Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/12/13

Omg, it’s about time Zion.T came out with a full-length solo album.  I’m so used to him featuring for other artists.  He’s really talented and there’s a very playful nature to his voice.  The playful nature to his voice makes me think it’s been autotuned at first but it’s not.  That’s his voice.  Despite that, he does play around with autotune but he layers the autotuned sound with his own voice.

First up in this week’s playlist is “She” which features Beenzino.  It has this great 80’s pop vibe which reminds me of David Bowie.  And even the lyrics represent that classic cheesy feel of the 80’s.  I especially love the part where he repeats “She” as Zion.T is not only to describe that it’s a girl but he also says like “Shh” as to say I’m quietly enjoying her beauty.  That’s not to say that the song is totally lovey dovey.  Zion.T is clearly showing off his brand of humor as he comes off as a bit of a playa but he promises that’s he’s interested in the real thing.

Zion.T – She (Feat. Beenzino)

Zion.T – She (Feat. Beenzino)

She (Feat. Beenzino)

Baby baby, I wanna show you

she, she, she is so beautiful
wanna get, get, get close to you girl
넌 날 속상하게 해
아무말 못하게 해
woo 아름다워

hey hey wow wow
감탄사가 나와
다시 봐도 wow wow
멈추지를 않아
딸꾹질처럼 갑자기
놀라 난 놀랐지
숨을 길게 참아봐도
똑같애
아마 일억 구천 오백 팔십 오명 정도의
남자들이 너에게 딴 맘 가졌을 걸
단지 듣기 좋으란 말 아니고
난 그냥 속상해 널 보는 마음이

she, she, she is so beautiful
(so beautiful)
wanna get, get, get close to you girl
(close to you girl ah-)
넌 날 속상하게 해
아무말 못하게 해
Woo 아름다워

다른 놈들은 모두 똑같애
하룻밤을 원해 모두 너한테
얄팍한 문자는 뱀의 혀 같애
걔넨 뭘 좀 모르는 것 같애
니가 아는 오빠들 fuck that suckers
니가 아는 패션 피플들도 결국
나한텐 쨉도 안돼, 절대로
I ain’t talkin bout 돈이나 얼굴

필요한건 대화, 영어로는 conversation
제일 최악은 자기 말만 하는 애들
우리가 만약에 말만 아주 잘 통한다면
지루할 일 없어 우린 어디에 있든
아는 오빠들 fuck that suckers
그 모든 패션 피플들도 결국
나한텐 쨉도 안돼, 절대
my baby, I’m talkin bout’ 천생연분

baby babe
can you be my lady, lady
be my lady
be my lady
would you be my lady yeah yeah

you make me crazy
baby baby baby

she, she, she is so beautiful
(so beautiful)
wanna get, get, get close to you girl
(close to you girl ah-)
넌 날 속상하게 해
아무말 못하게 해
Woo 아름다워

She (Feat. Beenzino)

Baby baby, I wanna show you

she, she, she is so beautiful
wanna get, get, get close to you girl
You make me upset
Make me speechless
Woo beautiful

hey hey wow wow
makes me exclaim
looking again wow wow
won’t stop
all of a sudden, like a hiccup
surprised, I got surprised
though I hold my breath for a long time,
it’s still the same
probably out of 100,009,585 people
men have other motives towards you
it’s not merely a compliment
I’m just upset, just looking at you

she, she, she is so beautiful
(so beautiful)
wanna get, get, get close to you girl
(close to you girl ah-)
You make me upset
Make me speechless
Woo beautiful

All the other guys are the same
Just want a one night stand from you
A superficial text is like a snake’s tongue
Don’t think they know anything
Oppas you know, fuck that suckers
The fashion people also, ultimately
Can’t hold a candle to me, never
I ain’t talkin bout money or looks

Need conversation, in English conversation
The worst are those who only talk
If we can understand each other well
It won’t ever be boring, no matter where we are
Oppas you know, fuck that suckers
The fashion people also, ultimately
Can’t hold a candle to me, never
my baby, I’m talkin bout’, match made in heaven

baby babe
can you be my lady, lady
be my lady
be my lady
would you be my lady yeah yeah

you make me crazy
baby baby baby

she, she, she is so beautiful
(so beautiful)
wanna get, get, get close to you girl
(close to you girl ah-)
You make me upset
Make me speechless
Woo beautiful

Next up is “지구온난화 (Global Warming)” which is a reggae song. Usually I leave Korean reggae to Haha (and his love for all things Jamaican).  It’s just that I’m not big fan of reggae in general but I have to admit that this song caught my ear. Actor/Rapper Yang Dong Geun features on the track with him and at first, it seems timely for a global warming song as Earth Day is right around the corner. Even the talk about the heat and the reggae beat seemed to make things magically work together.

However, by reading in-between the lines, I couldn’t help but think that this might not be all that Zion.T is after. The thing that clued me in was the verse towards the end of the song in which they end each line with “ba”. It was a little difficult to translate that verse as he’s playing with that sound so there isn’t a clear cut translation perse but it goes something like: He’s so hot that he needs to cool down but there’s a smoldering hot girl so does he really want to cool things down? Then Yang Dong Geun has a dialogue in which he continues with the randomness about how his dad was born in summer, he hates winter, how he feels hot and then apologizes for not making any sense. It’s completely random and childish which I find strangely amusing. And really, you expect reggae songs to have that high, nonsense mentality.  Don’t you?

Zion.T – 지구온난화 (Feat. YDG) (Global Warming (Feat. YDG))

Zion.T – 지구온난화 (Feat. YDG)

지구온난화 (Feat. YDG)

온난화
지구 온난화
Yeay
Naaah-

온도- 온도- 온도- 온도-

완전 여름, Hot summer
가을에나 겨울에나 여전한
더위
온난화
지구가 더워 온난화
나나 너나 더운건 다 똑같아
너넨 뻘 뻘 돌아다니느라 더와
나는 스튜디오, 완전 사우나
뜨거운 걸 만들지

O H H H H-
완전 지구 온난화
O H H H H-
원래 땀은 다 나 이 못난아

온난화
완전 지구 온난화네
온난화 la
지구 온난화
Nah-
온난화
지구 온난화
나나나나
온난화,
Oh Nah
지구가 더워

냉장고 문 열고 다니지마
에어컨 켜고 다니지마
실내 적정 온도 맞추고 다녀
이 사람아, 지금 대위기야
yo 프레온 가스가 새
아끼고 좋잖아 전기세
나나나, 지구온, 나나나
지구가 더워 온난화

이상하게 생긴
새로운 아이스바의 맛을 봐
더위 얼려버릴 와디지바
널 적셔버릴 자연티바
검게 그을린 저기 아가씨바
참새가 방아방앗간을
그냥 지나친다면 곤란하지
쌍바윗골엔 옛부터
원래 땀이 좀 많아

온도- 온도- 온도- 온도-

온난화,
지구가 더워
(Blah Blah)

Global Warming (Feat. YDG)

Warming
Global Warming
Yeay
Naaah-

Temp-temp-temp-temp-

Totally summer, Hot summer
Whether it’s fall, winter, always
Hot
Warming
The world is hot, warming up
Whether it’s me or you, the same kind of hot
Since you’re busy running around, it’s hotter
I’m a studio, totally a sauna
Should make something hot

O H H H H-
The world is totally warming up
O H H H H-
Everybody sweats, you idiot

Warming
The world is totally warming up, isn’t it?
Warming la
Global Warming
Nah-
Warming
Global Warming
Na Na Na Na
Warming,
Oh Nah
The world is all hot

Don’t go around keeping the fridge open
Don’t go around keeping the air conditioner on
Match the room temperature
Hey you, this is a critical situation
yo Freon gases are leaking
Conserving energy is good
Na na na, world temperature, na na na
The world is hot, warming up

Weirdly that just came about,
taste that new popsicle flavor
Come and lower this heat-bar
I’ll drench you, Zion T-bar
That smoldering lady-bar
If a sparrow sees a milling mill
And just passes by that’s worrisome
The top of a twin pop since the old days
typically has a lot of condensation

Temp- temp- temp- temp-

Warming,
The world is hot
(Blah Blah)

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/12/13

  1. I love reading everything in this blog. Especially music and drama review! Daebak.

    Thanks for everything..

    Beautiful and great music tough I can’t comment much since I donno much about music but you always post indie or great musician for me to discover.

    Thanks for that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

