Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/25/13

The depths of winter has finally reached me.  It’s been so mild but with the chill this week it just makes me want to snuggle in bed and listen to some smooth ballads.  Shin Jae and Kim Jae Joong both have ballad tracks which I’m featuring today but they are also very different in style and sound.

Shin Jae is that “faceless” singer that you often hear on drama OSTs.  He’s got a sweet, delicate voice that’s perfectly suited to aid the romantic storylines of dramas.  To name some of the drama OSTs he’s participated in, they are: 49 Days, Warrior Baek Dong Soo, Smile, Mom, I Need Romance, The Thousandth Man and Bride of the Sun.

He bound his recent OST contributions as well as some other tracks of his in an album called “Love”.  Fitting the title of the album, all of the songs are about love in some way or another.  The cute side of love, the all-encompassing side of love as well as the pain associated with love and heartbreak.

While technically not a song from a drama, it sounds like it should belongs to a drama.  “어떻게 니가 (How Could You)” is a song he released on his album 3 years ago and right away from the title you know it’s not a happy love song.  The title is so accusatory and in a way the song is but it doesn’t start off that way.  There is a nice, interesting progression to the song like you’re in his head, reading his thoughts.  After the breakup, he’s thankful that he had the time with her and though he wishes he could be cool and wish her well he can’t let go.  So the lyrics goes into this type of blame game in which he can’t figure out why he can’t let go as easily as she can.  In some ways, it’s pathetic but it’s also sweet to hear that emotional struggle especially since his voice shows it’s not meant to come from a place of malice.

Shin Jae – 어떻게 니가 (How Could You)

신재 – 어떻게 니가

어떻게 니가

내가 아플때 곁에 지켜준 사람
나도 잊었던 기념일을
항상 챙기던 사람
나 고마웠다고 너무 행복하다고
하지 못한말 이제야 생각나

아직도 이런 내가 너무 지겨워
애써서 생각하고 반성하는 나
생각만으로도 니 모습 반가워서
울다가 웃다가 하는 나

왜 나를 사랑한거야 사랑하게 한거야
잊을수 없게
왜 안고 웃고 잘해준거야
정말 그래야하니
죽어도 가야겠니
나는 죽어도 너를 잊지 못해

이렇게 울고 있는 내가 싫어져
너아닌 딴생각은 할 수 없는 나
자꾸만 꺼내고 꺼내는 너의 사진
행복해 보여서 눈물나

왜 나를 사랑한거야 사랑하게 한거야
잊을수 없게
왜 안고 웃고 잘해준거야
정말 그래야하니
죽어도 가야겠니
나는 죽어도 너를 잊지 못해

행복을 빌어주는 착한 이별 같은거
난 할 수 없나봐

어떻게 니가 날 버려
어떻게 니가 그래
어떻게 시작한 사랑인데
이렇게 끝내
한번 돌아선 여자
그걸로 끝이라면
이제 너 헤어진 모습 사랑할께

기다림으로 너를 사랑할께

How Could You

When I’m sick, the person who stood by me
Even the anniversaries I forgot,
the person who always remembers
That I’m thankful and extremely happy
Words not said and just remembering it now

And still, I’m exhausted of this self
Purposely reminding and punishing myself
Just thinking about it, I welcome the sight of you
Crying then laughing, me

Why did you love me, make me love you?
So I can’t forget,
why’d you hug and laugh and treat me well?
Did you really have to do that?
Do you have to go as if death was at stake?
Even if I die, I can’t forget you

I hate my crying self
Can’t think of anything else that’s not you, me
Taking out again and again, your picture
Because you look happy, it makes me cry

Why did you love me, make me love you?
So I can’t forget,
why’d you hug and laugh and treat me well?
Did you really have to do that?
Do you have to go as if death was at stake?
Even if I die, I can’t forget you

Wishing you happiness, like an amicable breakup
I must not be able to do that

How could you throw me away?
How could you do that?
Considering how we started our relationship
To end like this
Soon as a woman turns her back,
if that signals it’s over
Now I’ll love the image of you breaking up

By waiting, I’ll love you

_____________________________________________________

In a different ballad style, Kim Jae Joong released his first single mini album last week.  He previously released “One Kiss” as a single but I didn’t really get a chance to listen to it until he released the full mini album.  I know from TVXQ to JYJ and even to his solo tracks on OSTs, he’s stayed mainly in that pop and ballad arena.  I’m trying to recall if he’s gone definitively in the rock direction before but I can’t think of examples or he’s always mixed it up with that usual brand of rock pop.  His voice totally suits r0ck so well.

“One Kiss” is a rock ballad with lyrics written by him.  It was hard but I kinda had to look past the bad English grammar.  The song is obviously about this one kiss and how it’s like Red Bull; it gives him wings.  It’s this all-consuming ball of wonderfulness that encompasses a great kiss.  The song itself almost sounds like an old U2 song.  Not saying his voice sounds like Bono’s but the style in which this track is composed resembles their old style.  It crescendos matching Jae Joong’s rock-like voice.

Kim Jae Joong – One Kiss

김재중 – One Kiss

One Kiss

Born free, sadly,
but one kiss one heart
쳐진 이 숨에 맞춘 one kiss
복잡함 속에 감긴 눈에 느껴진
Oh I’ll try to show you
자유로운 세상

Why didn’t come my way?
늦진 않았나?
침묵 속 my away,
좁아진 기로에 날갤 달아준
천국으로 가는 길 보여준 그대

나로 태어나 알 수 없었던,
흔한 키스와 거친 심장이
감춰있었던 기억의 출굴
알려준 나의 그대

I’m feeling oh my way ?
늦진 않았나?
침묵 속 my away,
좁아진 기로에 날갤 달아준
천국의 비친 그대 비친 그대
비친 그대

I’m feeling,
one kiss, one heart.

I’m feeling,
one kiss, one heart.

One Kiss

Born free, sadly,
but one kiss one heart
Holding on this breath, to be met with one kiss
Complicated inside, with closed eyes I feel it
Oh I’ll try to show you
A freeing existence

Why didn’t come my way?
It’s not late?
In silence, my away,
On narrow crossroads, given me wings
You’ve shown me the way to heaven

Born as me, not knowing
A familiar kiss and a rugged heart
Blocking the hidden memories
Informing me, my you

I’m feeling oh my way?
It’s not late?
In silence, my away,
On narrow crossroads, given me wings
You’ve shown me the way to heaven
Beaming you

I’m feeling,
one kiss, one heart.

I’m feeling,
one kiss, one heart.

Leave a Reply

