Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/15/13

Happy Belated Valentine’s Day to those that celebrated yesterday or are planning to celebrate it this weekend.  This week, I’m featuring indie love songs.  Some are the sugary sweet variety while others bring out the bad boys’ style that many girls love.

It’s nice to see Clazziquai back with a new album.  Not that their solo endeavors weren’t exciting and it’s nice to see Alex back after his hiatus due to his DUI but I so love the loungey pop sounds of this trio.  You’ve got DJ Clazzi who has got a great understanding of electronica, pop and jazz and Horan and Alex who have this great vocal chemistry.  Their sound is in the easy listening category without making you feel old.

The title track on “Blessed” is “러브 레시피(Love Recipe)” and like the title suggests it’s a sweet, aromatic love song.  It’s about how people would describe all the ingredients that describe love including learning to adapt to their tastes.  The music is rhythmically calming aided by Horan and Alex’s melodic voices.

Clazziquai – 러브 레시피

러브 레시피

솔직하게 말하면 달콤한 건 싫었어.
니가 좋아한 뜨거운 커피, 나른한 비도
그저 함께 있었지.그저 니가 좋아서
이제 어느새
커피 향기에 고개 돌리네

니가 남긴 메세지 우리 웃는 사진들
내게 알려준 날 위한 너의 비밀 recipe
니가 남긴 것들이 이젠 나의 전부야
지금 바로 너에게 할 말이 있어 baby

Love 내 곁엔 온통 너뿐이야
Love 빗소리마저 눈이 부셔
Love 내 표정까지 너를 닮아가
잠드는 시간마저 아까워

Love 조금 더 목소릴 들려줘
Love 조금 더 간직할 수 있게
Love 니가 있는 이 세상이 좋아
오, 이제야 너를 발견했으니

솔직하게 말하면 뜨거운 건 싫었어
사랑한다고 말하나마나 다시 떠나고
넌 조금 달랐어 다시 생각해봤어
지금 바로 너에게 할 말이 있어 baby

Love 내 안엔 온통 너뿐이야
Love 지난 눈물조차 눈이 부셔
Love 내 눈빛까지 너를 닮아가
너를 모른 시간이 아까워

Love 조금 더 네 얘길 들려줘
Love 조금 더 너를 알 수 있게
Love 니가 있는 이 세상이 좋아
오 이제야 너를 발견했으니

Let me, let me
Love 내 안엔 온통 너뿐이야
Love 지난 눈물조차 눈이 부셔
Love 내 눈빛까지 너를 닮아가
너를 모른 시간이 아까워

Love 조금 더 네 얘길 들려줘
Love 조금 더 너를 알 수 있게
Love 니가 있는 이 세상이 좋아
오 이제야 너를 발견했으니
Love love love

Love Recipe

If I can be honest, I don’t like sweet things
The hot coffee that you like, and the listless rain
Only stayed with it, just because you liked it
Now before I knew it,
the coffee scent makes me turn my head

The message you left, the smiling photo of us
For my sake, letting me know, your secret recipe
Things you left behind mean everything to me now
Have something to tell you right now baby

Love, by me there’s entirely just you
Love, hit by the sound of rain makes me squint
Love, my expressions resemble yours
Even the time I spend sleeping is precious

Love, let me hear your voice a little more
Love, so I can cherish you a little more
Love, I like this world that you’re in
Oh, now that I’ve just discovered you

If I can be honest, I didn’t like things that are hot
Saying I love you or not, again putting aside
You’re a bit different, again thought about it
I have something to tell you now baby

Love, in me there’s entirely just you
Love, even crying in the past made me squint
Love, even the look in my eyes resemble yours
All that time spent not knowing you is a waste

Love, let me hear about you a little more
Love, so I can know you a bit more
Love, I like this world that you’re in
Oh, now that I’ve just discovered you

Let me, let me
Love, in me there’s entirely just you
Love, even crying in the past made me squint
Love, even the look in my eyes resemble yours
All that time spent not knowing you is a waste

Love, let me hear about you a little more
Love, so I can know you a bit more
Love, I like this world that you’re in
Oh, now that I’ve just discovered you
Love love love

There are a lot of songs on this album that I like and notable mention goes to “Like a Diamond” whose lyrics make it feels like it should be the theme song to the next Bond movie.  Or, “꽃잎 같은 먼지가 (Dust that’s like Flower Petals)” which has got a soft rock beat and a don’t give up, I’ll be by your side-type of message.

To be frank, I love “그녀는 위대해 (She is Great)” on this album more.  It’s a hip electronic pop track that reminds me a bit of Ace of Base every time they sing that line, “그녀는 위대해 (She is great), slam…”  Rapper MYK lends his voice for the rap which is nice since his voice is so deep that it provides a good contrast with Horan’s voice.  Considering the way he describes himself on the track, this guy is not all that he’s cracked up to be.  He’s got his faults but he’s into her and praises her charms.

Clazziquai -그녀는 위대해 (She is Great)

Clazziquai – 그녀는 위대해

그녀는 위대해

그녀는 일방적 멋대로 우기고
and more
맘대로 모두 해야 해
화가 나도 그녈 보면 다 풀려

그녀는 매력적 너무나 귀여워
and more
모두 다 예쁘지는 않니
찡그리는 미간도 귀여워
그녀는 위대해
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel
그녀는 위대해
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel

I love the way that you move me
It’s truly crazy
You got me floating up on two feet
And you’re above that too
when I gotta have you,
I’m buzzing off this feeling
that you shoot me
Ooh wee feeling like a lil’ boy
And you’re my dream girl
My see you in my dreams girl
Can’t even front man she got me good
Now I’m calling off the hook like
She thought I would

그녀는 치명적 독특한 취향과
and more
나와는 모든 게 다르지
그래서 모든 것이 신선해

그녀는 도발적 언제나 즉흥적
and more
그녈 꼭 사로잡고 싶어
어떡하면 나에게 반할까

그녀는 위대해
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel

그녀는 위대해
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel

나의 매력에 완전 빠졌니
나는 이기적 아주 어렵지
너만 좋다면 Any time you try
우리 시작해 Can I have you now that I
You must have wings

Cuz you’re my angel and it seems
How you tangle through the scenes
I’m unable to get free from this thing
And I want you so bad
that I can’t get you out of my head
it’s impossible to me
You’re just sitting on my mind
when I’m wishing I could find
the right words to describe
How you rock your body,
girl you got me

그녀는 위대해
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel

그녀는 위대해
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel

그녀는 일방적 멋대로 우기고
and more
그녀는 매력적 너무나 귀여워
and more
그녀는 치명적 독특한 취향과
and more
그녀는 도발적 언제나 즉흥적
and more

She is Great

She’s unilaterally persistent as she pleases
and more
Does everything that she wants to
Even if I get mad, I calm down when I see her

Her charms are so cute
and more
It’s not all pretty
Even her frown is cute
She is great
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel
She is great
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel

I love the way that you move me
It’s truly crazy
You got me floating up on two feet
And you’re above that too
when I gotta have you,
I’m buzzing off this feeling
that you shoot me
Ooh wee feeling like a lil’ boy
And you’re my dream girl
My see you in my dreams girl
Can’t even front man she got me good
Now I’m calling off the hook like
She thought I would

She’s deadly with distinctive tastes
and more
Totally different from me
So everything is brand new

She’s provocative, always spontaneous
and more
Definitely want to capture her
What should I do to make her fall for me?

She is great,
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel

She is great
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel

Have you fallen for my charms?
I’m selfish, very difficult
If you’re okay with that, Any time you try
Our start, Can I have you now that I
You must have wings

Cuz you’re my angel and it seems
How you tangle through the scenes
I’m unable to get free from this thing
And I want you so bad
that I can’t get you out of my head
it’s impossible to me
You’re just sitting on my mind
when I’m wishing I could find
the right words to describe
How you rock your body,
girl you got me

She is great
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel

She is great
You are just like an angel
You are just like an angel

She’s unilaterally persistent as she pleases
and more
Her charms are so cute
and more
She’s deadly with distinctive tastes
and more
She’s provocative, always spontaneous
and more

_____________________________________________________

Enough of that typical, sugary love song.  Here’s an indie artist called 음란소년 (Naughty Boy).  I have to admit that I don’t know much of anything about the artist himself.  It was even hard to find one picture of him if in fact this is really him.

However, he’s got a witty sense of humor.  You can find him posting on his Facebook page but I love that he describes himself as: “Not a pervert, just curious about a lot of things”.  Ha.

Considering the name, I expected hip hop or rock but he does that brand of indie pop where the sound is kinda soft and loungey.  I first heard him on this week’s episode of 1 Night 2 Days when they played “Roman Realizer” from his first full-length studio album called “오빠는 이러려고 너 만나는거야 (Oppa is Doing This to Date You)”.

Unfortunately, I had difficulty finding the whole album online except for the title song, “이름이 뭐였더라 (What Was Your Name Again?)”.  The catchy piano pop melody drew me in and as I was listening to the song it had me going, ‘Aww, what a sweet love song.’  That is, until I get to the line, ‘What was your name again?’  Ha, the song is a love confession except it illustrates how relationships are formed in this modern contemporary world.  These days many young people reside in a big metropolis city and a hookup is only a mobile click away.  It’s an unexpected twist that follows all the compliments he’s sending her way.

Naughty Boy – 이름이 뭐였더라 (What Was Your Name Again?)

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/03-ec9db4eba684ec9db4-ebad90ec9880eb8d94eb9dbc.mp3%20

음란소년 – 이름이 뭐였더라

이름이 뭐였더라

너라는 여자 진짜 나빴어
얼마나 보고 싶었는지 알아
이제야 널 이렇게 보니까
난 세상을 모두 가진 것만 같아
찰랑대는 머리 잘록한 네 허리
하지만 I’ll never be dirty dirty dirty
오해하지 말고 들어줄래
오늘부터 우리 사랑 시작할래

널 좋아해 널 사랑해 너 그런데
이름이 뭐였더라
갑자기 가방은 왜 싸
그 물 컵엔 손대지마
Who I need is you. Who I love is you.
너뿐이죠 근데
이름이 뭐였더라
그래도 오해하진 마
내 사랑엔 변함없어

지금 짓는 그 표정은 뭐야
왜 내 말을 믿지 못하는 거야
멘트 같은 거 나는 잘 몰라
그냥 솔직한 내 맘을 말할 뿐야
눈 부시는 Halo 안고 싶어 두 팔로
너 말고 딴 여잔 다 별로 별로 별로
오해하지 말고 들어줄래
오늘 밤엔 나와 함께 있어줄래

널 좋아해 널 사랑해 너 그런데
이름이 뭐였더라
갑자기 가방은 왜 싸 그 물 컵엔 손대지마
Who I need is you. Who I love is you.
너뿐이죠 근데
이름이 뭐였더라
그래도 오해하진 마
내 사랑엔 변함없어

널 좋아해 널 사랑해 너 그런데
이름이 뭐였더라
갑자기 가방은 왜 싸
그 물 컵엔 손대지마
Who I need is you. Who I love is you.
너뿐이죠 근데
이름이 뭐였더라
그래도 오해하진 마
내 사랑엔 변함없어

What Was Your Name Again?

A woman like you is really bad
Do you know how much I missed you?
Seeing you now this way
Feel like I own the whole world
Swishing hair, your slender waist
But I’ll never be dirty dirty dirty
Don’t get the wrong idea, but would you just listen?
Starting from today I want to begin our love

I like you, love you, but you
What was your name again?
All of a sudden why pack your bags?
Don’t touch that glass of water
Who I need is you. Who I love is you.
There’s only you, but
What was your name again?
Still don’t get the wrong idea,
my love hasn’t changed

That facial expression, what does it mean?
Why don’t you believe me?
I don’t really know things like lines
Just saying what’s honestly in my heart
Dazzling Halo, want to hug it with both arms
Besides you, all other women are lame, lame, lame
Don’t get the wrong idea, but would you just listen?
Tonight, would you stay with me?

I like you, love you, but you
What was your name again?
All of a sudden why pack your bags?
Don’t touch that glass of water
Who I need is you. Who I love is you.
There’s only you, but
What was your name again?
Still don’t get the wrong idea,
my love hasn’t changed

I like you, love you, but you
What was your name again?
All of a sudden why pack your bags?
Don’t touch that glass of water
Who I need is you. Who I love is you.
There’s only you, but
What was your name again?
Still don’t get the wrong idea,
my love hasn’t changed

Leave a Reply

