Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/3/13

Opposites attract for this week’s songs.  One is a song about falling in love and the other is a breakup song.  One features singers who are new to the world of entertainment and the other is veteran.

Akdong Musician.  The brother and sister winning duo from this year’s K-Pop Star 2.  These two are so adorkably cute and I can’t help listening to their song for the All About My Romance OST called “I Love You”.

First a word about the drama because I didn’t expect to like the drama so much.  To be completely fair, the drama is predictable and mediocre.  It’s just that everything else I’m watching in the K-Dramascape is more on the melo side interspersed with brief, comedic moments.  I love watching romantic comedies in the spring (and fall).  They’re preeeetty.

The drama is basically City Hall meets Best Love.  I can totally picture Cha Seung Won playing the role of Kim Soo Young but then again Shin Ha Kyun’s television characters have been pretty similar to Cha Seung Won’s.  Films are another story.  Plus, I wouldn’t want to pull Cha Seung Won away from his current film project.  Dokko Jin in drag?  Hell yeah.  And I’m suddenly finding myself having the hots for Shin Ha Kyun after seeing him with the shorter haircut in this week’s episodes.  Yeah, the longer hair just made him look like a greasy politician.  Hehe.

Back to Akdong Musician, the song is pretty damn simple as evidenced by the song title, “I Love You” but when you listen to the song there are so many more layers to it.  I love the harmony between Lee Chan Hyuk’s tenor voice and Lee Soo Hyun’s soprano.  There’s a lovely flow there that makes me want to skip through a row of cherry blossom trees.  I know they filmed a music video but it hasn’t been released just yet so for now just the song will have to do.  Lee Chan Hyuk wrote the song’s lyrics and it’s impressive that he’s able to express the beginnings of love so innocently yet poetically.

Chan Hyuk is only 17 while Soo Hyun is 14 (18 and 15 respectively if we’re talking about their Korean ages).  Their voices really give the song a vibrant youth in a way that works for the characters of the drama.  Kim Soo Young (Shin Ha Kyun) and Noh Min Young’s (Lee Min Jung) love affair has this high school level of maturity.  And yes, there is some note passing in the library.

Akdong Musician – I Love You

악동뮤지션 – I Love You

I Love You

저절로 네게 눈이 가
네가 입은 옷 무늬가
눈에 띄는 것도 아닌데
온종일 다른 일을 하고 있는 중에도
이 사람 참 괜찮단 말이야

네 행동 하나하나에
내가 들렸다 놓였다해
나 이리 자주 웃는 사람이 아닌데
돌아보면 너 때문에 당한 것도 많아
그 모든게 하나하나 다 싫지만은 않아

I love you 사랑해요
널 보는 날이면
둘만 만나는 날이 아닌데도
너에게만 잘 보이려고
막 그래 난 그래
I love you 사랑해요
널 보는 날이면
둘만 만나는 날이 아닌데도
막 설레고 그런다니깐요

네 행동 하나하나에
내가 들렸다 놓였다해
나 이리 자주 웃는 사람이 아닌데
돌아보면 너 때문에 받은게 참 많아서
더 더 더 포기할 수 없었어요

써요 나만 마시는 사랑이
넘쳐요 그대 잔에 따라주고 싶은데
I’m waiting for you to say I love…

you 사랑해요
널 보는 날이면
둘만 만나는 날이 아닌데도
너에게만 잘 보이려고
막 그래 난 그래
I love you 사랑해요
널 보는 날이면
둘만 만나는 날이 아닌데도
막 설레고 그런다니깐요

I love you I love you I love you 워우워
I love you I love you I love you 워우워
I love you 사랑해요
널 보는 날이면
둘만 만나는 날이 아닌데도
막 설레고 그런다니깐요
I love you I love you
I love you… I love you!

I Love You

My gaze naturally turns to you
The pattern on the clothes you’re wearing
Isn’t something that catches the eye
All day, even while doing other things
This person seems pretty great

With each of your actions,
my mood is lifted up and then relieved
I’m not usually a person that smiles all the time
Looking back, I went through a lot ’cause of you
But I’m saying that I hated all those instances

I love you I love you
On days I see you,
even if it’s not just the two of us
I want to look good just for you
Just like that, I’m like that
I love you I love you
On days I see you,
even if it’s not just the two of us
Just get nervous, I’m telling you I do

With each of your actions,
my mood is lifted up and then relieved
I’m not usually a person that smiles all the time
Looking back, I went through a lot ’cause of you
Really, really, really can’t give up

Bitter, love that is drunk all by myself
Overflowing, I want to pour some in your cup
I’m waiting for you to say I love…

you I love you
On days I see you,
even if it’s not just the two of us
I want to look good just for you
Just like that, I’m like that
I love you I love you
On days I see you,
even if it’s not just the two of us
Just get nervous, I’m telling you I do

I love you I love you I love you, Woah ooh woah
I love you I love you I love you, Woah ooh woah
I love you I love you
On days I see you,
even if it’s not just the two of us
Just get nervous, I’m telling you I do
I love you I love you
I love you… I love you!

_____________________________________________________

LYn is another voice that’s not a stranger to the world of OST music.  Her latest release was used in the Uhm Jung Hwa movie thriller, Montage.  Despite the song feeling like it belongs to a romantic melo, I suppose it also applies to the desperate plight of a mother searching for her daughter who was kidnapped 15 years ago all the while knowing the statute of limitations is running out.

However without the movie’s context, “유리 심장 (Glass Heart)” is about a woman who is clinging to a relationship that is slipping away.  She’s begging her man to not break her heart as she is in an incredibly fragile state.  To add to that stress, there are naysayers giving their two cents.

I usually don’t like songs in which the female protagonist comes across as needy and desperate.  If it were any other singer, I would have rolled my eyes at the song but yet LYn’s voice tugs at my heart.

“유리 심장 (Glass Heart)” features Yong Jun Hyung from Beast and is a soulful R&B number.  The song starts off simply with just her voice and the piano.  Then new elements gets added climaxing at the chorus where the melody gets more complex.

Obviously there’s a level of somberness to the music video but can I just say that I love the outfits here?  Sure, it’s totally normal for us to go synchronized swimming in the water with a beautiful dress on.  The bright hues of the dresses provide a beautiful contrast with the sets and  blue-tinted cinematography.

LYn – 유리 심장 (Feat. 용준형 of 비스트)

유리 심장

제 얘기 좀 들어주세요
밤새도록 울기만 해요
물도 못 넘기고 잠도 잘 수 없고
많이 힘이 드네요

내 사랑을 말려요
사람 참 못본대요
제대로 다 알지도 못하면서
다들 미워해요

나쁜 놈이라 욕하고
(제발 욕하지 마요)
쉽게 끝날 거라 하고
(제발 그만 좀 해요)
헤어져라 또 헤어져라
귀가 닳게 듣는 말

유리 심장을 갖고 살아요 (난 그래요)
가슴이 깨질 것만 같아요
(하나도 남김없이 다)
다 버리라 하면 다 지우라 하면
너무 억울해요 난

유리 심장을 갖고 살아서
(그렇게 살아서)
언제 부서질지 모를 나라서
(깨져버릴 것 같아서)
헤어지란 말만 끝내라는 말만
그 말만 하지 마요

뭐 그렇게 목을 매
누구에게나 끝은 오는데
미안해 난 그런 사랑만 해
그래도 내 옆에서 너 행복했었잖아
that’s all 그거면 된거잖아
시간 낭비하지 말자 babe
너도 괴롭겠지만 나 역시 또 그래
난 비겁한 놈
소리높여 욕해도 돼
이제 지나갈게 비켜줄래

싫어 거짓말이잖아 (제발 그러지 마요)
절대 헤어지지 않아 (제발 그만 좀 해요)
비켜달라니 비켜달라니
우리 이러지 말자

유리 심장을 갖고 살아요 (난 그래요)
가슴이 깨질 것만 같아요
(하나도 남김없이 다)
다 버리라 하면 다 지우라 하면
너무 억울해요 난

유리 심장을 갖고 살아서
(그렇게 살아서)
언제 부서질지 모를 나라서
(깨져버릴 것 같아서)
헤어지란 말만 끝내라는 말만
그 말만 하지 마요

유리 심장을 갖고 살아요 (난 그래요)
가슴이 깨질 것만 같아요
(가슴이 깨질 것만 같아)
다 버리라 하면 다 지우라 하면
(지우라 하면)
너무 억울해요 난 (억울해요 난)

유리 심장을 갖고 살아서
(그렇게 살아서)
언제 부서질지 모를 나라서
(깨져버릴 것 같아서)
헤어지란 말만 끝내라는 말만
(끝내란 말만)
그 말만 하지 마요

Glass Heart

Please listen to what I have to say
All I do is cry all night long
Can’t even swallow some water, can’t sleep
It’s been extremely difficult

They try to stop me from loving you
They say I can’t really read people
They don’t really know much
They all hate you

Curse you out saying you’re a bad guy
(Please don’t curse him out)
Say that we’ll just simply end things
(Please just stop)
Break up and again break up
Words that are abrasive to my ear

Live with my glass heart (I do)
Feel like my chest is going to shatter
(Without leaving a trace, all of it)
If you tell me to throw it all away, erase it all
It’s so unfair to me

Living with my glass heart
(Living like that)
Don’t know when it’s going to be smashed
(Because it feels like it’s going to shatter)
Words of breaking up, words saying let’s end it
Just don’t say those words

What’s with putting me on a leash
The end comes for everyone
Sorry, that’s the only kind of love I do
But still, you were happy being next to me
that’s all, that’s all you need
Let’s not waste time, babe
Know you’re in pain but I’m also that way
I’m a cowardly jerk,
raise your voice, it’s okay to curse
Now I’m just passing by, would you move aside?

Hate it, it’s a lie (Please don’t do that)
Will never break up (Please just stop it)
Move aside, move aside?
Let’s not do this

Live with my glass heart (I do)
Feel like my chest is going to shatter
(Without leaving a trace, all of it)
If you tell me to throw it all away, erase it all
It’s so unfair to me

Living with my glass heart
(Living like that)
Don’t know when it’s going to be smashed
(Because it feels like it’s going to shatter)
Words of breaking up, words saying let’s end it
Just don’t say those words

Live with my glass heart (I do)
Feel like my chest is going to shatter
(Feel like my chest is going to shatter)
If you tell me to throw it all away, erase it all
(If you tell me to erase it)
It’s so unfair to me (unfair to me)

Living with my glass heart
(Living like that)
Don’t know when it’s going to be smashed
(Because it feels like it’s going to shatter)
Words of breaking up, words saying let’s end it
(Words saying let’s end it)
Just don’t say those words

Leave a Reply

