Just Bananas About: Week of 1/28/13

For awhile now, I’ve been randomly giving new idol bands a listen to see whether I like them or if they have any staying power.  I’ve been dismissing most of them as just another group to add to the huge K-Pop pile.  However, despite having my initial “errr” about their name, I have been enjoying the group, Boyfriend.  The merit to this group is due in part to how they’ve been marketed but I think most of their merit, for me anyways, is that I find their songs consistently catchy.

I did previously feature one of their songs, Dong Hyun’s solo in a Playlist post but I guess it’s time to get to know the rest of the members as well.  Kim Dong Hyun is the oldest and the leader, Shim Hyun Sung and Lee Jung Min are the main and lead vocals respectively, Jo Young Min and Jo Kwang Min are the twins and the lead dancer and main rappers respectively and lastly there’s No Min Woo who is the rapper and dancer.

They are certainly not all that unique.  I’ve been listening to them since their first and self-titled album and song.  I’ll admit that it didn’t draw me in.  In fact, I balked at their audacity for choosing a group name like that.

However, the twins made enough waves in the entertainment-scape that I remembered them when they released “내 여자 손대지마 (Don’t Touch My Girl)”.  Unlike “Boyfriend” which was an overload of cute that hit the wrong note with me, this brand of cute was catchy.

Obviously, my choice not to feature them in a playlist post then was partly because they had a ways to go as a group and I may not have loved every song they released.  Their lyrics are so banal due to the fact but they’re a young inexperienced group.  Honestly, I’m okay with that but to me I wondered if they had any staying power.  To my surprise they do.  Out of many of the new idol groups out there, they’ve consistently released new albums and made their rounds on the music shows.

I think to date “아이야 (I Yah)” has given us a widest variety of the group’s style and offered us what we can expect to hear from them in the future.  (“야누스 (Yanus)” was release before “아이야 (I Yah)” but the latter has only two additional tracks than the former.)

They’ve got a long way to go but it’s worth noting that a really good note to start off is the greatest step this group could make thus far.  Out of all the newbies, I really like them so far.  My favorites in this album besides “야누스 (Yanus)” and “아이야 (I Yah)” so far are: “내 꿈꿔 (Good Night)”, “Excuse Me”, “이랬다 저랬다 (Trippin’) (현성 Solo)”, “미스터리 (Mystery)”, “Go Back”, “잘 지내니 (My Dear) (정민 Solo)” and of course, “Listen (동현 Solo)”.

 

One thought on “Just Bananas About: Week of 1/28/13

  1. I’ve recently started listening to Boyfriend myself. I am not familiar with their previous songs, but “I Yah” and “Janus” caught my attention and I see potential in them. I haven’t yet listened to the whole album, but seeing you recommending them I think I should have a listen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

