Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/29/13

Today’s playlist will be featuring some surprising tracks and they’re surprising for different reasons.

I love the harmony and strength of Davichi’s voices.  When I first heard the song, “You Are My Everything”, it was on Kim Byung Man’s Laws of the Jungle in New Zealand.  It’s played during that scene when Park Bo Young has a hard time sleeping the first night out in the jungle because of the cold. Truth be told, what drew me to the track was how inspirational it sounded.  Maybe I was tricked by the New Zealand scenery but watching the show and listening to the music made me feel so uplifted.  They overcome hardship and rejoice over any bounty they catch with an overwhelming sense of humbleness for mother nature.

However, the lyrics to the song itself is kinda sad.  The song is incredibly lonely as she sings of people’s love changing and hers remaining steadfast.  And yet, the ethereal sound to the melody still makes it sound very hopeful.  I’m not really sure what to make of these opposing feelings.  Still, it is a nice song, isn’t?  I’m going to try and see this one as a glass half-full song.

Davichi – You Are My Everything

다비치 – You Are My Everything

You Are My Everything

방안에 불을 끄고
어둠 속 혼자인 나
내 침대에 몸을 뉘어
오지 않는 잠을 청하는데
헤어지던 그날 밤
끝내 말못했던 마지막 인사
잘가란 그 말도 모두 거짓말었어

잊은 줄 알았었어 잊었다 생각했어
잠시나마 그대 없이도
눈물 흘리지 않을 수 있다고 믿었어

그런데 여전히 넌 내 안에 살아있어
사랑한다 내게 말하던
그대 숨결 내 귓가에 아직 남아 있어

모든 사랑이 변한다 해도
나의 사랑은 변하지 않아
touch me touch me
you are everything in my life

그대 내게서 멀어진대도
내가 너에게 다가갈 거야
kiss me kiss me
you are everything in my life

내 볼을 타고 흐르는 눈물은 베갤 적셔
그리고 나 역시도 추억에 젖어
저 멀리 그대 미소는 갈라진 내 가슴에
한줄기 단비 되어 날 적셔주네

모든 사랑이 변한다 해도
나의 사랑은 변하지 않아
touch me touch me
you are everything in my life

그대 내게서 멀어진대도
내가 너에게 다가갈 거야
kiss me kiss me
you are everything in my life

Here I’m running to you
Wait for me
너무나 그리워
너의 숨결을 느껴
Now I’m missing you
날 안아줄래
너무나 그리워 너의 손길을 느껴

내 볼을 타고 흐르는 눈물은 베갤 적셔
그리고 나 역시도 추억에 젖어
저 멀리 그대 미소는 갈라진 내 가슴에
한줄기 단비 되어 날 적셔주네

모든 사랑이 변한다 해도
나의 사랑은 변하지 않아
touch me touch me
you are everything in my life

그대 내게서 멀어진대도
내가 너에게 다가갈 거야
kiss me kiss me
you are everything in my life
you are everything in my life
you are everything in my life

You Are My Everything

Turn off the light in the room
Alone in the dark, me
Lie on my bed,
Calling for sleep that’s not coming
That night we separated
Couldn’t say let’s end it, our last goodbye
Wish you well, those words were a lie

Assumed it was forgotten, thought he forgot
For awhile, without you
Believed I could go without crying a tear

But you’ll always live inside me
You said to me that you loved me
I still hear your breath by my ear

Though the love of every person changes
My love doesn’t change
touch me touch me
you are everything in my life

Though you grow far away from me
I will draw near to you
kiss me kiss me
you are everything in my life

Falling down my cheeks, tears wet my pillow
And I’m certainly indulged in reminiscence
From far away that smile, my heart tears
A shower of rain, drenches me

Though the love of every person changes
My love doesn’t change
touch me touch me
you are everything in my life

Though you grow far away from me
I will draw near to you
kiss me kiss me
you are everything in my life

Here I’m running for you
Wait for me
Miss you so much
I can feel you breathing
Now I’m missing you
Would you please embrace me?
Miss you so much, I feel your touch

Falling down my cheeks, tears wet my pillow
And I’m certainly indulged in reminiscence
From far away that smile, my heart tears
A shower of rain, drenches me

Though the love of every person changes
My love doesn’t change
touch me touch me
you are everything in my life

Though you grow far away from me
I will draw near to you
kiss me kiss me
you are everything in my life
you are everything in my life
you are everything in my life

_____________________________________________________

Ryu Seok Won is a new artist for me. He’s a new indie singer/songwriter and so far I’m liking his style of music. He’s a surprise discovery for me as I downloaded the album without even listening to it. I could definitely hear a wide range of K-indie artist influences in his music.  And for a debut album, I think this mini one is a really good effort.

The title song off his first album is “어른스럽게 (All Grown Up)” and this track sounds more like 10cm’s and Daybreak’s indie pop style.  Awkward glances, should I go in for a hug, should I go in for a kiss? All the nervousness that surrounds a relationship, especially one that’s new and putting up a front that they can play cool about things. I can’t tell if he’s being sarcastic with that line: We’re all grown up.  Like, ‘Hey, it’s too bad we’re all grown up.  We can’t be silly or cute like how other couples are.  We’re already the old married couple.  Or is it, ‘Our relationship is full of that cute, fluttering awkwardness of a couples in their honeymoon stage.  But the fact of the matter is we’re all grown up.’  Either way, it’s a cute, awkward song.

류석원 – 어른스럽게

어른스럽게

우리의 밤을 타오르는
햇님이 그을리기전에

빨갛게 물든 너의 얼굴을
맘속에 새겨놔야지

나는 널 소원하다 원하다
맘이 타버려서 버렸어
나는 처음부터 그랬어

어색한 눈빛으로
아닌 척 딴청을 피워도
떨리는 손끝으로
아닌 척 장난을 쳐도
우린 어른스럽지

우리는 마치 예전부터
만나온 연인들처럼

자연스럽게 서로에게
다가가 입을 맞췄지

나는 널 소원하다 원하다
맘이 타버려서 버렸어
너도 처음부터 그런거 알아

어색한 눈빛으로
아닌 척 딴청을 피워도
떨리는 손끝으로
아닌 척 장난을 쳐도
우린 어른스럽지

장난처럼
건냈었던 너네 집 열쇠꾸러미부터
너의 눈빛도 처음부터 다 알고있었어
니가 아무리 딴청으로
아닌척 한다해도
새빨갛게 달아있는 너의 얼굴은
거짓말을 못하는거 아니

오 사실 너도 알잖아

어색한 눈빛으로
아닌 척 딴청을 피워도
떨리는 손끝으로
아닌 척 장난을 쳐도

어색한 눈빛으로
아닌 척 딴청을 피워도
떨리는 손끝으로
아닌 척 장난을 쳐도

조금은 부끄러워도
조금 더 대담하게
우린 어른스럽지

All Grown Up

Burning up our night
Before Miss Sunshine blackens

Reddened, your face
Must carve a space in my heart for you

I wished for you, wanted you
Since my heart burned up, threw it away
I was like that from the start

With awkward looks
Pretending it’s not, pretending to be indifferent
With trembling fingertips
Pretending it’s not, joking around
We’re all grown up

We’re like from a long time before
Like couples who’ve been meeting

Naturally to each other
Grow nearer and our lips met

I wished for you, wanted you
Since my heart burned up, threw it away
You were like that from the start

With awkward looks
Pretending it’s not, pretending to be indifferent
With trembling fingertips
Pretending it’s not, joking around
We’re all grown up

Like a joke
Starting from handing over your house keys
Your look, from the beginning you knew it all
Though you pretend to be indifferent
and it’s not happening
Blushing red, your face
can’t lie, don’t you know?

Oh, truthfully you know too

With awkward looks
Pretending it’s not, pretending to be indifferent
With trembling fingertips
Pretending it’s not, joking around

With awkward looks
Pretending it’s not, pretending to be indifferent
With trembling fingertips
Pretending it’s not, joking around

I’m a little embarrassed
A little more boldly
We’re all grown up

Leave a Reply

