Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/5/13

Ra.D really gets rhythm.  He should, after all he’s an R&B artist.  I know Ra.D mostly from being a featured artist on so many songs.  Sooo many.  It’s nice to hear his own stuff.

Earlier this week, I tweeted about his cute music video starring the affable Kim Seul Gi.  I luff her.  She can be so unassuming one minute and then like a firecracker be hilariously funny (loud, too).  It’s great when she can do something besides just being the funny girl and she’s so adorable in “고마워 고마워 (Thank You, Thank You)”.

Besides being just a cute, romantical song, it’s got an addictive melody.  It’s worth paying attention to the guitar.  It acts like a percussion instrument as it dictates the pacing of the song.  Keeping a steady rhythm, it draws you in and then bam, switches direction just to keep you on your toes.  It’s kind of how love can turn things on a dime and it does for the male character in the music video.  He only appreciates her after they fight and part.  Plus, you got the priceless moment of Running Man’s maknae FD Go Dong Wan shouting that he’s hungry at the end.  Meep meep.

라디(Ra.D) – 고마워 고마워

고마워 고마워

언젠가부터 맞잡은 두 손이
자연스러워 보여
설렘보단 편안한 마음
어느새 길들여진 걸까

이대로도 좋다고
따뜻한 말투와 여전한 미소로
언제나 곁에서
서툰 나의 걸음을 맞춰주는 넌
내가 왜 또 여기서 노랠 부르는지
그 이유를 알게 해

I wanna thank you and I love you
한 마디로 다 표현 못해도
I wanna thank you 고마워
어떻게 더 말해야 좋을지 몰라서
이렇게라도 들려주고 싶었어
고마워 고마워 고마워

알다가도 다시 모를 일들
뿐인듯한 하루 속에서
I know that you’re here with me
그 하나만으로도 내게는
너무 큰 힘이 되는 걸

기대어도 좋다고
작지만 포근한 그 어깨로
세상 어디에도 없는
나른한 휴식이 되주는 넌
내가 왜 또 여기서 이 노랠 부르는지
그 이유를 알게 해
So I’m gonna let you hear something

I wanna thank you and I love you
한 마디로 다 표현 못해도
I wanna thank you 고마워
어떻게 더 말해야 좋을지 몰라서
이렇게라도 들려주고 싶었어
고맙다는 말

I wanna thank you and I love you
한 마디로 다 표현 못해도
I wanna thank you 고마워
어떻게 더 말해야 좋을지 몰라서
이렇게라도 들려주고 싶었어

You’re the only reason I sing
처음부터 지금까지
Still the only the reason I live
지금부터 먼 훗날까지
곁에 있어 줄 너에게
들려주고 싶었어
고마워 고마워 고마워

Thank You, Thank You

For some time, our two hands holding together
Appears natural
Rather than thrilling, a comfortable feeling
When did we grow so domesticated?

Thought I liked it this way
With warm words and a continuous smile
Always by my side
Adjusting to my fumbling steps, you
Why am I singing a song here again?
Realizing that reason

I wanna thank you and I love you
With that one saying, though I can’t express it all
I wanna thank you, thank you
How can I say it more, don’t know if you’ll like it
Wanted to at least let you hear it this way
Thank you, thank you, thank you

Though I know you, also things I don’t know
Feeling like it’s just been one day
I know that you’re here with me
Just that one thing, to me
Provides me with great strength

Saying it’s something to look forward to
Though it’s small, those comfortable shoulders
Can’t be found anywhere else in this world
Being a laid-back break, you
Why am I singing a song here again?
Realizing that reason
So I’m gonna let you hear something

I wanna thank you and I love you
With that one saying, though I can’t express it all
I wanna thank you, thank you
How can I say it more, don’t know if you’ll like it
Wanted to at least let you hear it this way
These thank you words

I wanna thank you and I love you
With that one saying, though I can’t express it all
I wanna thank you, thank you
How can I say it more, don’t know if you’ll like it
Wanted to at least let you hear it this way

You’re the only reason I sing
From the beginning, until now
Still the only the reason I live
From now, until the distant future
To you who’ll be by my side,
wanted to let you hear it
Thank you, thank you, thank you

For “친구들에게 (To My Friends)”, Ra.D incorporates a jazzy feeling with the piano. It’s a pretty soulful song and yet laidback at the same time. And the laidback attitude is probably due to the subject matter of the song. He’s singing to two of his friends who are going through a rough patch in their relationship. As an outside observer, he’s assuring them that this is just a bump in the road but to not lose faith in each other. They need to look at their relationship from the beginning and remember what had caused them to be attracted to each other.  His melodious, light scatting makes his love advice enticing.

Ra.D – 친구들에게 (To My Friends)

라디(Ra.D) – 친구들에게

친구들에게

걱정하지마 두 사람 다
내가 보기에는 별일 없을 것 같아
설마 헤어질 맘이라도 있는거야?
아니잖아
뭐를 그렇게 고민해
먼저 미안해 라고 말을 해봐
누가 맞고 누가 틀리다는 얘기보단
뭐가 맞고 뭐가 틀린 건지를 생각해봐
쉽지는 않아 나도 알아
사랑이란 게 늘
바라는 대로 되지는 않아

이 세상 모든 게
내 맘 같지가 않은 게
살아가다 보면 이것 저것
맘에 안 들다가도
언제 그랬냐는 듯
괜찮아져
이 세상 모든 사람 조금씩 다른 마음들
한 발자국만 서로 뒤로 가서
다시 생각해봐

Think about
I don’t mean to worry about
and let’s bounce…
Don’t stop and just keep your love

기억해봐 맨 처음 그때
아무 고민 없이 행복했었잖아
매일 보고 또 보고 또 봐도
새로워 보인다며
하루 종일 굶어도 배고플 일
절대로 없을 거라며?
Where u at 그때의 그대들은
Where u at
처음으로 가
and your love will be right there

이 세상 모든 게
내 맘 같지가 않은 게
살아가다 보면 이것 저것
맘에 안 들다가도
언제 그랬냐는 듯
괜찮아져
이 세상 모든 사람 조금씩 다른 마음들
한 발자국만 서로 뒤로 가서 다시

이 세상 모든 게
내 맘 같지가 않은 게
살아가다 보면 이것 저것
맘에 안 들다가도
언제 그랬냐는 듯 It’s fine
이 세상 모든 사람 조금씩 다른 마음
딱 한 걸음씩만 서로
뒤로 가서 다시 생각해봐

Think about
I don’t mean to worry about
and let’s bounce…
Don’t stop and just keep your love

To My Friends

Don’t worry, both of you
The way I see it, it doesn’t seem like anything
By any chance, are you thinking of breaking up?
That’s not it
What are you worrying about?
Say that you’re sorry first
Rather than saying who’s right and who’s wrong
Think about whatever is wrong, whatever is right
It’s not easy, I know
Love doesn’t always
Turn out as you hope

Everything in this world
Is not like how I feel
As I live my life, this, that
There will be things that disagree with me
Then as if I went when did I say that,
it becomes okay
Everyone in this world feels a little differently
If they each just took one step back
And think about it again

Think about
I don’t mean to worry about
and let’s bounce…
Don’t stop and just keep your love

Try to remember that first time, back then
Without any worries, you were happy
See and see and see each other again everyday
Saying that it appears new
Though you starve the whole day, being hungry
Is something you’d never be?
Where u at, those people back then,
Where u at
Go back to the beginning
and your love will be right there

Everything in this world
Is not like how I feel
As I live my life, this, that
There will be things that disagree with me
Then as if I went when did I say that,
it becomes okay
Everyone in this world feels a little differently
If they each just took one step back again

Everything in this world
Is not like how I feel
As I live my life, this, that
There will be things that disagree with me
Then as if I went when did I say that, it’s fine
Everyone in this world feels a little differently
If they each just took one step
Back and think about it again

Think about
I don’t mean to worry about
and let’s bounce…
Don’t stop and just keep your love

Leave a Reply

