Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/4/13

Happy New Year everyone!  The holidays totally flew by and before I knew it, I found myself back to the grind.  Hope everyone enjoyed their Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, Winter Solstice, Boxing Day, New Years… did I forget anything?  The new year is technically supposed to be about looking forward but I do find myself reminiscing back.  So today’s track is an old school track.  It’s a Korean song and a pop song but to call it a K-Pop?  I suppose it some ways the description literally fits but in other ways it really doesn’t.

Okay, enough of me being cryptic.  The song is called “조조 할인 (Matinee Discount)” sung by Lee Moon Sae.  It’s a hit song from his 1996 album called “화무(花舞) (Hwa Moo)” which translates literally as flower dance.  Even back in those days, I can’t really say that he was a singer from my generation.  He was a very folky type of artist.  (I did eventually get into folk music but it wasn’t until college.)  I knew him more as an MC and entertainer rather than a singer.

But I heard this song rise through Gayo Top 10’s ranks and I just had to buy the album.  The entire album on cassette.  That’s right, I said cassette.  Even now, I can probably sing the whole song by heart every time it’s replayed.

Lee Juk is also featured on the track, back in those days when he was part of the duo, Panic, with Kim Jin Pyo.  The thing that makes the song so catchy is the fact that it’s got that 60’s pop/rock quality and there’s a guitar solo that sounds like an homage to the Beatles.

The words “조조 할인 (Jo Jo Hal In)” literally translates as early morning discount but it’s in reference to movie tickets being sold at discount prices because it’s the first showing.  In the song, he’s reminiscing about youth and his first love.  And yet, new generations of young lovers are making their own memories.  So the song looks to the past as well as looking to the future.  The music video is cheesy but in an endearing way.

이문세 – 조조 할인 with 이적

조조 할인

아직도 생각나요 그 아침 햇살속에
수줍게 웃고 있는 그 모습이

그시절 그땐 그렇게 갈 데가 없었는지
언제나 조조할인은 우리 차지였었죠
돈 오백원이 어디냐고
난 고집을 피웠지만

사실은 좀 더 일찍 그대를 보고파
하지만 우리 함께한 순간
이젠 주말의 명화 됐지만

가끔씩 나는 그리워져요
풋내 가득한 첫사랑
수많은 연인들은 지금도 그곳에서
추억을 만들겠죠 우리처럼

손님이 뜸한 월요일 극장
뒷자리에서
난 처음 그대 입술을 느낄수가 있었죠

나 자신도 믿지 못할
그 은밀한 기적속에
남자로 나는 다시 태어난 거예요

하지만 우리 함께한 순간
이젠 주말의 명화 됐지만
가끔씩 나는 그리워져요
풋내 가득한 첫사랑

하지만 우리 함께한 순간
이젠 주말의 명화 됐지만
가끔씩 나는 그리워져요
풋내 가득한 첫사랑

아직도 생각나요 그 아침 햇살 속에
수줍게 웃고 있는 그 모습이
수많은 연인들은 지금도 그곳에서
추억을 만들겠죠 우리처럼

Matinee Discount

I still remember it, in that morning’s sunlight
Shyly smiling, that image

Back in those days, there was nowhere to go
We always took advantage of that matinee discount
Where else can we get it for 500 won?
I was adamant about it

Truthfully I even wanted to see you earlier
But the time we shared together
Now it’s become a great weekend classic

Every now and then I long for it
Still fresh and alive, my first love
Countless lovers still go there now
Probably making their own memories like us

Almost empty Monday theater,
all the way in the back
was the first time I felt her lips

I couldn’t believe it
In that secretly, miraculous moment
I was born again as a man

But the time we shared together
Now it’s become a great weekend classic
Every now and then I long for it
Still fresh and alive, my first love

But the time we shared together
Now it’s become a great weekend classic
Every now and then I long for it
Still fresh and alive, my first love

I still remember it, in that morning’s sunlight
Shyly smiling, that image
Countless lovers still go there now
Probably making their own memories like us

Leave a Reply

