t get your caffeine fix because Yang Yo Seob is so depressed over his break up. ;op

페퍼톤스(Peppertones) – 노래는 불빛처럼 달린다

3 thoughts on “Just Bananas About: Week of 12/10/12

  1. I like Beast, but Yoseob’s solo left me…meh. I only listened through it once though. I was expecting some explosive vocals (akin to I Remember) or something kind of like Lee Seung Ki’s 되돌리다. Anyways, I am currently addicted to Block B and Primary’s album 🙂

    Like

    • Yeah, Yang Yo Seob’s track is not all that unique but now that I think about it, I think I like it because it’s got that familiar hook that I know. Can’t say I’ve listened to Block B’s new album but I am wholeheartedly in love with Primary. Bummed that I only recently discovered him.

      Like

  2. I understand. I have certain songs that always appeal to me even if they “all sound the same.” lol That is also why I find it curious I didn’t get hooked to Yoseob’s song sooner because the formula is one of the ones that always works for me. I will probably love it soon 🙂 I was so happy that I heard Primary everywhere in Korea during the summer. Heard a few songs live, and omg eargasms lol I am hoping to get my hands on his (physical) album.

    Like

Leave a Reply

