Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/8/13

Hmm… I’m conflicted about today’s playlist theme.  Originally I was gonna go with girl power but while the singers themselves are powerful, I can’t quite call the featured songs very girl power-inducing tracks.  Instead they’re raw and it exposes their vulnerabilities which is pretty courageous in its own right.  The genres may differ but they both have this sense of feeling conflicted about being practical type while gaining what they want.

Sistar19 is out with a new mini album.  By the way, how many times can this group/subgroup release “Ma Boy”? Anyhoo, as you all know Sistar19 is a subgroup made up of Hyorin and Bora from the original four member group of Sistar. The name was chosen to represent the age 19, the year before girls turn into adult women.

The title of today’s song is “나도 여자인데 (A Girl In Love)” and while their English translation gives a sense what the song is about it’s not a literal translation of the title.  The song is about that frustrating feeling of knowing that you love a guy only to wonder if he feels the same way.  As much as you’d like to not play games in a new relationship, the reality of life suggests otherwise.  You don’t want to seem clingy and yet you don’t want to give him the upper hand in the relationship but you don’t want to lose him.  It’s a fine line to walk.  The song itself has got an R&B vibe but what really drew me to it was the rap.  It’s got a nice, medium beat that makes it easy to listen to.

I had to take some licenses with the translation of the lyrics for this song because there are instances where there isn’t an accurate enough English equivalent.  They are marked by asterisks (*) which I’ll explain here.

*없는데 (up-neun-dae) literally translates as “to be without” but considering that it was used in context with the word 눈치 (noon-chi) or to have sense, it didn’t make sense to translate the echo merely as “to be without”.
**부르르 (beu-reu-reu or brrrr) is an onomatopoeia meaning to shiver, tremble, etc.  In English, “brrr” does have a similar meaning but it is usually in reference to being cold but not that your heart’s fluttering.
***떡 하니 들어와 – while 들어와 (deul-uh-wah) means to enter, the first part is an adjective to mean in a suddenly brazen manner.
****밤새 내 머릿속을 해매는데 literally translates as “all night, inside my head, I have a hard time” which is basically the equivalent of saying “stayed up all night thinking about it”.

Sistar19 – 나도 여자인데 (A Girl In Love) (I’m a Woman Too (A Girl In Love))

씨스타19 – 나도 여자인데 (A Girl In Love)

나도 여자인데 (A Girl In Love)

Everyday Every night 내 맘을 모른채
Everyday Every night 넌 나를 울려 왜

너는 왜 그렇게 말을 해도 몰라
(왜 몰라)
왜 그리 바보같이 눈치가 없는데
(없는데*)
나도 여자인데 널 사랑한다고
수백 번을 말해야 해
정말 이건 아니잖아 답답해 죽겠어

너무 답답해 내 맘이 갑갑해
너 없이 불이 꺼진 오늘밤은 깜깜해요
널 보자마자 부르르** 떨리는 내 맘
어떡하면 좋아 Uh oh Uh oh

내가 먼저 전활 할까 말까
전화기만 자꾸 손에 쥐었다 폈다
내 맘이 점점 떨려와 쉿 (여보세요?)

사랑한다 말할까 싫다고 하면
어쩌지
좋아한다 말할까
너 밖에 없다고
사랑한다 말할까
내가 별로라고 말하면 안돼 안돼요
제발 그 말만은 하지 말아요

이래봬도 여자인데
마음 착한 여자인데
사랑 그게 잘 안돼요 (I don’t like that)
이래봬도 여자인데
눈물 많은 여자인데
사랑 그게 잘 안돼요 (I don’t like that)

Everyday Every night 내 맘을 모른 채
Everyday Every night 넌 나를 울려 왜
Everyday Every night 내 맘을 모른 채
Everyday Every night 나를 혼자 두니 왜

이미 밤은 깊었는데
하늘에 달도 벌써 잠들었는데
허락 없이
왜 내 맘에 떡 하니 들어와***
밤새 내 머릿속을 해매는데****
이제는 너에 관한 모든게 다 궁금해
너의 단점 마저도
나는 좋기만 해
모두가 그만하라고 해도
날 바보라고 불러도
이제 뭘 어째
보고파 죽겠는데

사랑한다 말할까 싫다고 하면
어쩌지
좋아한다 말할까
너 밖에 없다고
사랑한다 말할까
내가 별로라고 말하면 안돼 안돼요
제발 그 말만은 하지 말아요

이래봬도 여자인데
마음 착한 여자인데
사랑 그게 잘 안돼요
이래봬도 여자인데
눈물 많은 여자인데
사랑 그게 잘 안돼요

I’m a Woman Too (A Girl In Love)

Everyday Every night Don’t realize how I feel
Everyday Every night You make me cry, why?

Why don’t you know even though I explain it
(why don’t you know)
Why are you stupidly senseless like that
(senseless*)
I’m a woman too, I’m in love with you
Do I have to say it countless times?
It’s not how it’s supposed to be, so frustrating

So frustrated, I feel so confined
Without you, tonight’s lights out is pitch black
Soon as I see you, my heart trembles**
What am I to do? Uh oh Uh oh

Should I call first or not?
My hands keep grabbing and releasing the phone
My heart continues to flutter, shh (Hello?)

If I go to say love you and instead say hate you
What to do?
Should I say I like you,
I’m nothing without you?
Should I say I love you?
Can’t, can’t say I’m nothing much to you
Please don’t say those words to me

No matter what, I’m a woman,
a kindhearted woman
Love, it doesn’t happen easily (I don’t like that)
No matter what, I’m a woman,
a tearful woman
Love, it doesn’t happen easily (I don’t like that)

Everyday Every night Don’t realize how I feel
Everyday Every night You make me cry, why?
Everyday Every night Don’t realize how I feel
Everyday Every night You leave me alone, why?

Already it’s the middle of the night
Even the moon in the sky is already asleep
Without permission
why do you invade*** my heart
Stayed up all night thinking about it****
Now I’m curious to know all about you
Though I come across your faults
I’m okay with it
Though everyone says we should breakup
Though they call me stupid
Now what am I to do?
I’m desperately missing you

If I go to say love you and instead say hate you
What to do?
Should I say I like you,
I’m nothing without you?
Should I say I love you?
Can’t, can’t say I’m nothing much to you
Please don’t say those words to me

No matter what, I’m a woman,
a kindhearted woman
Love, it doesn’t happen easily
No matter what, I’m a woman,
a tearful woman
Love, it doesn’t happen easily

_____________________________________________________

ALi has a beautiful voice.  It’s not your typical K-Pop voice because I feel like that rather than just singing the words, she’s telling a story.  Similar to Gummy, she’s got a powerful diva-like voice.  She’s in her late 20’s but her voice sounds way more mature than that.  I did not see her on Immortal Song 2 but I wonder if she is talented enough to compete on I am a Singer despite her age and experience.  It’s hard to say because I haven’t seen her doing live myself but from the recordings, I feel like she could and would do well in a format like that.

When the first notes of the song starts to play, “지우개 (Eraser)” sounds like your traditional breakup ballad.  But I think that just shows how powerful ALi’s voice could be because as soon as I get to the chorus I start getting goosebumps.  Also, the first verse of the song caught me slightly off guard because it sounded so practical when painful breakups are more about the emotion rather than anything else.  It was an interesting change of pace.

The music video is also interesting as it is beautifully, albeit tearfully, acted by the gorgeous Choi Ji Woo.  The image of the eraser in the song’s lyrics is represented by the fire in the video which is some powerful imagery.

알리(Ali) – 지우개

지우개

이별을 극복하는 법이 궁금해
인터넷 검색을 해봤더니
너무나 가슴에 와닿는 말
아파할 기간을 정해
충분히 아파 하란말

하루만 딱 하루만 아플순 없을까
그 하루도 내겐 지옥과 같으니까
쉽게 잊고 또 사랑하는 저 연인들처럼
나도 그러고 싶어

지우개로 널 지울수만 있다면
백번이고 모두 지우고 싶어
내 가슴에 문신처럼 박힌 우리의 사랑이
아무리 해도 지워지지 않아

버틸수 있을 때까지 버텨볼게
말처럼 쉽지는 않겠지만
버티다 도저히 죽을 것 같을때
그때 한번만 날 안아주겠니

지우개로 널 지울수만 있다면
백번이고 모두 지우고 싶어
내 가슴에 문신처럼 박힌 우리의 사랑이
아무리 해도 지워지지 않아

지우개로 널 지울수만 있다면
백번이고 모두 지우고 싶어
내 가슴에 문신처럼 박힌 우리의 사랑이
아무리 해도 지워지지 않아
아무리 해도 지워지지 않아

Eraser

Curious about how to recover from a breakup
Though I search the internet
Words that truly touch my heart
Establishing a length of time to be hurt for
Words saying to fully embrace the hurt

Just one day, only one day, can’t I not hurt?
That day will it still feel like I’m in hell
Easily forget and love again like those lovers
I want to do that

If I could only erase you with an eraser
I want to erase everything a hundred times
Like a tattoo stamped on my heart, our love
No matter what I do it won’t erase

As long as I can endure it, I’ll try to endure
Like they all say, it may not be easy
As I endure, if I feel like I can go on anymore
Would you be able to embrace me just once?

If I could only erase you with an eraser
I want to erase everything a hundred times
Like a tattoo stamped on my heart, our love
No matter what I do it won’t erase

If I could only erase you with an eraser
I want to erase everything a hundred times
Like a tattoo stamped on my heart, our love
No matter what I do it won’t erase
No matter what I do it won’t erase

Leave a Reply

