Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/18/13

CN Blue is back with another mini album.  It’s not a total departure from what they’ve done before but it’s a… shall we say, tweak?  They take the elements that work for their band and use it alongside other rock sub-genres.  Experimenting with different types of rock like disco rock or straight-up pop-rock and then mix it up with a little acoustic rock.  While there’s a wide variety of sounds that sound as if they’re influenced by a slew of other rock bands at the foundation of their tracks is their classic CN Blue sound.  So it’s new and yet comforting.

While their title track, “I’m Sorry,” is pretty catchy and incorporates some of their new sounds (a little hard rock mixed with some electronica elements), I’d like to feature two other songs: “Coffee Shop” and “나 그대보다 (More Than You)”.

“Coffee Shop” doesn’t really have clever lyrics.  It almost sounds like Jung Yong Hwa wrote the lyrics in about 5 minutes whilst killing some time at a coffee shop.  However the composition is catchy and it makes the lyrics sound funny rather than cheesy.  There’s no deep meaning to decipher here.  However in a strange twist, it’s the melody that sounds pretty complicated.

CN Blue – Coffee Shop

CN Blue – Coffee Shop

Coffee Shop

Coffee shop oh my coffee shop
Coffee shop oh my coffee shop

사랑하는 연인들도
슬퍼서 우는 사람들도
모두가 앉아있네 커피 한잔에
Oh 째깍 시간 보내네

과제 밀린 학생들도
일에 쫓기는 직장인도
모두가 앉아있네 커피 한잔에
Oh 째각 시간 보내네

Oh 모여봐 이리와
Everybody coffee shop
모두 다 말해봐 걱정들을 모두 다
Oh no no no no no 눈치 볼 필요 없어
Oh come on baby

Oh 모여봐 이리와
Everybody coffee shop
모두 다 말해봐 기쁜 일들 모두 다
Oh no no no no no 다 이곳에서 모여
Oh come on baby

긴 생머리 그녀들도
작업을 거는 남자들도
모두가 앉아있네
커피한잔에 Oh 째깍 시간 보내네

Oh 모여봐 이리와
Everybody coffee shop
모두 다 말해봐 걱정들을 모두 다
Oh no no no no no 눈치 볼 필요 없어
Oh come on baby

Oh 모여봐 이리와
Everybody coffee shop
모두 다 말해봐 기쁜 일들 모두 다
Oh no no no no no 다 이 곳에서 모여
Oh come on baby

Oh yeah! (Yeah!)
Oh, welcome to my place.
Oh, my lady (Woo)
Oh, my girl (Yeah!)

Ah ah I wanna dance right now,
so awesome tonight, get ready?
Say 1! (1!) 2! (2!) 1! 2! 3! Let’s go!

모여봐 즐겨봐
Everybody coffee shop
모두 다 느껴봐 지금 이순간만을
Oh no no no no no 눈치 볼 필요 없어
Oh come on baby

Oh 모여봐 이리와
Everybody coffee shop
모두 다 말해봐 기쁜 일들 모두 다
Oh no no no no no 다 이 곳에서 모여
Oh come on baby

Coffee Shop

Coffee shop oh my coffee shop
Coffee shop oh my coffee shop

In love, lovers also
Crying because they’re sad, people also
All sitting with a cup of coffee
Oh ticking, the time passes

Behind on their homework, students also
Burdened by work, office workers also
All sitting with a cup of coffee
Oh ticking, the time passes

Oh, gather ‘round, come here
Everybody coffee shop
Everyone, say it, all your troubles, everyone
Oh no no no no no, don’t worry about others
Oh come on baby

Oh, gather ‘round, come here
Everybody coffee shop
Everyone, say it, all the happy things, everyone
Oh no no no no no, gather ‘round this place
Oh come on baby

Long, straight-haired ladies also
Flirtatious men also
All sitting
With a cup of coffee, Oh ticking, the time passes

Oh, gather ‘round, come here
Everybody coffee shop
Everyone, say it, all your troubles, everyone
Oh no no no no no, don’t worry about others
Oh come on baby

Oh, gather ‘round, come here
Everybody coffee shop
Everyone, say it, all the happy things, everyone
Oh no no no no no, gather ‘round this place
Oh come on baby

Oh yeah! (Yeah!)
Oh, welcome to my place.
Oh, my lady (Woo)
Oh, my girl (Yeah!)

Ah ah I wanna dance right now,
so awesome tonight, get ready?
Say 1! (1!) 2! (2!) 1! 2! 3! Let’s go!

Gather ‘round, have fun,
Everybody coffee shop
Everyone, feel it, this moment right now
Oh no no no no no, don’t worry about others
Oh come on baby

Oh, gather ‘round, come here
Everybody coffee shop
Everyone, say it, all the happy things, everyone
Oh no no no no no, gather ‘round this place
Oh come on baby

I don’t know what it is but since Lee Jong Hyun did A Gentleman’s Dignity and sang “내 사랑아 (My Love),” I’m more aware of him.  Not only as a CN Blue band member but really as a musician.  Also, I can now pick out his voice from the group which I couldn’t really do before.  But I’ve learned that he’s had a hand in writing and composing music for the band as well.  He started out slowly by composing which then extended to writing in“First Step + 1 Thank You”.  He participated in composing/writing for “그래요 (Yeah)” on that album but to me it kinda resembled Jung Yong Hwa’s style rather than his own.

I think it’s all part of his growing pains as a musician but I love this new track of his in “Re:Blue” called “나 그대보다 (More Than You)”.  Lee Jong Hyun writes the music in collaboration with the same people who composed and wrote “내 사랑아 (My Love)” but it seems that his own style is gradually maturing and changing.

The song is about a couple who broke up but the guy wishes that his ex-girlfriend is able to move one and find happiness without him.  Despite the fact that he still loves her, he sacrifices his own happiness.  While Jung Yong Hwa’s voice is the main solo here, you can clearly hear Lee Jong Hyun having his own little solo here.  Both of their voices work really well in the song but the fragility in Lee Jong Hyun’s voice reminds me of what I felt when I first heard him sing “내 사랑아 (My Love)”.

CN Blue – 나 그대보다 (More Than You)

CN Blue – 나 그대보다

나 그대보다

멈춰버린 시간 그 안에 (그 안에)
웃고 있는 네가 보여
따뜻하게 날 안아주며
사랑해 사랑해 내게 속삭이던
You are my everything 넌 떠났지만

나 그대보다 나 그대보다 눈물이 많아
더 슬픈 건가 봐
나 그대보다 나 그대보다 더 그리워
보낼 수가 없나 봐

또 하루 가고 일년이 가도
그대가 다시 내게로 올까 봐
잊지 못하고 놓지 못하고
바보처럼 아직 사랑 하나 봐
나 그대보다

조금만 더 함께 했다면 (그대와)
조금 더 웃어줬다면
내사랑 더 안아줬다면
사랑해 사랑해
이 맘 전했다면
You are my everything 넌 떠났지만

나 그대보다 나 그대보다 눈물이 많아
더 슬픈 건가 봐
나 그대보다 나 그대보다
더 그리워 보낼 수가 없나 봐

또 하루 가고 일년이 가도
그대가 다시 내게로 올까 봐
잊지 못하고 놓지 못하고
바보처럼 아직 사랑 하나 봐
나 그대보다

나 그대만큼 나 그대만큼 착하지 않아
나 벌을 받나 봐
나 그대만큼 나 그대만큼
못해줘서
후회로만 남나 봐

내 눈물만큼 내 아픔만큼
더 행복해줘 그거면 되니까
사랑하니까 사랑하니까
너 하나만 행복하면 되니까
그대 나보다

More Than You

Within stopped time (Within)
I see you smiling
Embracing me warmly,
love you, love you, whispering to me
You are my everything, though you’ve left

More than you, more than you, got lots of tears,
Must’ve been sadder than I thought
More than you, more than you, miss you more
Must not be able to send you away

Another day passes and still a year goes by
Hoping that you’ll come back again
Can’t forget, can’t let go
Like an idiot, I must still be in love
More than you

If we spent a bit more time together (with you)
If we laughed a little more
If you embraced my love a little more
Love you, love you,
If I expressed those feelings
You are my everything, though you’ve left

More than you, more than you, got lots of tears,
Must’ve been sadder than I thought
More than you, more than you, miss you more
Must not be able to send you away

Another day passes and still a year goes by
Hoping that you’ll come back again
Can’t forget, can’t let go
Like an idiot, I must still be in love
More than you

As much as you, as much as you, I’m not that nice
Must be that I’m getting punished
As much as you, as much as you
Because I couldn’t do much for you
Must be that all that’s left are regrets

As much as I cry, as much as I hurt
Become happier because that’s all I need
Because I love you, because I love you
One and only you, all you need to be is happy
More than me

Leave a Reply

