Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/26/13

Cho Yong Pil is one of those artists I never thought I would be featuring here.  Why?  He’s a singer from my parents’ generation.  Does this mean I’m getting older and my taste is starting to resemble my parents’?  (*shudder)  Or is it considered retro for my age group to appreciate his music like the Beatles?  Not that I think of him as a Korean Paul McCartney but I recognize that he’s a talented musician for his staying power to last this long (he debuted in 1972).

Okay, I do love the song “단발머리 (Bobbed Haired)” and Daybreak does my favorite cover of it.  Although many of his other songs have been covered by numerous hoobae artists.

Apart from any of the excuses I’ve listed above, the reason for featuring him is that the song caught my ear just for the mere fact that it was catchy.  Yeah, I was surprised but despite his age he can still rock it right along with many of the young idol groups.  This latest album is called “Hello” and it is his 19th studio album and upon its release, most of its tracks dominated the top 10 charts, even knocking Psy’s “Gentleman” off the number one spot.  It just proves to show that not only is he a well-established artist but he remains to be relevant even though he hasn’t released an album in 10 years.

“Bounce” was released prior to the release of the full album but already it’s been making its rounds as background music on many of last weekend’s variety shows.  It’s an energetic song but one that sounds like it will suit lots of different situations.  I believe only a teaser video was released with this song playing against abstract graphics. I almost prefer it that way because it’s more interesting to not tie the song down to one visual image or one music video storyline.  Also, the graphics were kinda of captivating in that iTunes visualizer way.

Cho Yong Pil – Bounce

조용필 – Bounce

Bounce

그대가 돌아서면 두 눈이 마주칠까
심장이 Bounce Bounce 두근대
들릴까봐 겁나

한참을 망설이다
용기를 내
밤새워 준비한
순애보 고백해도 될까

처음 본 순간부터 네 모습이
내 가슴 울렁이게 만들었어
Baby You’re my trampoline
You make me Bounce Bounce

수많은 인연과 바꾼 너인 걸
사랑이 남긴 상처들도 감싸줄게

어쩌면 우린 벌써 알고 있어
그토록 찾아 헤맨 사랑의 꿈
외롭게만 하는 걸
You make me Bounce
You make me Bounce

Bounce Bounce
망설여져 나 혼자만의 감정일까
내가 잘못 생각한거라면
어떡하지 눈물이나

별처럼 반짝이는 눈망울도
수줍어 달콤하던 네 입술도
내겐 꿈만 같은 걸
You make me Bounce

어쩌면 우린 벌써 알고 있어
그토록 찾아 헤맨 사랑의 꿈
외롭게만 하는걸
어쩌면 우린 벌써
You make me~ You make me~

Bounce

When she turns around, will our eyes meet?
My heart, Bounce Bounce, beats
Scared that you might hear it

Went back and forth for awhile
Got the courage
Stayed up all night preparing
Can I do a pure hearted confession?

From the first moment, the image of you
You made my heart pound
Baby You’re my trampoline
You make me Bounce Bounce

You must have had countless relationships
Scars left by love, I’ll protect you from them

Perhaps we already know it
Wandering ever since to find the dream of love
But it just makes me lonely
You make me Bounce
You make me Bounce

Bounce Bounce
Hesitating, is it just me feeling this way?
If I made the wrong assumption
What am I gonna do? It makes me cry

Twinkling like a star, your eyes also
Shy and sweet, your lips also
To me, it’s like a dream
You make me Bounce

Perhaps we already know it
Wandering ever since to find the dream of love
But it just makes me lonely,
perhaps we already
You make me~ You make me~

For a guy that’s in his 60’s, he proves that he has still got it and it’s evident in “널 만나면 (If I Meet You)”. It’s a really great youthful pop-rock number. The lyrics have got a nice poetic flow but simple at the same time. Take all those romantic moments from dramas and movies and he paints that scenery for you within these verses.

Before I leave you with this 2nd track, there are other songs on the album which show his varying styles.  While I’m not able to introduce them all here, I can recommend a few.  “어느 날 귀로에서 (One Day on My Way Home)” is a slow 80’s ballad number and it’s about reminiscing about the past, thinking about regrets and how far he’s come now.  Verbal Jint features on the title track “Hello” which is an electro-rock number.  What caught my ear was Cho Yong Pil’s voice.  It’s pretty unique and in this number it can sound like they filtered it to give it that robotic sound that matches the style of the backing track.  However, that’s just his voice.  There’s an interesting meld that’s happening here with the acoustics.

Cho Yong Pil – 널 만나면 (If I Meet You)

조용필 – 널 만나면

널 만나면

아침을 깨우는 커피향
너만의 향기처럼
흐르는 음악이 가슴에 스며들어
내 마음 받아준 어제의 기쁨이
온다 온다 Oh

창 밖의 햇살이 좋아
맑은 미소진 널 생각한다
난 기쁨에 겨워 널 만나면
좋아 좋아 Oh

사랑한다 말해볼까
너의 모든 것이 너무 소중해
좋아한다 변치 말자
내게 약속해

높은 산 위에 하얀 눈처럼
우리 사랑이 아름다워
봄을 부르는 파랑새처럼
우리 사랑이 아름다워

짧았던 하루가 끝나가 아쉬운 헤어짐에
어려운 발걸음 돌리지 못한 채로
행복한 마음과 벅차는 가슴에
두근두근 Oh

가로등 불빛도 좋아
살며시 입 맞춘 널 생각한다
그 밝은 미소가
내 마음속 그려진다 Oh

사랑한다 말해볼까
너의 모든 것이 너무 소중해
좋아한다 변치 말자
내게 약속해

높은 산 위에 하얀 눈처럼
우리 사랑이 아름다워
봄을 부르는 파랑새처럼
우리 사랑이 아름다워

Oh Oh 하늘이 부를 때까지
Oh Oh 나와 같이 있어줘
하루를 살아도 좋아
지금 이대로 영원토록

사랑한다 말해볼까
너의 모든 것이 너무 소중해
좋아한다 변치 말자
내게 약속해

높은 산 위에 하얀 눈처럼
우리 사랑이 아름다워
봄을 부르는 파랑새처럼
우리 사랑이 아름다워

If I Meet You

Waking up from the smell of coffee
Like the scent of you
The music playing permeates my heart
Accepting my heart is yesterday’s happiness
Is coming, coming, Oh

Like the sunshine outside the window
Think of you wearing a pure smile
If I meet you under the influence of happiness
I like it, like it, Oh

Should I try to tell you I love you?
Everything about you is precious
Let’s not change from liking each other,
promise me

From the mountaintops, like the white snow
Our love is beautiful
Like the bluebird calling for spring
Our love is beautiful

Feeling short, the day ends, sad about parting
Finding it difficult to reverse my steps
A happy heart and with a full heart
Thumping Oh

Even liking the glow from the streetlamp
Remembering how we gently kissed
That bright smile
Illuminates my mind, Oh

Should I try to tell you I love you?
Everything about you is precious
Let’s not change from liking each other,
promise me

From the mountaintops, like the white snow
Our love is beautiful
Like the bluebird calling for spring
Our love is beautiful

Oh Oh, until the heavens call me
Oh Oh, stay with me
Like living each day
Like this from now until eternity

Should I try to tell you I love you?
Everything about you is precious
Let’s not change from liking each other,
promise me

From the mountaintops, like the white snow
Our love is beautiful
Like the bluebird calling for spring
Our love is beautiful

Leave a Reply

