Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/22/13

I’m featuring two recent songs today.  One is a rock ballad while the other is a cute ‘Do you love me or not?’ number.

I kept hearing Led Apple’s “I’ll Be There For You” while watching Level 7 Civil Servant.  The song is a rock ballad but it’s such a nicely composed melody and Han Byul’s voice captures the emotion of that melody so well.  The song feels like a Beatles number which is why it peaked my interest when I first heard it.  Han Byul heard the demo track and wrote the lyrics for the song himself.

The song is about what happens after a breakup.  It’s obvious that he stills cares for her even though they’re not together and promises to stand by her side.

Led Apple – I’ll Be There For You

레드애플(Led apple) – I’ll Be There For You (KOR ver.)

I’ll Be There For You

이별은 짧고 아픔은 꽤 길다
이쯤이야 했던 게
꽤나 날 아프게 붙잡는다.
겨우 이별이라 쉽게 널 보내고선
대단치 못한 내 가슴이
널 놓지 못한다.

I’ll be there for you
늦어서 못한 말
어른스레 꼭 하려던 말
I’ll be there for you 상처 난 우리,
우리 이별을 아물게 할까봐
끝내 못한 말
I’ll be there for you

좋은 이별이라 생각지도 못했던
가슴앓이가 왜 그리 널 놓지 못할까

I’ll be there for you
늦어서 못한 말
어른스레 꼭 하려던 말
I’ll be there for you 상처 난 우리,
우리 이별을 아물게 할까봐
끝내 못한 말
I’ll be there for you

사실 알고 있던 거짓말
이 세상 어디에도 없던 말
좋은 이별이란 건 거짓말

한참 부르던 나의 노래들이
감정 없이 들려와 울지도 못하게 ,
왜 그런지

I’ll be there for you
늦어서 못한 말
어른스레 꼭 하려던 말
I’ll be there for you 상처 난 우리,
우리 이별을 아물게 할까봐
끝내 못한 말
I’ll be there for you

사실 알고 있던 거짓말
이 세상 어디에도 없던 말
Just know that I’ll be there for you

I’ll Be There For You

The breakup is quick but the hurt lasts long
The thing I was supposed to do now
Is having a quite painful hold on me
Merely a breakup, I just let you go
Couldn’t downplay my heart
I can’t let you go.

I’ll be there for you,
cause it’s too late, the words I couldn’t say
maturely, the words I always wanted to say
I’ll be there for you, the scars we have
We should heal from the breakup
Finish the words we couldn’t say
I’ll be there for you

A good breakup is something I never thought of
Why can’t the bottom of my heart let you go?

I’ll be there for you,
cause it’s too late, the words I couldn’t say
maturely, the words I always wanted to say
I’ll be there for you, the scars we have
We should heal from the breakup
Finish the words we couldn’t say
I’ll be there for you

Truthfully, I know about that lie
Words that can’t be expressed anywhere in this world
A good breakup is just a lie

The songs I’ve been singing for awhile
Sounds emotionless, can’t cry
Why is it like that?

I’ll be there for you,
cause it’s too late, the words I couldn’t say
maturely, the words I always wanted to say
I’ll be there for you, the scars we have
We should heal from the breakup
Finish the words we couldn’t say
I’ll be there for you

Truthfully, I know about that lie
Words that can’t be expressed anywhere in this world
Just know that I’ll be there for you

_____________________________________________________

I’ve been watching Rainbow for some time now.  Each of the seven members has a color in correlation to the colors of the rainbow.  I was a little surprised to find out that they debuted in 2009.  They still feel like a new group that’s still working out their debut kinks.  However, I guess that means that they haven’t gone as far with their music like their other 2009 peers.

Lately, many of the members have been busy with solo schedules.  I think I almost prefer the members of this group as a solo act.  I have been really enjoying Kim Ji Sook as an addition to the regular on Strong Heart before it ended.  However, I just don’t recognize the members when they’re together as a group.  Oy, what does that say about the group?

I did find “Tell Me Tell Me” to be catchy.  It’s off of their most recent album called “Rainbow Syndrome”.  It’s a cute poppy number where the girl is asking the guy to define what their relationship.  Are they friends or more than friends?  Of course, she’s thinks it’s the latter.

Red Rocket is the producing team behind this number and worked in collaboration with C-No for the lyrics.  And according to the description of this track, it’s a Korean and American collaboration.  Which begs me to question why the lyrics have some strange grammar.  I don’t necessarily want to dismiss it as bad because I’m not sure if the phrasing was changed so that the English sections would fit seamlessly with the Korean sections and the beat of the song.  I get how that could get a little tricky.

The music video though is nothing to write home about.  With the flat lighting, trite setup and uninteresting dance moves, I thought the video was very plain.  Even their outfits were plain.  I guess it’s enough that I just find the song a bit catchy.

레인보우(Rainbow) – Tell Me Tell Me

Tell Me Tell Me

ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh~

딴 여자들 앞에선 내 손 놓고
친한 친구라며 어색해하고
가끔씩 난 너의 Just girl 이제 난 지쳐가

5 5 5 4 3 2 1 셀 수도 없는 걸
시간만 버는 걸
It’s time for us to talk
네가 날 오해하게 하잖아
확실하게 말을 해 Shh Anyway

Tell me Tell me
어서 말을 해줘 내가 니 여자라고
Oh Honey You You You You
헷갈리게 하지 좀 마
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love

5 4 3 2 1 Bingo 네게 미소 짓고
니 맘을 훔치고 그래 봤자 미로
복잡한 사이고
기다리고 있어 힘들어 Anymore

난 니 연락처 속 수많은 여자
애들 중에 한사람인 것 같아
네가 날 오해하게 하잖아
확실하게 말을 해 Shh Anyway

Tell me Tell me
어서 말을 해줘 내가 니 여자라고
Oh Honey You You You You
헷갈리게 하지 좀 마
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love

Boy 마지막 기회인 걸 아니면 In trouble
사랑한다 말해 아니면 In trouble
우린 마치 연인처럼 너무 잘 지내왔잖아

Yeah My love My boy My love My boy
So 오늘은 꼭 듣고 싶어
Yeah My love My boy My love My boy
My love My boy My My love My boy
날 사랑한다고 Anyway

Tell me Tell me
어서 말을 해줘 내가 니 여자라고
Oh Honey You You You You
헷갈리게 하지 좀 마
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love

Tell Me Tell Me

ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh~

Letting my hand go in front of other girls
Saying I’m a close friend, awkwardly
Occasionally saying I’m Just girl is now tiring

5 5 5 4 3 2 1 Can’t count it
Just buying time
It’s time for us to talk
You’re giving me the wrong idea
Say it clearly, Shh Anyway

Tell me Tell me
Say it already, that I’m your girl
Oh Honey You You You You
Don’t make me confused
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love

5 4 3 2 1 Bingo, Smiling at you
Stealing your heart, even so it’s just a maze
Complicated relationship,
I’m waiting and it’s tough Anymore

I’m one of the many women in your contacts
Feel like I’m just one of the boys
You’re giving me the wrong idea
Say it clearly, Shh Anyway

Tell me Tell me
Say it already, that I’m your girl
Oh Honey You You You You
Don’t make me confused
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love

Boy, this is your last chance or else, In trouble
Say I love you or else, In trouble
We’ve been really great together like a couple

Yeah My love My boy My love My boy
So I want to hear it today
Yeah My love My boy My love My boy
My love My boy My My love My boy
That you love me, Anyway

Tell me Tell me
Say it already, that I’m your girl
Oh Honey You You You You
Don’t make me confused
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love
hoo hoo hoo hoo I wanna be, be your Love

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/22/13

  1. I feel so bad for Rainbow. They had hit songs A, Mach, and Sweet Dream around 2 years ago, but they weren’t able to build off from the success. Mach is still one of my favorite kpop songs. I was disappointed that they didn’t come back with a similar strong sounding song this time around, but Tell Me Tell Me has grown on me. It’s very catchy and cute, but the rap part is…meh.

    I don’t really care for LEDApple, but I do like I’ll Be There For You. I like the vocalist’s voice, but they haven’t really had a great song yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

