Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/22/13

When I see Jung In on We Got Married, she’s a little rough around the edges but endearingly down-to-earth.  For me, the jury is still out on real-life couple Jo Jung Chi and Jung In on the program.  Sometimes real life doesn’t always work so well on reality television.

As for her singing, she’s the unassuming diva.  Knowing her personality on the variety show circuit, she certainly doesn’t carry a diva-like air.  However, her husky voice is incredibly soulful and her stage presence on I am a Singer is certainly an example of how she can transform herself.

That’s exactly what I feel like when I hear the title track of her latest mini album.  The album is called “그니 (pronounced Geu Ni)” and apparently it’s an abbreviated way of saying 그 여인 (Geu Yeo In) which translates as “That Woman”.  The title track is “그 뻔한 말 (Those Obvious Words)” which is about the heartbreak of a woman who believed in the obvious or proverbial words that are always said in love relationships.  “I love you.”  “I’ll always be by your side.”  “I’ll always think of you.”

It’s such a soulful number and it’s made more real by Jung In’s lisp.  The fragility of her character is so thoroughly felt through her voice that the repetition of those “obvious” words look so cold within the context of the song.  I don’t think that would have come across so well otherwise.

Tiger JK and Actress Jo Eun Ji lend their appearance in the music video.

The handheld camera makes the video feel so intimate.  I’m not sure which part is more heartbreaking.  Seeing their happy moments knowing what’s about to come or seeing them unhappy and watching her look at him knowing that he’s slipping away.

I especially loved the use of the projected footage as a way to show how each person views the other person.

정인 – 그 뻔한 말

그 뻔한 말

옅은 조명에 음악이 흐르고
수줍었던 너와 나
망설여 하던 내 손을 꼭 잡고
니가 내게 했던 말

언제나 니 곁에 있어줄게 걱정하지 마
언제나 너만을 생각하고 잘해줄거야
사랑한다고

그 뻔한 말 믿고 싶었어
너보다 내가 너를 조금 더 사랑했으니
그렇게 난 너를 원했어
처음 본 그 순간부터
내 맘은 너였으니까

니가 어떤 사람이든 상관없었어
너만 내 곁에 있어주면

우리 절대로 헤어지지 말자
자주 내게 했던 말

언제나 니 곁에 있어줄게 걱정하지 마
언제나 너만을 생각하고 잘해줄거야
사랑한다고

그 뻔한 말 믿고 싶었어
너보다 내가 너를 조금 더 사랑했으니
그렇게 난 너를 원했어
처음 본 그 순간부터
내 맘은 너였으니까

시간이 더 흐르고 우리 다시 만나면
그땐 날 절대 놓지 않을 거라던
그 말도 그 말도

그 뻔한 말 믿고 싶었어
너보다 내가 너를 조금 더 사랑했으니
그렇게 난 너를 원했어
처음 본 그 순간부터
내 맘은 너였으니까

니가 어떤 사람이든 상관없었어
너만 내 곁에 있어주면

Those Obvious Words

In the pale light, the music flows
Shy, you and I
Holding tightly to my hesitating hand
The words you said to me

Always, I’ll be by your side, don’t worry
Always, I’ll think of you, treat you well
Love you

I wanted to believe those obvious words
Since I loved you more than you loved me
That’s how much I wanted you
From the first moment I saw you,
my heart was you

Didn’t matter what kind of person you were
If you’re just by my side

Let’s never part
Is what you often said to me

Always, I’ll be by your side, don’t worry
Always, I’ll think of you, treat you well
Love you

I wanted to believe those obvious words
Since I loved you more than you loved me
That’s how much I wanted you
From the first moment I saw you,
my heart was you

As time passes, if we meet again
Saying you’ll never let me go then
Those words, those words

I wanted to believe those obvious words
Since I loved you more than you loved me
That’s how much I wanted you
From the first moment I saw you,
my heart was you

Didn’t matter what kind of person you were
If you’re just by my side

Next up is the rhythmical soul song “좀 걷자 (Let’s Walk A Bit)” featuring Leessang’s Gary.

It’s a thoughtful song about relationships. The honeymoon phase of the relationship is over. While their feelings have cooled, not all feelings have fizzled. She’s not ready to commit to marriage considering the distance but the lyrics feel like that since she’s so used to being a couple, it’s a little daunting for her to let go and go back to singledom. Instead, she suggests going out for a walk to clear the head a little. He’s more open to the idea of letting go. It’s not a sad or happy song but practical and you could hear the practical tone in Jung In and Gary’s steady, measured voices.

Jung In – 좀 걷자 (Feat. 개리) (Let’s Walk A Bit (Feat. Gary))

정인 – 좀 걷자 (Feat. 개리)

좀 걷자 (feat. 개리)

좀 걷자 우리 마음도 복잡하니
마주 보고 있는 게
더 지치는 것 같아 왠지
어떻게 할까
우리 헤어질까 우리
다시 시작하는 게 좀 겁나는 것 같아
난 왠지

잘 모르겠어 어떻게 해야 하는 지
끝이 보이는 것 같아도
쉽게 매듭질 수 없어서
미련 때문인 건지
도대체 답이 안 나와서
이렇게 고민 고민 고민
또 고민 고민 고민해

술 먹자 우리 머리도 복잡하니
얘기가 자꾸 겉도는 게 난 더 못 참겠어
조금 오른 술이 날 더 헷갈리게 해
마주 앉아 바라보다
바보처럼 또 웃게 돼

잘 모르겠어 어떻게 해야 하는 지
끝이 보이는 것 같아도
쉽게 매듭질 수 없어서
미련 때문인 건지
도대체 답이 안 나와서
이렇게 고민 고민 고민
또 고민 고민 고민해

이별도 사랑하는 거 그것만큼 쉽지 않아
취한 채로 우린 계산하고 나왔지만
아직도 맘 못 정하고
우리 사랑은 맴돌고 있어

이 세상 그 어떤 아름다운 것들도
너한텐 쨉도 안 됐지
향기나는 꽃들도 부드러운 음악의 선율도
값비싼 선물도
다 좋았어
너라면 무조건 다 버렸어
너 빼고 모든 걸
근데 그 사랑이 요즘 주춤해

하루에도 몇 번 씩
우리 이쯤 해 꺼내다 마는데
니 모습이 예전처럼 내겐 섹시하진 않은데
자꾸 나쁜 생각만 하는
내 맘은 널 원하지 않는 것 같아
예전과 달라 이젠 끝인 것 같아
너와 난 이젠 끝인 것 같아

어떻게 어떻게 어떻게
어떻게 어떻게 어떻게

잘 모르겠어 어떻게 해야 하는 지
끝이 보이는 것 같아도
쉽게 매듭질 수 없어서
미련 때문인 건지
도대체 답이 안 나와서
이렇게 고민 고민 고민
또 고민 고민 고민해

잘 모르겠어 어떻게 해야 하는 지
끝이 보이는 것 같아도
쉽게 매듭질 수 없어서
미련 때문인 건지
도대체 답이 안 나와서
이렇게 고민 고민 고민
또 고민 고민 고민
또 고민 고민 고민해
고민해

Let’s Walk A Bit (feat. Gary)

Let’s walk a bit, since our feelings are complicated
Facing each other
is making us more exhausted, somehow
What should we do?
Should we breakup? Us
Starting up again is making me a bit scared
Somehow

Just don’t know what I’m supposed to do
Though I can visualize the end
But cause I can’t easily tie the knot
Don’t know if it’s because I’m stupid
That I can’t come up with an answer at all
Worry, worry, worry like this
and again worry, worry, worry

Let’s drink, since our thoughts are complex
Can’t stand that our talks are so out of place
Raising our glass a bit is making me more confused
Facing, looking at each other
And like an idiot it makes me laugh again

Just don’t know what I’m supposed to do
Though I can visualize the end
But cause I can’t easily tie the knot
Don’t know if it’s because I’m stupid
That I can’t come up with an answer at all
Worry, worry, worry like this
and again worry, worry, worry

Loving the breakups, it’s not easy as that
Drunk, though we paid and came out
Still the heart can’t decide,
our love still encircles us

This world, more than any other beautiful thing
is incomparable to you
Even aromatic flowers, smooth musical tunes
and expensive gifts
Liked them all,
for you I’d unconditionally toss them
Everything except you
But that love falters lately

Several times a day,
we try to take it out but put it back
You don’t look as sexy like you did before
Keep thinking bad thoughts
Don’t think my heart wants you anymore
It’s different from before, feels like the end now
For you and me, it feels like the end now

What to do, what to do, what to do
What to do, what to do, what to do

Just don’t know what I’m supposed to do
Though I can visualize the end
But cause I can’t easily tie the knot
Don’t know if it’s because I’m stupid
That I can’t come up with an answer at all
Worry, worry, worry like this
and again worry, worry, worry

Just don’t know what I’m supposed to do
Though I can visualize the end
But cause I can’t easily tie the knot
Don’t know if it’s because I’m stupid
That I can’t come up with an answer at all
Worry, worry, worry like this
and again worry, worry, worry
and again worry, worry, worry
Worry

Leave a Reply

