Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/15/13

I like Huh Gak.  He’s one of those artists who has remained consistent since he debuted.  However, it usually takes me awhile to take notice whenever he has a new release.  It’s not that I don’t like the songs.  It’s more like there’s a slow burn.  Which makes him perfect for drama OSTs.  It doesn’t distract from what’s going on in the drama but by the time the drama plays his song for the 100th time, I can’t get it out of my mind.

That’s how I feel about his first full-length studio album, “Little Giant”, which came out about a month ago.  He sings his usual brand of ballads which are good but I also like that we get to see some different styles to this steady seller.

“1440” is one of the title songs on the album and what’s amusing is the track is a little bit country.  The song is about how much he thinks about the girl and how he wants to take the next step.  He’s eager to find out if she likes him as much as he likes her.  The music video is cute and sweet but I could do without Huh Gak’s dancing.  It just looks super hokey.

허각 – 1440

1440

하루 1440번
계속 니가 생각나
내가 좀 집착이 있나 할 정도로
가만히 TV를 보다
계속 니가 생각나
드라마 여주인공들보다

떨리는 맘은 놀이기구를 타고
니 얼굴보다 좋아서
땅을 보는 건 아냐
간지러워 했던 말은 내가 다하고
내가 좀 이상해졌나 봐

널 이렇게 사랑하는 나보다
나를 사랑하는 니가 됐으면
내 머리속에 사는 그대가
하늘 위를 걷는 날 봤으면
널 이렇게 바라보는 나보다
나만 바라보는 니가 됐으면
너를 기다리는 지금
이상한 떨림이
나를 더 설레게 해
오늘은 뭔가 될 거 같은 DAY
차가 막혀도 모든 게 아름답고
지나가는 연인 보면
나도 같이 설레고
봐도 보고싶어
넌 뭘 하고 있을지
하루 종일 너만 생각나

널 이렇게 사랑하는 나보다
나를 사랑하는 니가 됐으면
내 머리속에 사는 그대가
하늘 위를 걷는 날 봤으면
널 이렇게 바라보는 나보다
나만 바라보는 니가 됐으면
너를 기다리는 지금
이상한 떨림이
나를 더 설레게 해
오늘은 뭔가 될 거 같은 DAY

라 랄라랄라 라 라 랄라랄라 라
라 랄라랄라 라 라
라 랄라랄라 라 라 랄라랄라 라라 랄라라

이렇게 너를 사랑하는 나보다
날 사랑하는 니가 됐으면
너를 기다리는 지금
하늘에 감사해
니가 내게 있으니
니가 나를 보며 웃고 있으니

1440

1440 times a day
Keep thinking of you
To the point where I might be a bit obsessed
As I quietly watch TV
Keep thinking of you
More than the heroine in dramas

My trembling heart seems to ride a rollercoaster
‘Cause I like you more than your face
is not why I’m looking at the floor
Say words that I find awkward
I must be turning a bit strange

More than me loving you like this
Hope that you’ll come to love me
You, who is living in my head
If you see me walking on clouds
More than me seeing you like this
Hope that you’ll come to see me
This moment waiting for you
Strange anticipation
Makes me more nervous
Today feels like something will happen, DAY
Though there’s traffic, all is beautiful
Looking at the passing couples,
I also feel nervous
As I’m looking, I miss you,
wondering what you’re up to
Think of you all day long

More than me loving you like this
Hope that you’ll come to love me
You, who is living in my head
If you see me walking on clouds
More than me seeing you like this
Hope that you’ll come to see me
This moment waiting for you
Strange anticipation
Makes me more nervous
Today feels like something will happen, DAY

La lallalalla la la lallalalla la
La lallalalla la la
La lallalalla la la lallalalla lala lallala

More than me loving you like this
Hope that you’ll come to love me
This moment waiting for you
I thank the heavens
That you have me
That you’re looking and smiling at me

You know what they say about regrets. Shoulda, woulda, coulda. “간단한 이야기 (A Simple Story)” is about the aftermath of a breakup and he wants another chance. For him, his love for her is a simple story but he realizes that he needs to act. I love that the lyrics allude to him singing his feelings for her because it reveals a little more about the protagonist of this song. Merely saying the words is not enough. He needs to make an event out of it. Featuring on the track is Miryo from Brown Eyed Girls and you know how I love it when she raps. The two create a very harmonious duet.

Huh Gak – 간단한 이야기 (feat. 미료 Of Brown Eyed Girls) (A Simple Story (feat. Miryo Of Brown Eyed Girls))

허각 – 간단한 이야기 (feat. 미료 Of Brown Eyed Girls)

간단한 이야기

하루 하루가 어떻게 지나갔는지 모르겠어
난 아직 네가 필요한데도 애써
널 그렇게 떠나보내야만 했어
이해 못하겠단 표정은 됐어
모든 일이 내 맘처럼 돌아가지를 않아
이별이 대안처럼 돼버렸어 맞아
나같은 여잔 잊고 떠나도 돼
하지만 널 잊겠다는 말은 못해

아직 못다한 말들이 남았는데
내 입가에 맴도는 널 위한 말이
오늘만은 꼭 오늘만은 다 전해주고 싶은데

한번도 말 못한 간단한 이야기
가슴 깊이 묻어둔 그 얘기
널 위해 준비한 이 노랠 부를게
조금만 더 기다려주면
너에게 전할 수 있는 말
오랜 시간 아껴온 바로 그 말
내 맘을 담아서 이 노랠 부를게
널 사랑한다고

하늘에 태양이 뜨고 지고
계절이 변해가 모두가 바뀌고
너도 다른 삶을 꿈꾸겠지
그런데 나만 제자리 그대로겠지
나 아직도 꿈 꿔 너와 같이 걷던 거기를
아직도 그리워 내 머릴 헝크리던 손길
잠시 떨어져 있는 것뿐이라고
믿고 있어 내겐 오직 너뿐이니까

그래 오늘이 아니면 안되는데
내 가슴에 맺히는 아픈 한마디
몇 번이고 소리쳐보고
속삭여주고 싶었는데

한번도 말 못한 간단한 이야기
가슴 깊이 묻어둔 그 얘기
널 위해 준비한 이 노랠 부를게
조금만 더 기다려주면
너에게 전할 수 있는 말
오랜 시간 아껴온 바로 그 말
내 맘을 담아서 이 노랠 부를게
널 사랑한다고

조금만 더 기다리면 올텐데

조금만 더 날 기다려줘 baby
조금만 더 날 믿어줘 baby
조금만 더 뒤에 내게 다시 기회를 줘

내게 와주면
널 위해 준비한 이 노랠 부를게
조금만 더 기다려주면

너에게 전할 수 있는 말
오랜 시간 아껴온 바로 그 말
이 마음 그대로 변하지 않을게
널 사랑한다고
참 간단한 이야기인데

A Simple Story

Don’t know how the days went by
Struggling over how I still need you
You had to leave me like that
Enough with showing I don’t understand
Not everything goes the way I hope
It’s like the alternative of a breakup
Forget a woman like me
But I can’t say I’ll forget you

There’s still words left unsaid
Circling the corner of my mouth, words for you
Just today, definitely today want to tell you

Haven’t said once, a simple story
Buried deep in my heart, those words
For you, I’ve prepared this song to sing
If you could just wait a little longer
I can tell you these words
Words I’ve saved for a long time
Put my heart in this song and sing
That I love you

The sun in the sky rises and falls
Seasons change, everyone changes
You’ll also dream of another life
But I might just remain in the same place
I still dream about the streets we used to walk
Still long for it, the hand that tousles my hair
Thinking we’re just separated for now
I believe it, that you’re the only one for me

Yeah, if it’s not today, it can’t be
In my heart, bearing that hurtful word
Several times, I try to scream,
Though I want to whisper

Haven’t said once, a simple story
Buried deep in my heart, those words
For you, I’ve prepared this song to sing
If you could just wait a little longer
I can tell you these words
Words I’ve saved for a long time
Put my heart in this song and sing
That I love you

If you could just wait a little longer, I’ll come

Just wait for me a little longer baby
Just believe me a bit more baby
Just a little after the fact give me another chance

If you come to me
For you, I’ve prepared this song to sing
If you could just wait a little longer

I can tell you these words
Words I’ve saved for a long time
Won’t change this heart
That I love you
It’s really a simple story

Finally, there’s “백수가 (The Unemployed)”. A lot of the songs I feature usually have to do with confessing love or breaking up that it’s refreshing when you read lyrics that speak on other subject matters. This song clearly feels like a song for young adults. Freshly out of college, you have the rest of your life ahead of you except adulthood isn’t quite what you expected it to be. It’s that moment when you realize that it may not be so easy to chase your dream and chase reality.

The song has a nice OST element to it. The song was composed by Yoo Ki Hyuk who often composes J-Pop music but this was his first opportunity to compose for a Korean singer. The song feels like the hero will be able to have their Mary Tyler Moore moment.

Huh Gak – 백수가 (The Unemployed)

허각 – 백수가

백수가

내 늦잠을 깨우는 햇살이 비추면
그제서야 졸린 눈 비비며
하루가 시작돼
오늘은 무얼 할까 한참을 고민 하다
담배 한 개피 물고
창가에서 먼 산만 봐

오늘 따라 왠지 멀게 보이는
저 하늘에 내 모습을 비추어본다
꿈을 잃어 버린 소년의 노래를
불러본다 저기 저 하늘을 향해

그래도 달려 갈거야 널 위해
누가 뭐래도 포기 않을거야
지금 나를 비춰주는 모든 것들이
빛을 잃을 때까지
잠시 길을 잃어버린 거라고
처음부터 다시 시작할거라고 네게
조심스레 다짐해본다
걱정 하지마 잘 될거야

작은 창문을 열고 밖을 내다보면
모두들 무언가를 찾아서 바삐 움직이고
무심코 바라본
내 작은 창에 비치는
초라한 내 모습에 슬퍼져 눈을 돌려
오늘 따라 왠지 멀게 보이는
저 하늘에 내 모습을 비추어본다
꿈을 잃어 버린 소년의 노래를
불러본다 저기 저 하늘을 향해

그래도 달려 갈거야 널 위해
누가 뭐래도 포기 않을거야
지금 나를 비춰주는 모든 것들이
빛을 잃을 때까지
잠시 길을 잃어버린 거라고
처음부터 다시 시작할거라고 네게
조심스레 다짐해본다
걱정 하지마 잘 될거야

꿈을 안고 살아가는 지금이
조금은 힘들고 지치기도 해
가끔씩은 지나간 일 생각하면서
후회하기도 하지만
잠시 길을 잃어버린 거라고
처음부터 다시 시작할거라고 네게
걱정하지마 잘 될거야

The Unemployed

The sunshine waking me from sleeping in
Only then rubbing my sleepy eyes and
my day begins
Contemplate what I should do today
Holding tobacco in my mouth,
I look at the mountains from the window

Looking a little far today
Looking at my reflection in those skies
The song of a boy who lost their dreams,
I sing it towards those heavens

But I’ll run towards it for you
No matter what anyone says, I won’t give up
All the things that have shed their light for me
Until it fades
I’ll just say that I briefly lost my way
That I’ll start over from the beginning, you
appear cautious and resolved
Don’t worry, all will be well

Open the small window and look out
Everyone is busily looking for something
Thoughtlessly looking,
reflecting in my small window
My pathetic image makes me sad and look away
Looking a little far today
Looking at my reflection in those skies
The song of a boy who lost their dreams,
I sing it towards those heavens

But I’ll run towards it for you
No matter what anyone says, I won’t give up
All the things that have shed their light for me
Until it fades
I’ll just say that I briefly lost my way
That I’ll start over from the beginning, you
appear cautious and resolved
Don’t worry, all will be well

Embracing my dream, to go on living now
Is a bit hard and tiring
Occasionally thinking of past issues
I do have regrets but
I’ll just say that I briefly lost my way
That I’ll start over from the beginning, you
Shouldn’t grow worried

Leave a Reply

